We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good location, very friendly staff.”
Review of Elegance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elegance Hotel
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel, good location, very friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has it all: great views on the city, great staff helpful and welcoming, correct breakfast, good beds and clean rooms, hot water all day and night.
The situation is not ideal, but is still very good, it is a BS15 cab drive max from all the main tourist attractions. And we can walk to the Prato from the hotel (15 min walk).
Great value for what you get in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
21
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst we stayed in Bolivia. We had a shower every morning and night and the water was always boiling hot along with a powerful shower!

The other nice quality about this hotel is it has a little conservatory type room on the side of it, so it's just extra space to relax.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town, however a taxi costs between £1 - £1.50.

There is nothing really interesting around the hotel except the football stadium, hence why you would need to go into town if you wanted to eat, unless you wanted fast food.

Breakfast is very basic - tea,coffee, juice, toast, cereal, cake and breads!

Overall this hotel is great value for money, its clean and has very spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th and 7th floor have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were overcharged for our stay by this hotel and/or booking.com. Two work colleagues and I planned to stay for one or two nights, on our way from the US to a location down in the Bolivian Amazon. When we booked our travel, we were unsure if we would be able to leave after one day (our preference) or two. I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights, because the wording on the booking.com website strongly implied that we would only have to pay for what we used.

Furthermore, we arrived early in the morning on our arrival day (7:45am) from the US. The hotel staff suggested that we book one room for the previous night, so that at least one room would be available for our stay as soon as we arrived. I agreed: I asked them to book the double room for the previous day, and then we could crash there during the day, until our other room was ready.

Anyway, we were able to get our tickets to the Bolivian Amazon for the next day, and we informed the front desk that afternoon / evening that we would be checking out in the morning.

We checked out at 7:45am the next day (24 hours after arriving), and we were charged for 3 full days! I complained that this was absurd, but the staff insisted that this was right. In particular, they said that we had to pay for the two rooms for the following night (when we wouldn't be staying there). Furthermore, they charged us for the previous night, even though we only asked for one room early. (They did give us the second room right away at 7:45 when we arrived, but they didn't tell us that they would charge us for this room. It seemed unreasonable that they would.)

So in conclusion, I believe that the Elegance Hotel charged us for 2 rooms for 3 nights ($300) when we only stayed exactly one day/night in the 2 rooms. I wrote to the manager to complain, and he said that the charges were correct: that is what we had to pay. I think a reasonable compromise would have been 1 room at 2 nights (the one that we booked in advance) and the other for one night.

My conclusion is that I will not stay at the Elegance Hotel again (we visit La Paz once per year), and I will recommend others against it too. There are too many other very reasonable nice hotels in La Paz.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Manager at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Edward :
We want to inform you that you can make any change in your booking at least 5 days before you arrive to Elegance hotel. After that you have to pay for the whole stay according to booking policies. We just informed booking.com that you reduce your stay in order to avoid the payment that we have to pay to them for every night that you stay with us, but that is something between Elegance and Booking.com .
You can confirm with booking.com that you are not paying a cancellation fee, what you are doing is to pay the cost of your total stay according your first reservation via booking.com. Down below you will find the explanation: Just in case you requested to book the double room from 24th.
Double room: Levy and Jara
Check in : June 24th to 27th : 174$us
Transfer service : 13 $us
taxes: 24 $us
Total cost : 211$us
Single Room: Gibson Edward
Check in : 25th to 27th : 70 $us
Taxes: 9$us
total cost : 79$us

total cost : 290$us

Please check Booking.com policies and you will find that your complaint is unnecessary. Try to understand that It´s not our fault .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on our way to Bolivia. We arrived on a cold evening and were pleasantly surprised to receive a spacious room with working, hot, shower and extra blankets for increased comfort. The facilities are not modern but for the price we paid, it was more than enough.

The location of the hotel was nothing to complain about, on average about 30 mins to the airport by taxi. The Elegance Hotel was across the street from the Rosario Hotel, which we visited a couple of times to try out their restaurant (very good!) and to solicit the staff's abundant resources for tours and bus information.

The administration was average, with the visa machine not working at check-out forcing us to pay in cash even though they advertised that form of payment. The staff however was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great hotel with large rooms, a seating area and great views across the city. The staff were really helpful. Two problems, one despite been given lots of passwords we never managed to access the wifi. We did have a top flor room but could not access it in reception either and staff could not solve it for us. Secondly the room had a kitchen with fridge, hob and sink but nothing to enable us to use it. No pots, cups plates etc. what was the purpose of the kitchen??? Breakfast was poor.

Room Tip: The top rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pau995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice during May as part of my travels. The first day I arrived, the altitude sickness had just kicked in. Marcelo the manager was so kind and provided a tablet and a cup if tea.

The rooms (I've had two different ones) are clean and spacious. Good wifi connection. Good hot shower.

Breakfast is basic but I think that it's typically Bolivian.

I really recommend this place. I felt safe and comfortable. And it's good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kachsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Gerente at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much !!!!!!! thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you chose to visit us . Come back soon !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had planned to stay her for 4 nights but an accident on the Death Road left my girlfriend in hospital for 6 nights resulting in extend our stay for a total of 16 nights. The staff were so accommodating with any request (mostly translating) and the Hotel didn’t hesitate to extend my booking at a cheaper rate. The manager who speaks excellent English offered to come and be the translator at the hospital during her stay. Everything they did to assist will not be forgotten.
The location is fantastic, a $3 taxi to anywhere in the entire city. Fit people can walk anywhere with land marks guiding your well. The Hotel is situated right next door to the El Estadio Olímpico Hernando Siles (football stadium) where you can go and watch local and international teams compete 2-3 times a week during the season. If you are not accustomed to the passion and enthusiasm of the South American Football fan, then sitting amongst the home crowd will become a lifetime highlight.
The view is amazing even if you don’t get the top floor. It is noisy corner, being situated a few blocks from two hospitals, a naval base, a secondary and primary school and football stadium provides a large amount of pedestrian traffic, I thought that this interaction added to my stay in La Pa. There is a bank in the same building for ATM use, numerous eating choices or supermarket less than 20 metres away.
It was a clean room, a large bathroom, with a seating area and a small kitchen area. Very good price considering it included breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for level 6 (not the top), its will give you a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloRamosGuzman, Manager at Elegance Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your words!! For my family and i is just a pleasure to receive people like you guys. Sometimes in life we have to pass through bad experiences and learn from them and be just go on stronger and wiser . Please dont have bad memories from this trip. I wish you nothing but the best in your life and i know that some day you are going to come back to La Paz again. Have a great life and be happy because of that´s what life is about.
When you come back you´ll always have a friend waiting for you.
Regards from La Paz Bolivia

Marcelo Ramos Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel LP Columbus
Hotel LP Columbus
#20 of 76 in La Paz
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 76 in La Paz
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#12 of 76 in La Paz
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Selva Aranjuez
Hotel Rio Selva Aranjuez
#32 of 76 in La Paz
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Almudena Apart Hotel
Almudena Apart Hotel
#15 of 76 in La Paz
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegance Hotel

Property: Elegance Hotel
Address: Av. Saavedra 1845 Miraflores | Casi Diaz Romero, A Unos Pasos Del Estadio Hernando Siles, La Paz 3165, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elegance Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-built Elegance Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful, traditional, and accessible areas of La Paz. You can enjoy a football match just a few steps away from the hotel at The Hernando Siles Stadium or stay in and enjoy the many services offered to hotel guests. The Elegance Hotel’s dedication to personal service is sure to give you a unique experience filled with enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elegance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing