We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fuentes
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Real Suites(La Paz)
$152
$147
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
17
27
35
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
27
35
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswitches marketbasic breakfastprivate bathroomrooms are cleanhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 123 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We had to wait in the airport cause the check in wasn't 24 hours.
When we arrived to the hotel they gave us a third floor with no elevator (being at more than 3500 meters of altitude... imagine that carrying the luggage...) Nobody even offered top help us with the luggage. We asked for paying but they had no change.
The bed was very bad as well as the smelly water coming from the pipe.
We spend the day in the city and when we came back at 7 PM we arranged with the reception guy to have breakfast at 6 AM as our tour bus was coming at 7, they said no problem.
We use the internet until 9.05 PM when we were asked to leave it, despite it was supposed to be until 9.30. We asked for paying again but again they had no change.
We went out for dinner and when we came back we had to stay 10 minutes in the street ringing the bell under the pouring rain because the reception boy was sleeping !!!

Dirty, old sheets in a very old and uncomfortable mattress, smelly water coming from the pipe, etc.

That's not all... Next morning we got up early and as it was "arranged" we went to have breakfast. Guess what ?... No breakfast until 7.30 !!!
We asked the sleepy boy for it and he said had to wait until the manager came. When he arrived he EVEN REFUSED TO GIVE US SOME HOT WATER TO MAKE A TEA EVEN WHEN THE KITCHEN WAS OPEN alleging it was necessary to wait until the kitchen staff arrived !!!!!!!!!

We seriously don't recommend this hotel !!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

All the rooms face a central courtyard so you might think it a quiet place. But at 630 to staff gets busy in the courtyard, cleaning, talking to each other, and at 730 music comes on the PA system. Dishes clatter. Any travellers have to check out early in the morning and you will hear every word of their tranaction with the front desk. In short do not expect to sleep into the morning in this hotel.

I have no other complaints - it was clean, cable tv was great and the shower was hot 24 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithk_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed three times in Hotel Fuentes during our stay in La Paz and were not disappointed. Service was excellent each time. Staff was very accomodating and it all felt very well organized and secure. The rooms are nothing special but decent value for the price. Good hot showers. Great location but still quiet. Free internet. Breakfast is nothing special though and the breakfast room is a bit depressing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polds83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

When you arrive, it would seem this hotel is everything you could ask for.
Stay a while and you will learn that they are extremely scroogey about everything!

RECEPTION
The boys at reception are helpful and can speak English as well. Very pleasant indeed

ROOMS
On the plus side: rooms are clean and neat when you arrive with good cable tv connection; showers are modern and hot water works every time.
On the down side: Rooms are cold and there is no heating. Curtains do absolutely nothing to keep the light out. It is a little noisy at times. These are minor points compared to the reluctancy to give you new bed linen, soap and towels.

I asked to have our room cleaned twice during our 6 night stay and each time, the cleaning staff just pulled up the sheets and blankets, swept a bit and took our discarded towels from off the floor and hung them up again. No new soap or toilet paper (unless there is absolutely no trace of either of these items). Basically, if you want fresh towels: you have to ask for them and I guess the same applies for the bed linen as well! Considering that we paid 160 Bolivianos (sixteen euros: which is quite a lot in Bolivia) each night I expected way more service.

BREAKFAST
Its a basic continental one day and one scrambled egg the next. If you come in individually then you will get two bread rolls. Enter as a couple and you will get three. I couldn't quite fathom the logic in this and besides one and half bread rolls for breakfast is hardly enough. I asked for one more and was told I would have to pay for it. Put into perspective: one bread roll in Bolivia costs 40 Bolivianos (4 euro cents) and at Hotel Fuentes you pay 80 Bolivianos per person (8 euros) per night.

Everything about the breakfast is portion controlled down to the amount of butter and jam you receive and the girl serving it is very reluctant to give you more: unless you complain to the management (who are probably behind the cheapskate attitude in the first place). I did complain after the first day and received an extra bread roll no problems at all, but the wait-person didn't acknowledge me after that. Each breakfast, she only gave us three rolls when it was obvious that we wanted one more. I resorted to bringing my own food in after that.

One piece of advice to Hotel Fuentes: keep your customers happy and they'll come back or better still recommend your hotel. An extra piece of bread or cup of coffee is not going to blow your food costs out the window. It will only put a smile on the face of your customers.

For the price we paid at Hotel Fuentes, I would have expected much more.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourdottk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The private bathrooms are decent with hot water whenever we used the shower. However, room 205s bathroom has the vent missing so it's a hole opening right into next doors bathroom. Although you can't see each other, their smells drift into your bathroom if you know what I mean.

The rooms have cable TV with many channels showing English speaking films and TV shows. All American though, no English.

Despite being right in the heart of it, the rooms are very quiet at night. The only noise comes from other guests coming back late and their squeky shoes on the floor or banging doors.

The internet in the lobby is free and pretty decent, but only two of the computers really work well and there is no Wifi, but you can hook your laptop up to their wires if you want to.

Breakfast is included but the atmosphere in the breakfast room is awkward. No music so it's silent and the tables are very close to each other. Breakfast consists of fresh juice, white bread, jam and butter and either scrambled eggs or cheese and ham to go with as well as tea or coffee, but they don't have herbal tea.

Double room with 3 beds and private bathroom is 160 bolivianos per night so decent value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaHadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews