We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A serene hotel with nice decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A serene hotel with nice decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the only one on the beach itself. It was a flour mill once so the building was already on the beach. Very nicely decorated. Beautiful looking Japanese style place. Pool is abit funny as it looks black and not inviting. Lovely sun beds all around. Sea was very cold and the wind was very cool, so we could not enjoy the sea. Sunset was perfect. Restaurant is very very expensive. Main dishes were between 700-850 pesos which translates as £25-30. If you can walk there are nice local restaurants inland. Keep in mind that this hotel is very far from any eating places. We had to walk miles to find a decent place to eat. Staff are very helpful and can speak English.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Umash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    101
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
241
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spend a weekend here and I was positively surprised by this hotel, the staff very attentive. Nice amenities and services on the beach, I did not use the spa, but I heard good comments about it. In Punta del Este is one of the few hotels with direct access to the beach, with a nice swimming pool on the deck with plenty of coachs and beach mattresses. Only adults are allowed here, so do not count on this if you are planning a family stay. Decent breakfast on a great scenery on the deck at the beach. Not cheap, but it worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach view, so don't worry for that, but ask to take a look at the rooms because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Manager at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a special stay with us! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've been staying at Serena for the past 7 to 8 years,and this time I must applaud them.
They renovated and the pool area is no longer in black wood.Wich is a relief.
The service is great at the concierge and the reception.It's much better than last year.I mean,the rooms and bathrooms with new showers are great.
I had a lovely time

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emilio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Manager at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much Emilio! see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

There is only two types of rooms in this hotel - Standard & Suites. 32 standard rooms and 7 suites. All of them expensive (from $420-$650 dlls- Jan. 2013) and all of them a rat hole - Depressingly small, broken bath room, you can hear all the sounds in the hallway (zero rest), the bed is as hard as a wood board, together with the hard pillows and detergent smell/feeling cheap amenities. Not even ONE bottled courtesy water- NADA! And the minibar is depressing. Forget robes and slippers, they don't care and have no respect for the clientelle, starting with the ower, who is in a defensive mood whenever you bring any questioning on the hotel rules with him. A cheap man, truly lacking any finesse and obviously any experience in the service industry. The owner claims to have an 'historical hotel', when the building looks lika an ordinary suburbian home from the 90's- completley decorated with Indonesian sculptures and furniture. So much for respecting Uruguayan historical buildings! This ingrate man shouldn't be allowed to speak to the clients, since the minute you understand he is the owner, the hotel starts looking grimmer. Bad for the hotel reputation. During our stay, because of the stiff beds, we ended up getting a back pain and a crick in the neck and we literally had to both get massages to ease the back problems. Although the restaurant is gourmet and most of the staff is sweet, the owner has set up rules that are marginalizing. If you are not one of the lucky ones to get one of the 7 suites (only $200 dlls more in price than the way over priced standard rooms) you cannot use some of the areas of the hotel, reserved for the suites only. The 7 suites get better beach seating, better parking lots, better check out times, better lunch tables, etc. As if the minimal price difference made them 'royalty', when everyone is being overcharged and paying the excat same prices for the services (truly outrageous!) Even if no one is using the "reserves for suite" spaces in the beach areas throughout the day, they don't let the other 80% of the hotel guests to use it.. In a 32 room hotel, with only 7 suites, this seems offensive. It is not that the 'reserved suites spaces" are better hang out places, what bothers is the fact that so minimal price difference has you in the worst rat hole and feeling lika a lesser and marginalized guest - Just sad. The only thing they have going for them is that they have beach front access, rare for hotels in Punta del Este, nonetheless, don't be deceived by this fact, (like we did) when choosing a hotel for your stay in Punta. The beach lounging and restaurant areas are cute, and once you are in the sun, you tend to forget all your pains, but that happens everywhere! This is not the place to spend your dreamy "expensive" vacation in Punta. I would truly recommend to look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is almost a great place to stay... almost. Instead, it's the kind of place I'd never stay again. The restaurant serves delicious food in a lovely setting. The pool and outdoor seating are like something out of a post-card. The rooms are adequate, there is a spa, and the front desk tries to be helpful.
However, for the one lunch (for two, consisted of one entrée, two appetizers, four bottles of water, and a strawberry daiquiri) we ate at the restaurant we spent US$150, which is a lot for lunch (and we live in New York). And while the pool was nice, our experience was marred by several gusts of wind, one of which blew a beach umbrella over onto me. I guess it wasn't so much the wind blowing the umbrella over that marred the experience as much as the fact that it was the third umbrella to blow over that day, the umbrella stands had no screws to keep the umbrellas in, no one apologized or asked if I was okay after the umbrella hit me, and the umbrella that hit me was put right back up. I had to move day beds to be at a safe distance. Our toilet didn't flush properly and we were told it would be fixed after we left. Our safe didn't function properly and it was implied it was our fault. We wanted help with reservations for Christmas dinner, but instead of being told that basically every restaurant would be open and we just needed a reservation, we were given brochures for the two restaurants at the casino.
All of these things could have been anomalous. Maybe we were just unlucky. But combining our experiences with the fact that it's a ten minute drive to restaurants, night life, and other beaches, we would never stay here again when there are so many other options. Next time we'd rather rent an apartment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 801NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Gerente at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are very sorry to read your comments, and to realize your stay with us has not been pleasant. We trully do our best.
We cannot change what happened, but we would like to invite you to visit us again to compansate the bad impression we gave you.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

As many others have noted, the Serena is small (32 rooms), insanely expensive, and difficult to book (at least three months in advance and that's just for the slow season), and while the exterior, restaurant and the lobby are really nice, the rooms and corridors are very plain and would barely count as a two-star hotel in the U.S. Yet they're charging four-star prices.

However, you can't beat the location, since it's the only hotel in Punta right on the beach rather than across the street, and even better, it faces the calm side of Punta, not the wild ocean side. Plus they have a very nice pool and lots of furniture around it. The relatively young staff try hard to be at your service. The hotel restaurant sets out a generous continental breakfast in the morning. Parking is free, sufficient, and easy to use.

In the end, I reluctantly concluded that I got my money's worth, since the location and service were excellent. But location in this sense means a sheer stroke of luck---it's great only because the dumb planners who laid out Punta del Este put the Rambla too damn close to the beach rather than running it inland so all the resorts could sit on the beach. (Which means the people who secured this spot of land on the beach side of the Rambla were very clever, and the current owners must be raking in huge profits.) Many other beach resorts, such as Miami Beach, Kaanapali, and Cancun, all put the main beachfront arterial behind the resorts so many resorts can all face the beach directly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank coolcaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Gerente at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one week in this beachfront hotel, the perfect relaxation place. Breakfast is served in the restaurant with direct view on the beach only a few steps away. After breakfast you can relax on comfortable couches and mattresses, literally on the beach. As it was beginning of the season, it was very calm. Staff is very friendly and always helpful and very service minded. An error they made in room assignment was compensated with no flinching with several vouchers for full meals and drinks thanks to the very attentive and dedicated manager Belen. Also they changed our flight reservation and went downtown to pick up the new tickets! Rooms are functional. The only thing missing is maybe a desk and a chair but no problem as you will stay out of the room most of the time. The Spa pool is a little small and only few Lounge chairs. The beach is incredibly huge and long and you can access it directly from the restaurant and outside pool area. The restaurant choice is a little bit small but all the dishes were great, especially the seafood and fish. The only complaint here are the prices, which are very high (that is the missing 5th point in the overall rating). However, this seems to be the price level in many places in Punta. Downtown is a 5 min taxi drive, which should cost aprox 240 $ (12 US$) or you can take the bus conveniently for 10 times less. To get back take the bus to San Carlos in calle 30 or Rambla Wiliman and get out at parada (stop) 24. If you look for a place to relax literally on the beach, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspector_Columbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.4 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.7 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Punta del Este

Property: Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Address: Rambla Williman- Parada 24 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#12 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Hotel Punta del Este 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Hotel Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing