We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel.”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Greeted with a glass of champagne. Staff, food (especially breakfast) and facilities could not be faulted. Within near walking distance of beaches, good restaurants and shopping centre, but Punta Del Este port area is quite a trek.

Room Tip: Only went in the one room, All rooms I would expect to be of a high quality and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalgroucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    228
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
109
382
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Visiting Punta del Este in the peak season presents a real dilemma. You want to stay in a nice place, but those you find will most certainly charge two to three times the normal rate. In the case of the Awa, the rate we were confronted with was more than three times the low season rate of about 200 USD (correct price point for this property). As I had been made to pay the higher rates, I must base my review on the quality of service these rates should offer.

The hotel boasts a design/boutique image, and it does exude a modern feel. Beyond that, the hotel is rather small and lacking in real creativity. In the public area, there were plastic flowers in the pond. The room was small, and instead of a flat screen TV, a makeshift computer monitor was in place. The bathroom was tiny, and the shower curtain was a real nuisance. I think the fact that there was a shower curtain says enough.

As others mentioned, the staff was not particularly welcoming, but why should they be when they consistently have full capacity? Some have complimented the breakfast, but for us, a buffet of cakes, cookies and pies does not a good breakfast make. There were very few fresh items such as fruits or cereal.

The pool area: there were about 10 lounge chairs and located next to a construction site. Luckily we were there on a Sunday when there was no construction work being carried out. I can only imagine the noise otherwise.

This is not what you'd expect from a 700 USD a night hotel. This is what you'd expect for $200-$250. Do yourself a favor and search for hotels outside Punta del Este, where there may be more choices.

Room Tip: Visiting Punta del Este in the peak season presents a real dilemma. You want to stay in a nice place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family-C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed at awa for 3 nights and were completely overwhelmed. The hotel is very stilish, rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. The pool area is very nice as well and staff is extremely friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has the time to really spend time in the hotel. Food is delicious and they have a fantastic breakfast buffet. I would always come back here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the pool side. You get a nicer view and rooms are very calm on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailor20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Had 6 nights here and found the Awa to be very good.
Nice rooms and well designed public spaces with a lovely heated pool.

All staff were very friendly but a bit serious.
Nice breakfast buffet.

The main area of Punta is about 30 mins walk away but is quite dull and soulless. The beaches are good but there are few facilities on hand to serve them.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
We are happy to know that, your opinon is very important for us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Definitely a copy of the W hotel chain by Starwood. The boutique thing is overdone by spraying each and every room of the building with some kind of fragrance from dispensers from the ceiling. Very annoying. Atmosphere, I guess, is hip and happening. So if you are looking for a European Costa Smeralda vibe, stay here. On the other hand, if you want some real Uruguay, do not stay here and find a nicer, smaller place. (You'll be hard-pressed in Punta though. You might want to try Jose Ignacio or maybe even further east.)
The rooms themselves are of the international kind, no surprises here. Breakfast is very good and staff are helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC and Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nestled among the palm trees a few blocks away in the heart of Punta del Este, AWA offered a surprisingly good alternative to the extraordinary expensive luxury hotels in the area. When I booked a room there a few months before the trip, I was expecting to come solo to see a friend, but at the last moment my husband came along. We were just at several fabulously expensive and luxury hotels in other parts of South America and when we drove to AWA he was not impressed. But the rooms were pre-paid and other hotels were booked, so he decided to "grin and suffer". Well, while the rooms are small, very small, the staff is VERY helpful and the breakfast is outrageously good and inexpensive. The bathroom was small, but equally clean and modern enough. Nothing in Punta is particularly cheap, and we have looked at the hotels charging upward of $1500 per night, but for a long weekend, I loved the fact that I didn't have to think at all about how much our hotel cost, particularly when as is common in Punta you are rolling in from the night out closer to breakfast than to midnight. The staff at AWA was very helpful - the housekeeper managed to press my linen dress for a party I was attending in about 5 minutes flat, and she did a perfect job. If you care about a spacious room and a grand bath, this might not be for you, but for a nice, clean room with a modern bath for a very reasonable price AWA is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCandCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I´ve stayed at AWA for a couple of nights last June with my husband. Rooms are really spacious, bathroom comes with a nice shower/tub combination, and breakfast is super tasty. The hotel is not at the beach, but still you can walk to Playa Mansa, the casino, and the Peninsula area. There is a mall nearby (for those interested), and some good restaurants as well. Staff were really courteous. There is parking space available on the street next to the hotel. The hotel has a swimming pool and spa facilities, which we haven´t tried, though. I would say it´s a great choice for couples!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
2.2 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.0 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.9 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awa Boutique and Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awa Boutique and Design Hotel

Property: Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
Address: Avenida Pedragosa Sierra y San Ciro, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Awa Boutique and Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern boutique and design hotel designed by Vivai Studio in the best location, steps from great restaurants like La Bourgogne and El Palenque and the only Shopping Mall in town. Five blocks from both beaches: Mansa and Brava. Luxury rooms, Llibrary, Hi Tech Microcinema, Spa, Gym, Swiming Pool, Congress Room, and excellent Fusion Cuisine in the Life bistro + bar! Free Wi Fi everywhere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awa Boutique and Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing