We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, there are better places in PDE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artico

Artico
Ranked #21 of 239 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, there are better places in PDE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went here late one night, we ordered a fish and paella... not a whole lot of flavor in either. For the cost there are much better places in PDE.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NateYounker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    334
    123
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
225 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

It's basically a seafood self-service restaurant. And that's what you should expect.
You pick your food, beverage (plastic dishes, cups and flatware), and head upstairs (do this!), to the tables at the balcony.
There's a choice of paella and hot plates (more expensive), but we went for the seafood, which was fresh at the occasion.
Other people complained about long lines, poor service and uninteresting food, but ours was nice! It helped that it was the middle of the week (I can imagine the weekends, with long lines, slow service and a la carte dishes getting cold), so getting the food and paying was a breeze.
Also, we don't eat a lot, thus the reasonable price (for us). People who eat a lot may find it a little overpriced (heavier plates = more $)!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annex_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelotas, RS
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Crowed and dirt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Too many people, stressed staff, not kind a all.
There are no one to clean the tables however the price is good
Try it only if you like eat in places like that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinha2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The restaurant has a simplified self service scheme and you'll have the chance of eating to great views, if you choose to eat at the balcony upstairs. it's a million dollar view!
There are always great choices of sea food and the hot plates are worth it! The staff is not very friendly, but who cares about it in a self service restaurant? You can't go wrong there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst food experience in Punta Del Este”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Let me start by saying: This is a fastfood restaurant with mediocre minus seafood.
The paella was cold and uninteresting, the service was terrible, I waited 20 minutes for my food, asked two times what was happening, until the third time, they brought me this cold paella. The staff was just a bunch of kids messing around behind the counter, the place is cold and unwelcoming. Why this place is not ranked at the bottom of the list is beyond me.
I would rather hack off my arm and feed it to the seagulls than eat there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PETraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artico also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Artico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing