We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARTY”
Review of Wild Rover Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Rover Hostels
Ranked #2 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PARTY”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was a 19 year old girl travelling alone and stayed in the 16 bed dorm next to the bar. Its cheap, nice and sooooo much fun. The point of the hostel is to have fun, the staff are really helpful and the tab system is a great bonus. The beds are the best in South America, not kidding.

I stayed hear for 9 nights, which was a little too long for La Paz but the people I met, and the atmosphere made it impossible to leave! The food was actually quite nice - as a vegetarian meals were hard to find, but there were a few options. I would beware as a few people did get food poisoning...

The showers were nice and HOT all day, which for Bolivia a real novelty. I don't normally write reviews but seeing as it was one of the best hostels I stayed in couldn't help it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxs153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    178
    87
    42
    30
See reviews for
4
77
195
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

As others have said I made the most of it and partied for 3 nights. On my last night I wanted to sleep before getting on a 7am bus. Unfortunately that night some try-hard artist had decided he was going to paint a door right outside my room til 3am. Every 5min some looser would walk up and ask the same 5 lame questions. Then after a while every loner traveler Id seen over the last 3 days had formed some ultimate loser group and were chatting and yelling outside my room in the corridor??? THERES A FKN BAR??. I told them to shut up a million times but I dont know what was more annoying the noise or the pathetic conversation. But it kind of summed up my time here.. I realised there were a lot of loosers here.. I really only liked the Irish and a few Aussies I met.. everyone else was either boring or trying to latch onto me or chat up the girls that were waay out of their league. Worst place Ive stayed in the last 8 months. What kind of a manager books in a door to get painted til 3am? Although my experience wasnt half as bad as the other ppl checking out with us in the morning.. I still wont be staying in Cuzco Wild Rover as a result. If you do stay here for 1 night max.. be thoughtful and dont talk in the hallways.. oh and eat the food here its AMAZING!

Room Tip: Somewhere at the back!! Or better yet across the road there is a cheaper quieter hostel and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMAC2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

As others before have said we were weary coming to this hostel due to its reputation.

And it lived up to most things. We had a great night and drank in the bar with lots of other travellers and then headed off in to La Paz for a crazy night, which we had!

However if like us you are pretty fragile the next day and cant do two nights in a row the chances are some of the other younger guests in your dorm can and will make a bit of noise. The guys in our room were really nice and apologetic but we kind of expected it, I am not sure you can go here and expect a serene hostel experience, it won't happen.

Needless to say we checked out the next day and headed on!

Overall the hostel was clean, the showers and bathrooms ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton, england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Long story short, was due to move rooms to save a few bucks. The bed I was supposed to move to the guy didnt check out. This bed was 44bs. I was offered the only other available bed at 52bs. The managers offer was to either take the guys belonging from his bed, BREAK OPEN his locker and take his valuables too or I can have the 52bs room with no discount, even though I had waited 4 hours after checking out before I had this option. I was shocked a manager would even consider taking a guests belongings so refused to allow him to do that. Asked for an 8bs discount on the room. His reply was I've given u options, its your choice, the hostel is full so if you don't want it, someone else will.

Basically he was happy to screw over somebody and gave me the choice who it was, me or the guy who didn't check out.

Disgusting behaviour from a manager. Strongly advise staying round the corner at loki. Much nicer backpackers with a manager, owner and staff who know how best to treat their customers

Oh and don't expect to get any sleep at wild rover, the bar is stupidly loud and small

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banzai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montanita, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I had a bad experience here.

Two main reasons:

First, when I arrived at 2am (with a reservation) they escorted me to my room (4-person dorm). As soon as I opened the door I realized that nobody had prepared a bed for me. There were half-empty liquor bottles scattered everywhere. There was trash in my locker. I was tired and it sucked. The staff did make up a bed for me when I asked, although they used sheets that were scratchy from being washed way too many times. I didn't sleep well. I talked to the management in the morning and they gave me half off my bill, which I appreciated.

Second. I emailed these guys to ask a question. The email response contained this:

"If you booked through Hostelworld or Hostelbookers please share your positive comments and rating online or contact the manager on duty with any concerns you may have. If you give us a rating that reinforces or improves our current position and a positive online comment, we are happy to provide you with a 50% discount of your first night’s accommodation on your next stay with us at any of our Wild Rover Hostels. The discount only applies to dorms and you must book through our website or reception."

So they basically pay people to give them good reviews. Not cool.

I get that it's a party hostel. It doesn't need to be spotless. But for the money, this is not a very good one. If you want to stay at a party hostel in La Paz, I liked Adventure Brew better when I stayed there. It's cleaner with better beds and better breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend having just come from the Wild rover in Cuscoe, Peru. This hostel was fine but really not much more than that. I can only really compare it to its' sister hostel in Peru but when i do, this one just didn't have the same easy going atmosphere, pleasant staff, or charm of the one in Peru. The staff were fine. Just functional really but not the most pleasant. The wireless internet didn't work the whole time we were there but to be honest, to keep your stuff safe and have someplace to stay before you move on to somewhere ele it's ok for a night or two, just don't plan on staying any longer than that as it's a bit of a hole. The one in Peru had people who had been staying there a couple of months and i put that down to the great staff. This one could learn alot from them

Room Tip: the en suite rooms/ couple rooms are the way to go if you want at least some privacy although you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish-slappywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I was searching for a hostel in La Paz, and stranded in wild rover which is one of the party-hostels.
Unfortunately I didn't know it was so I wasn't prepared.
The rooms where hugh, I lost myself in the complex which at the start wasn't a problem. But being unable to sleep in the night, not being allowed to cook my own food and to safe money with that where to aspects I really don't search in an hostel and that really annoyed me. I wasn't even allowed to heat water for coffee. moreover it isnt allowed to bring your own food to the rooms, so you totally depend on the overly high prices of the hostels kitchen.

i was more than annoyed and disappointed and left the next day...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katjako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,058 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 76 in La Paz
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#6 of 76 in La Paz
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rover Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rover Hostels

Property: Wild Rover Hostels
Address: Comercio 1476, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Wild Rover Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rover Backpackers Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing