We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful oasis”
Review of Hotel L'Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Auberge
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I travel with my job and have stayed in beautiful hotels around the world, but the L'Auberge stands out as the loveliest experience I have had. The grounds and rooms are very well cared for and the staff could not have been better. They were eager to help without being in the way and you could tell they take great pride in the hotel. The rooms in the newer wing were large, very comfortable and the linens were great. The pool was very clean and refreshing and even once the hotel was full it never felt crowded. The grounds are welcoming and there are many areas to sit or lounge so you feel like you have the place to yourself. We were there just before Christmas and the owner and his family were all there. You could see in his interactions with the staff that it is run like a family and everyone has the same goal - creating a welcoming oasis of peace and beauty. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you so much for your lovely TripAdvisor review about L'Auberge !

I can see that you payed attention to every detail while enjoying your stay, and I am glad that you had a wonderful few days with us.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon !

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    79
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
93
282
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the L'Auberge this last week and we left desperately disappointed ..... that we couldn't stay longer. The hotel is in a most peaceful and beautiful part of Punta del Este. The gardens and pool area are delightful and the service friendly and efficient. The food was outstanding and the breakfast in particular is of the highest quality. We stayed in the newer wing of the hotel and our room, overlooking the stunning gardens, was large with a very comfortable bed.
We travelled from Dubai in the United Arab Emirates where we are used to excellent hotels. This one is as good or better.

Room Tip: The newer wing has good size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank John_ktnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review about L'Auberge !

It was really a pleasure having you and your family here, and it was also a shame to see you leave.
I am glad you liked your room and that you enjoyed the rest of our services.
We are glad to know we are well considered in your worldwide hotels ranking !

Please visit us again soon !

All the best !

Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Generally speaking you can say that the quality of a hotel deteriorates with the years.- This is my second review of this hotel (my first was in 2006).- I always stay at the hotel each time that I go to Punta del Este and I can assure that each time is a new surprise.- Superb service.- Marvelous rooms.- Excellent location (is better that you have a car).- Excellent and splendid installations that, in spite of its age, are in incredible conditions.- As always, in the tea room, the waffles are a classic of Punta del Este.- I have no doubt in qualify this hotel as very true 5 stars and I, as I said in my previous review, believe that is second to none in Uruguay.- Certainly I would recommend this magnificent "pearl".- You can be sure that your election will be the better one.-

Room Tip: Some of the tower rooms are very small but has the added value of a good value.- I always prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mr.RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mr. RR,

Thank you for, again, writing about L'Auberge in TripAdvisor !

We are glad to know you found L'Auberge even better this time.
We work very hard to meet our guests' high standards, so nothing is more rewarding than learning you enjoy our hotel more and more through the years.

I hope it's not so long until your next visit !

Best regards !

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and me live in Buenos Aires, and for the last twenty years have been at L' Auberge for short stays, usually up to four days. We visit the hotel all around the year, and we are just back from our yearly treat, this time when high season springs. Every time we find many little new things that show a neverending task of improving the already impeccable standards. It is amazing how they know what your tastes are and, without overacting, are ready to assist you. The staff is a fine blend of young and adult people, all of them very polite and friendly, once again without interfering unnecessarily with guest's pace.
Breakfast is, itself, a wondeful experience, for the setting and the quality and variety of the food. Fruits in Uruguay are excellent, and so the juices. My writing in english, you will forgive me for doing that, is only due to the aim of sharing this enthusiastic review with us much of you it's possible. DONT' MISS IT!!

Room Tip: the smallest rooms at the tower can be really too small for some people. The experinece of a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tanobaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear tanobaires,

Thank you for your nice TripAdvisor review !

It is always a pleasure to receive you at L'Auberge, and we are more than happy to know that you enjoy all those little details that make our hotel different, cozier and more friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you many more times again this year.

All the best !

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed in all of the major big name hotels in Punta & La Barra and with out a doubt, this is by far the best.

Fantastic compromise of being within walking distance to the beach, near to the action of down town but far enough away not to be disturbed by the crowds. (we had our own car which really helped with logistics)

Both restaurants are outstanding and the food is as good as we found anywhere in Punta.

We are a family with kids of 4,9 & 14 yrs old and stayed in a junior suite. It was ideal and we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived. The children thoroughly enjoyed the pool.

We hope to have the opportunity to return to this magical place one day.

Richard

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for reviewing L'Auberge at TripAdvisor !

We are happy to know we are your top choice for hotels in Punta del Este !
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with your family and that you liked every aspect of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards from all of us at L'Auberge !

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited Punta Del Este in November, just prior to the busy season. The city was pretty dead, and our trip may have been pretty boring had it not been for the Hotel L'Auberge. We came to South America and our honeymoon and L'Auberge was the only place that acknowledged it (even though we notified all the other hotels). Shortly after our arrival we were not only upgraded to a deluxe suite, but were also greeted with a chilled bottle of champagne. The attention to detail of the staff is incredible. We felt incredibly welcome and taken care of during our entire stay. This place belongs somewhere in the French countryside. Our stay was extremely peaceful and relaxing. To top it off, the food in the hotel was amazing. The only downside, is that all the amenities were so terrific, that it made it really hard to leave to do any sightseeing. We loved this hotel so much, that we are planning to come back for our five year anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Yana,

Thank you for your nice words about L'Auberge !

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us.
We are always happy to pamper our clients and the best reward we can get is knowing you appreciated it.

We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully before your 5th anniversary !

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The coziest hotel in punta del este. Decorated with excellent taste and a most relaxing atmosphere. Belgian waffles at tea time are a must! Lunch at the barbecue with the best beef and fresh fish is mostly enjoyable. A staff with excellent attitude.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank josheguelfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Guelfi,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review about L'Auberge !

It is always a pleasure to welcome you and see you enjoy the peace and quiet of our gardens.

We hope you can come back soon.

Best regards to you and your lovely wife Andrea,

Ignacio Carrera
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.3 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
3.8 mi away
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
#10 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Auberge

Property: Hotel L'Auberge
Address: Carnoustie y Av. del Agua - Pda 19 Brava | Barrio Parque del Golf, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#2 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#4 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our visitors a place that is different from the rest, where antiques and works of art combine with the most modern comfort. We strongly support the idea that an international hotel should develop the "Art of being a Good Host". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Auberge Punta Del Este
l Auberge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing