We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
76
87
31
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
87
31
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 204 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a great place, and very nice for the low price. The manager has bikes you can rent whenever you need them (although only a few are actually in decent riding condition), and the daily breakfast is pretty good. The rooms are comfortable and have a mini fridge. The walk to the beach is less than 5 minutes and you get to relax on a somewhat more secluded, less touristy stretch of beach. Perfect for a relaxing beach vacation!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was a nice hotel, well located and close to the beach. The staff is adorable and the ambience is sober. The only thing we didn't like too much is that our room was too small for 3 people, I think they tried to fit us into a 1 or 2 people room.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Maria Carolina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Attended by friendly uruguayans this is the right place to spend a weekend in Pta del Este.
Located close to the beach and in a place full of energy and tranquility

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mutron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay my first two nights in the heart of all the activity in Punta at one of the larger 3 start hotels. We had one more night in Punta and found this little gem. It is located a little further out of the center, near playa mansa, but it was a welcome departure. We'd rented a car, fully aware that it was a bit away so that we could come and go at our leisure and not take expensive, and unavailable taxis.

This place is quaint, charming, quiet in one of the more upscale little neighborhoods. Access to the beach is close. The room was small but that usually isn't problematic for me. Breakfast was good, standard fare but we enjoyed the cleanliness of where we sat and ate breakfast.

I am spoiled by Starwood in most ciies and know that when i venture out of the norm i have to have set different expectations of these out of the way places. Joan Miro was inexpensive, clean beyond my expectations (rooms smelled nice when you walk in - they have a triple inspection policy for a post check-out cleaning), and they were very friendly and cordial. Their internet was reliable, they offered chairs, umbrellas and bikes for the beach - all complimentary.

Very relaxing location and i would strongly recommend

Lorenza - Chicago, IL

Room tip: Rent a car.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lo19065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

first day in Uruguay, we were spent from our wedding,
and had not had the time to investigate lodging on the coast.

we popped into Punta del Este's tourist info reservation service. the lady was charming but directed us towards some options that were cheesy, minuscule, etc.

Her third choice was Joan Miro, we were tired, and went to see.

it seemed OK
which it was

78 dollars was the price. which was a little high for low season, but we knew Punta could be expensive.

We had a choice of rooms and chose the biggest.

nothing was bad, except the bed was very worn (the springs sagged).

breakfast buffet was adequate, but... boring

after, we found all manner of great great lodging options in Uruguay, so our first night disappointed us in retrospect.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABIIIChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews