We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elegance Hotel
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This review is very delayed but I just had to let everyone know how amazing this hotel is ! I had a bad accident last year (carnival time February 2013) in Bolivia on death road and these guys were just amazing! They let us keep our top floor room and did everything they could to help. From the minute we arrived to when we left they always gave 5 star service. I am so grateful for all their help and help. The breakfast lady was so friendly and always welcomed us with smile, the breakfast is limited but the pancakes were delicious and enough to start the day. The room we had looked out onto the street and was always kept clean for us. The bathrooms are small but bed was a queen i think. Wifi was speedy and though it dropped us the reception staff were always there to help. It is right next to the stadium and we went to a few games! The atmosphere is amazing dont let the police with big guns put you off! We never felt unsafe and everyone was very friendly! Go to a game! Also right to them is the ATM's and a about 5 min walk down is a convenient store for all your needs. Plenty of restuarants to choose from the chinese place across the road was very good. I couldnt recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivy_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here a total of 3 weeks in June 2013 with a break to go to Uyuni during this time. We could not recommend this hotel enough. The rooms were spacious, hot showers, fast internet, great views & the staff went out of their way to accommodate us for everything we needed. They also kept all our bags when we were in Uyuni for 5 nights. One of the best places we stayed in our 3 months travelling South America. We also got to go to a soccer match at the stadium which is very close by and recommend doing so if you get a chance. Love this place and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusLizaJabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just finished staying at the Elegance Hotel and I must say it is one of my favorite hotels in the world as far as value for your money. The service is wonderful as Marcelo and all his staff work hard to make you feel right at home. The rooms are very nice and have great views. I recommend the highest floor you can get to see this amazing city. I arrived tired and weary in the middle of the night and they took great care of me. The location is very good near the center of the city but away from lots of crowds. I hope you enjoy the Elegance Hotel as much as I did !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has it all: great views on the city, great staff helpful and welcoming, correct breakfast, good beds and clean rooms, hot water all day and night.
The situation is not ideal, but is still very good, it is a BS15 cab drive max from all the main tourist attractions. And we can walk to the Prato from the hotel (15 min walk).
Great value for what you get in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst we stayed in Bolivia. We had a shower every morning and night and the water was always boiling hot along with a powerful shower!

The other nice quality about this hotel is it has a little conservatory type room on the side of it, so it's just extra space to relax.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town, however a taxi costs between £1 - £1.50.

There is nothing really interesting around the hotel except the football stadium, hence why you would need to go into town if you wanted to eat, unless you wanted fast food.

Breakfast is very basic - tea,coffee, juice, toast, cereal, cake and breads!

Overall this hotel is great value for money, its clean and has very spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th and 7th floor have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 224andreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were overcharged for our stay by this hotel and/or booking.com. Two work colleagues and I planned to stay for one or two nights, on our way from the US to a location down in the Bolivian Amazon. When we booked our travel, we were unsure if we would be able to leave after one day (our preference) or two. I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights, because the wording on the booking.com website strongly implied that we would only have to pay for what we used.

Furthermore, we arrived early in the morning on our arrival day (7:45am) from the US. The hotel staff suggested that we book one room for the previous night, so that at least one room would be available for our stay as soon as we arrived. I agreed: I asked them to book the double room for the previous day, and then we could crash there during the day, until our other room was ready.

Anyway, we were able to get our tickets to the Bolivian Amazon for the next day, and we informed the front desk that afternoon / evening that we would be checking out in the morning.

We checked out at 7:45am the next day (24 hours after arriving), and we were charged for 3 full days! I complained that this was absurd, but the staff insisted that this was right. In particular, they said that we had to pay for the two rooms for the following night (when we wouldn't be staying there). Furthermore, they charged us for the previous night, even though we only asked for one room early. (They did give us the second room right away at 7:45 when we arrived, but they didn't tell us that they would charge us for this room. It seemed unreasonable that they would.)

So in conclusion, I believe that the Elegance Hotel charged us for 2 rooms for 3 nights ($300) when we only stayed exactly one day/night in the 2 rooms. I wrote to the manager to complain, and he said that the charges were correct: that is what we had to pay. I think a reasonable compromise would have been 1 room at 2 nights (the one that we booked in advance) and the other for one night.

My conclusion is that I will not stay at the Elegance Hotel again (we visit La Paz once per year), and I will recommend others against it too. There are too many other very reasonable nice hotels in La Paz.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Manager at Elegance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Edward :
We want to inform you that you can make any change in your booking at least 5 days before you arrive to Elegance hotel. After that you have to pay for the whole stay according to booking policies. We just informed booking.com that you reduce your stay in order to avoid the payment that we have to pay to them for every night that you stay with us, but that is something between Elegance and Booking.com .
You can confirm with booking.com that you are not paying a cancellation fee, what you are doing is to pay the cost of your total stay according your first reservation via booking.com. Down below you will find the explanation: Just in case you requested to book the double room from 24th.
Double room: Levy and Jara
Check in : June 24th to 27th : 174$us
Transfer service : 13 $us
taxes: 24 $us
Total cost : 211$us
Single Room: Gibson Edward
Check in : 25th to 27th : 70 $us
Taxes: 9$us
total cost : 79$us

total cost : 290$us

Please check Booking.com policies and you will find that your complaint is unnecessary. Try to understand that It´s not our fault .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on our way to Bolivia. We arrived on a cold evening and were pleasantly surprised to receive a spacious room with working, hot, shower and extra blankets for increased comfort. The facilities are not modern but for the price we paid, it was more than enough.

The location of the hotel was nothing to complain about, on average about 30 mins to the airport by taxi. The Elegance Hotel was across the street from the Rosario Hotel, which we visited a couple of times to try out their restaurant (very good!) and to solicit the staff's abundant resources for tours and bus information.

The administration was average, with the visa machine not working at check-out forcing us to pay in cash even though they advertised that form of payment. The staff however was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel LP Columbus
Hotel LP Columbus
#22 of 77 in La Paz
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Almudena Apart Hotel
Almudena Apart Hotel
#15 of 77 in La Paz
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#13 of 77 in La Paz
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#31 of 77 in La Paz
82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Eurotel Davina
Eurotel Davina
#48 of 77 in La Paz
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegance Hotel

Address: Av. Saavedra 1845 Miraflores | Casi Diaz Romero, A Unos Pasos Del Estadio Hernando Siles, La Paz 3165, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: $39 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elegance Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-built Elegance Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful, traditional, and accessible areas of La Paz. You can enjoy a football match just a few steps away from the hotel at The Hernando Siles Stadium or stay in and enjoy the many services offered to hotel guests. The Elegance Hotel’s dedication to personal service is sure to give you a unique experience filled with enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elegance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing