We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint hotel - but food is pricey”
Review of Hotel L'Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Auberge
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay at L'Auberge. The property looks and feels like a lovely British manor -both in its decor and its gardens. The staff are very professional and gracious. Our only two complaints were that it was a bit hard to find. The hotel is hidden away - there's not even a hotel sign marking the property. Note that it's not close to the beach. And second, the food was quite pricey, although having said that, it was good, but think NYC prices!

Room Tip: Get a room with the bathtub. The shower pressure is not great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Moonray1,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel, and that you liked the grounds and the special attention of our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Hotel L'Auberge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Auberge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 529 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

L'Auberrge prides itself to be the best hotel in Punta, which we of course believed when deciding on where to stay. But these days are definitely over. The premises are very nice and well kept, it is peaceful and safe. But the rooms definitely need some refurbishmnent - or prices have to be adjusted. We paid 380 USD per night for something that was not worth half of it. Albeit clean, it was too dark, too old, shower with no pressure etc. Again, I don't mind this, but not at that rate.
Yet, like everything on this trip through Argentina and Uruguay, it was simply highly overpriced and a very poor price ratio. They hace European prices while the service is on 3rd world standards.

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank swissblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We are glad to know you found our premises to be nice and clean, and that you could enjoy the peace and quiet of our location during your stay at L'Auberge.
We believe to have nice rooms, well kept, and we work very hard to keep everything working in order. Our maintenance staff are always willing to help should you need anything quickly fixed.
Remember that our hotel is part of the history of Punta del Este, standing for over 64 years in the heart of this neighborhood which it helped grow. So of course ours is not the modern option.

We are sure you can enjoy more of our hotel if you get to know more about it and understand its history and all the work the family owners and all its long-term staff have put into it.

We hope you can visit us again soon, and we'd be glad to show you around to a better stay at L'Auberge and a nicer feel of Punta del Este.

Kind regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

No complaints on the hotel at all. Food was excellent (was the best I had in Uruguay). Rooms, amenities, and service all good. The hotel is a bit far from town though so you will either need to bike or taxi from the hotel. Overall an excellent stay (was our first time in PDE).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Richard,

Thank you for your nice review!

We are very glad to know that you had a wonderful stay at L'Auberge, and we are honored to know that your best uruguayan meal was here too !
I will compliment our chef who will be happy to learn this.

L'Auberge is set right in the heart of Punta del Este, 6km each way to the main centric area (La Punta, downtown) or La Barra, but probably anywhere you stay in Punta you will need a car to move around and get to know all the nice places, beaches, restaurants, etc.
Even if you are staying downtown you could have walking access to some shops, but you would also need a car to get to know all the other neighborhoods up to José Ignacio which are a must.

Thank you for choosing L'Auberge for your first visit to Punta !
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards from all of us at L'Auberge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I can't complain about this place at all. I think we had sticker shock, since we had just come from Argentina where everything was really cheap. The room was nice, the grounds are beautiful, and we ended up eating dinner there twice. The waffles that everyone raves about are good, but if you get two waffles and two coffees the bill is around $50 US dolllars, and that is just a snack there. The staff was great and helped us arrange a car (which everyone should get if they want to visit all of the different beaches). We visited March 14-17 and we could tell that it was starting to be the off-season in PDE. Multiple restaurants were closed. I don't know if it was just the week that were were there, but the average age at L'Auberge was probably 45.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeraLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Vera,

Thank you for your review !

It was nice meeting you and your husband during your stay at L'Auberge.
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Ignacio Carrera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at L'Auberge very much. We stayed in the tower which was a lot of fun. The entire staff was attentive and helpful. The bood in both restaurants was consistently excellent. The rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. The grounds, gardens and swimming pool were all attractive and well kept. Dining on the terrace restaurant was particulary relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your nice review!

It was lovely meeting you and your family.
We really loved seeing you enjoy your stay at L'Auberge, and we are very happy to have shared time with you, and our exclusive musical night with Gabriella.

We really look forward to seeing you all again.

All the best to all of you, from all our family.

Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is my first time to Punta del Este (PDE). I'm on holiday with my friend and have just arrived from Buenos Aires (second time to BA, first time to PDE).

First all, the hotel is beautiful and awfully picturesque. Its location is in one of PDE's affluent residential neighborhood, bolstering the most exclusive real estate money can buy, and about a 15-20 minute cab ride from its city center. (approximately $180-210 UR dollars depending traffic conditions) Most of our cab rides were about $200 UR, give or take a few dollars.

Now to the room. Our rate was $239 US and included daily breakfast (which was served 7am-12pm). We were pleasantly surprised to hear we were upgraded, which we were grateful for. The room was nice and large for PDE. One room had two twin beds (no doors separating any of the three rooms), the other a sitting area right of the bedroom with couch, coffee table, sitting chair and one side table with a lamp. The last room was the wash basin (sink) and luggage hold area.

The beds were small for my taste but adequate for sleep. The air conditioning was awesome. It got as cold as a meat locker but I didn’t mind it with the warm comforter and light seats that came with my (small) bed.

One of the few things that could use improvement was to modernize the key entry system to each room. (see key picture below) As quaint as it looks to have a skeleton key, it’s not practical due to the following:
a) Weight of the key (attached to a wood piece)
b) Loud/annoying/interrupting noise the key makes when exiting/entering room – locking/unlocking door

The food and waffles.

Since our flight was delayed, we had finally arrived to our hotel passed 8pm. our ride from the airport to the hotel was appx $1000 UR ($50 US) which I found to be super expensive. Since it was dark and I was tired, I couldn’t acclimate myself to the city. We checked in and proceeded to have dinner in the hotel’s “Tea Room”. This is their main dining room with outdoor seating.

I ordered the steak and my friend the pasta along with two orders of the ceviche and two bottles of wine. (we like wine OK). The meal was TDF. Too Die For!!
It was good portions and OMG delicious! I typically do not anticipate hotel food to be this good or good at all, but this was good. The service was impeccable. It was a slow night with a few tables needing service.

We were informed by the front desk that we can’t leave without trying the waffles. So indeed, we tried them. They were good and cost about $220 ($12 US) for one waffle cake. This did not include any beverages.

The Pool – the very glamorous pool

The pool at Hotel L'Auberge is a manicured masterpiece in itself. The grounds were perfect and poolside service was good. Staff was attentive and very accommodating.
(bring some bug spray!)

Overall, Hotel L'Auberge was a nice place to go if you’re looking for some R&R AND to be amongst those of age 55 and over! We were the youngest ones there! (early 40s) Again, property is beautiful, quaint, quiet and relaxing.

Truly enjoyed our stay and LOVED it. I would recommend it for the reasons above. Now if you’re looking for a chic, modern hotel closer to the city center, this is not for you.

Safe travels and travel safe!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelermundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear travelermundo,

Thank you for your detailed comment in TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to describe every detail of your stay, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon !

Best regards,
Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Big green lawn and garden, beautiful pool, reserved jacuzzi, confortable room, good breakfast, friendly staff, amazin waffles with dulce de leche... I could go on, but you may already see the point: great hotel, really romantic and relaxed atmosphere. We highly recommend!

Due to the location, is a good idea to rent a car. The things to do is Punta del Este are a little far from each other and the hotel is no exception.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BibianaBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Bibiana,

Thank you for your review !

We are glad you enjoyed our nice hotel.
We put a lot of care and attention into every detail, so we are happy to know you appreciated it.

We hope you can come back soon !

Best regards from all of us at L'Auberge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,933 reviews
2.3 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
1.4 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
756 reviews
1.5 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
#5 of 65 in Punta del Este
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Auberge

Address: Carnoustie y Av. del Agua - Pda 19 Brava | Barrio Parque del Golf, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#2 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#4 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range: $129 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our visitors a place that is different from the rest, where antiques and works of art combine with the most modern comfort. We strongly support the idea that an international hotel should develop the "Art of being a Good Host". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Auberge Punta Del Este
l Auberge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing