We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'Auberge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Concorde(Punta del Este)
$50
$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serena Hotel Punta del Este(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$133
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sisai Hotel Boutique(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enjoy Punta Del Este(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Beach Resort and Spa(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$97
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Belvedere(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$130
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yoo Punta Del Este(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
453
83
15
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
83
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffleswater towertea housetower roomcharming hotelromantic stayexcellent restauranttake taxisbreakfast is serveduruguaypuntajanuarypersonnel
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 560 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

L'Auberrge prides itself to be the best hotel in Punta, which we of course believed when deciding on where to stay. But these days are definitely over. The premises are very nice and well kept, it is peaceful and safe. But the rooms definitely need some refurbishmnent - or prices have to be adjusted. We paid 380 USD per night for something that was not worth half of it. Albeit clean, it was too dark, too old, shower with no pressure etc. Again, I don't mind this, but not at that rate.
Yet, like everything on this trip through Argentina and Uruguay, it was simply highly overpriced and a very poor price ratio. They hace European prices while the service is on 3rd world standards.

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank swissblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We are glad to know you found our premises to be nice and clean, and that you could enjoy the peace and quiet of our location during your stay at L'Auberge.
We believe to have nice rooms, well kept, and we work very hard to keep everything working in order. Our maintenance staff are always willing to help should you need anything quickly fixed.
Remember that our hotel is part of the history of Punta del Este, standing for over 64 years in the heart of this neighborhood which it helped grow. So of course ours is not the modern option.

We are sure you can enjoy more of our hotel if you get to know more about it and understand its history and all the work the family owners and all its long-term staff have put into it.

We hope you can visit us again soon, and we'd be glad to show you around to a better stay at L'Auberge and a nicer feel of Punta del Este.

Kind regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

No complaints on the hotel at all. Food was excellent (was the best I had in Uruguay). Rooms, amenities, and service all good. The hotel is a bit far from town though so you will either need to bike or taxi from the hotel. Overall an excellent stay (was our first time in PDE).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Richard,

Thank you for your nice review!

We are very glad to know that you had a wonderful stay at L'Auberge, and we are honored to know that your best uruguayan meal was here too !
I will compliment our chef who will be happy to learn this.

L'Auberge is set right in the heart of Punta del Este, 6km each way to the main centric area (La Punta, downtown) or La Barra, but probably anywhere you stay in Punta you will need a car to move around and get to know all the nice places, beaches, restaurants, etc.
Even if you are staying downtown you could have walking access to some shops, but you would also need a car to get to know all the other neighborhoods up to José Ignacio which are a must.

Thank you for choosing L'Auberge for your first visit to Punta !
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards from all of us at L'Auberge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I can't complain about this place at all. I think we had sticker shock, since we had just come from Argentina where everything was really cheap. The room was nice, the grounds are beautiful, and we ended up eating dinner there twice. The waffles that everyone raves about are good, but if you get two waffles and two coffees the bill is around $50 US dolllars, and that is just a snack there. The staff was great and helped us arrange a car (which everyone should get if they want to visit all of the different beaches). We visited March 14-17 and we could tell that it was starting to be the off-season in PDE. Multiple restaurants were closed. I don't know if it was just the week that were were there, but the average age at L'Auberge was probably 45.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeraLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Vera,

Thank you for your review !

It was nice meeting you and your husband during your stay at L'Auberge.
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Ignacio Carrera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at L'Auberge very much. We stayed in the tower which was a lot of fun. The entire staff was attentive and helpful. The bood in both restaurants was consistently excellent. The rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. The grounds, gardens and swimming pool were all attractive and well kept. Dining on the terrace restaurant was particulary relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your nice review!

It was lovely meeting you and your family.
We really loved seeing you enjoy your stay at L'Auberge, and we are very happy to have shared time with you, and our exclusive musical night with Gabriella.

We really look forward to seeing you all again.

All the best to all of you, from all our family.

Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is my first time to Punta del Este (PDE). I'm on holiday with my friend and have just arrived from Buenos Aires (second time to BA, first time to PDE).

First all, the hotel is beautiful and awfully picturesque. Its location is in one of PDE's affluent residential neighborhood, bolstering the most exclusive real estate money can buy, and about a 15-20 minute cab ride from its city center. (approximately $180-210 UR dollars depending traffic conditions) Most of our cab rides were about $200 UR, give or take a few dollars.

Now to the room. Our rate was $239 US and included daily breakfast (which was served 7am-12pm). We were pleasantly surprised to hear we were upgraded, which we were grateful for. The room was nice and large for PDE. One room had two twin beds (no doors separating any of the three rooms), the other a sitting area right of the bedroom with couch, coffee table, sitting chair and one side table with a lamp. The last room was the wash basin (sink) and luggage hold area.

The beds were small for my taste but adequate for sleep. The air conditioning was awesome. It got as cold as a meat locker but I didn’t mind it with the warm comforter and light seats that came with my (small) bed.

One of the few things that could use improvement was to modernize the key entry system to each room. (see key picture below) As quaint as it looks to have a skeleton key, it’s not practical due to the following:
a) Weight of the key (attached to a wood piece)
b) Loud/annoying/interrupting noise the key makes when exiting/entering room – locking/unlocking door

The food and waffles.

Since our flight was delayed, we had finally arrived to our hotel passed 8pm. our ride from the airport to the hotel was appx $1000 UR ($50 US) which I found to be super expensive. Since it was dark and I was tired, I couldn’t acclimate myself to the city. We checked in and proceeded to have dinner in the hotel’s “Tea Room”. This is their main dining room with outdoor seating.

I ordered the steak and my friend the pasta along with two orders of the ceviche and two bottles of wine. (we like wine OK). The meal was TDF. Too Die For!!
It was good portions and OMG delicious! I typically do not anticipate hotel food to be this good or good at all, but this was good. The service was impeccable. It was a slow night with a few tables needing service.

We were informed by the front desk that we can’t leave without trying the waffles. So indeed, we tried them. They were good and cost about $220 ($12 US) for one waffle cake. This did not include any beverages.

The Pool – the very glamorous pool

The pool at Hotel L'Auberge is a manicured masterpiece in itself. The grounds were perfect and poolside service was good. Staff was attentive and very accommodating.
(bring some bug spray!)

Overall, Hotel L'Auberge was a nice place to go if you’re looking for some R&R AND to be amongst those of age 55 and over! We were the youngest ones there! (early 40s) Again, property is beautiful, quaint, quiet and relaxing.

Truly enjoyed our stay and LOVED it. I would recommend it for the reasons above. Now if you’re looking for a chic, modern hotel closer to the city center, this is not for you.

Safe travels and travel safe!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelermundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear travelermundo,

Thank you for your detailed comment in TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to describe every detail of your stay, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon !

Best regards,
Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews