We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with a friend and a further 2 nights on my own and loved it! There's nothing I could say which could fault my stay here. The service was always very friendly, helpful and welcoming, loads to choose from at breakfast, perfect location and great rooms. Thanks for an awesome stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear ATraveller16:
We appreciate your time in writing a review in Trip Advisor about your last stay at Golden Beach Resort & Spa. We are glad to know that you spent a good time in our rooms and that could experience the warmth of our staff and will share your kind comments with it. We expect to have the chance to receive you back in our hotel. Please contact us if we can be useful anytime,
Best regards,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Facilidades como piscina aquecida e piscina externa. Café da manhã bem variado. Staff muito prestativo. Chuveiros ótimos. Excelente localização, perto de tudo! Lojinha de conveniência bem ao lado, no inverno - quando não tinha nada aberto - a lojinha estava à nossa disposição até a madrugada! CONTRAS: Calefação bem fraca, passamos frio no quarto no inverno de 3 graus Celsius.

Facilities like heated pool and an outdoor pool. Nice breakfast. Staff very efficient. Great showers. Excellent location, close to everything! Convenience store right next door, in the winter - when there was nothing open - the shop was available to us until late night! CONS: Heating pretty weak, spent the winter cold in the room by 37 Farenheit degrees.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubicatBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012
Google Translation

Prezado RubicatBrazil:
Agradecemos muito o tempo e antecao dispensado em publicar os seus comentarios no Trip Advisor referente a sau estadia em Golden Beach Resort & Spa. Ficamos felizes de saber que o senhor aproveitou a nossa privilegiada localizacao e servicos como a nossa piscina aquecida, a qual é muito conveniente para os dias de inverno. Referente a sua experiencia respeito a climatizacao da habitacao gostaria de lhe informar que ja estamos trabalhando num importante projeto para melhorar a climatizacao das mesmas o qual inclui a troca dos actuais equipos de ar condicionados por um moderno sistema multisplit que climatizará todos os ambientes dos quartos com una tecnologia de maior eficiencia e performance, além disso trcoaremos as janelas por aberturas com vidro duplo (termopaneis) os quais melhoram o aislamento acústico e térmico das habitacoes.
Compartilharemos os seus comentarios com a nossa equipe de trabalho ja que isto é um grande incentivo para continuar trabalhando na procura da excelencia no atendimento aos nossos prezados hospedes.
Ficamos a sua dispossicao para quanto possamos lhe ajudar e ao aguardo da sua próxima visita.
Atenciosamente,
Staff do Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in the off season for around $95 per day. For Punta del Este, that is cheap. But I would never pay $200 a day in the prime time. The place
needs a lot of work and feels like a revolving door.

Room Tip: Give a good tip to the baggage person, then you have a friend for life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Brad D:
Thanks for staying at Golden Beach Resort & Spa on your last trip to Punta del Este and for your comments about your stay. Actually we are developing an important investments plan in which will be included the remodelling of all our rooms. Some highlights of the plan are new tecnology related to the air conditioning, led tv´s, bathrooms renewal, new carpets for the public areas. We would like to receive you back on your next trip in order to experience our improved facilities and services. We stand at your disposal as long as you need.
Sincerely,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had to stay in this hotel for a business trip in Punta del este. Lets put it this way - the only good thing about it is its location. Conveniently close to all you need to have fun on the peninsula.

But...

Oh my god. I have stayed in gritty hotels the world over when I was young. But this one tops them all. Everything here is at least 30 years old and has never been maintained since. The bathroom smells of mould, the floor is growing stuff, the overall decor is so dated, the breakfast is awful, the windows arent sound proofed... I could spend hours telling stories about pubic hair found in my supposedly clean bathroom and staff not speaking a word of English, all of that for a charge similar to the Four Seasons. Instead, I'll say one thing - just dont go. You'll regret it if you do.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mehdi_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Mehdi_travelling:
We are very sad for knowing about your bad experience at our hotel, even more surprised by not being noticed about your complain during your stay. Our hotel was built 17 years ago, and of course it needs to be mantained continuously and some of our areas could not be mantained every year. Fortunely, this year we are starting to develop an investiment plan, that will include the change of the furniture of our rooms, all the bathrooms will be remodeled, new air conditioners and deccor for the rooms and common areas. About the front desk staff, it is true that not everyone speaks english, but there is always somebody who can speaks portuguese, english and spanish, of course, at front desk. We are sorry that the breakfast served here did not meet your expectations, we would like to know what would you include, however we are proud of our homemade pastries, breads and pies. Thanks for your time in reviewing us. Best regards
Golden Beach Resort & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

actually i stayed there in november 2011, but i just wanted to leave a comment right now. i don't understand how a 'red roof inn' type hotel can get 4 stars and even charge you 300 bucks a night? are they all nuts in this place??? breakfast was not included and the adjacent shopping gallery had certainly seen better times. since uruguay one of my favorite words is decrepit :) forget about it. this is a 2 star place and should cost 30 us. just because in punta's short 3 months season they have to rip off anyone doesn't mean you got to be a victim. the only positive thing about this place is the location. it s right in the center of the peninsula and the beach is very close. that's all about it. old rooms, not painted in years,listless staff and noisy argentinians everywhere...enjoy ! or better stay at home :)))

Room Tip: take another hotel :) preferably in a diferent country
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Adrianmiami:
Thanks for taking your time in write about Golden Beach. The rates of our hotel are based on criterials of supply and demand,competence and S.W.A.T. studies, as most hotels in the world. If you stayed in November it is sure that you did not pay U$S 300 a day. Our aim is not "rip off anyone", it is to offer the best services and experiences in the best place of Punta del Este, probably that is the explanation to our success. Our breakfast is included in every stay except time sharing stays. About our rooms, fortunely we are going to start to develop on this year, a great investiments plan that will include the change of the furniture in our rooms, remodeling of all our bathrooms, new air conditioners and deccor for common areas. Best regards,
Golden beach Resort & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a very well located hotel, I've stayed there with my boyfriend, my mother and sister in law in a room for 4 people in 2010, and we were really pleased with our choice, we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lublasi303605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Lublasi303605:
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We are proud of knowing about your nice experience at our hotel. Thanks for your words about Golden Beach. We would be very pleased to receive you back anytime.
Best regards,
Golden Beach Resort & Spa staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The quality level is probably best described as a tired seaside resort Holiday Inn. Interior and exterior pool areas are nice. THE biggest problem is the odor from the bathrooms. We were going to ask for another room but since I'm in fluent Spanish I asked the maids and they leveled with me that there are plumbing issues and all rooms have the odor. She was kind enough to give us a can of deodorizer that along with a couple extra wet floor mats I placed over the drains masked the odor about 90%. Positives are... 1 block from the beach, grocery store next door, 1 block to main shopping drag, free basement parking (actually ALL parking in Punta is free... There are guys that have fluorescent vest on that guide you to open spots and you just give them under a buck/coins after you return to your car. If you stay here you could possibly get away with not renting a car during your stay BUT to get to the chic and bohemian beach towns of La Barra (15 min.) and Jose Ignacio (35 min.) a rental car is a must. Punta is expensive, reserve car rentals early preferably from local agencies like Interautos or others. Are Budget car was $150 a day! BTW if you have not driven in a foreign country before then be prepared. The first thing I think they do when they get a car there is rip the blinker/indicator off the steering column and throw it out the window... no staying between the lines. OTHER TIPS... We traveled Aerolineas Argentinas from BA. Poor departure times... leave plenty of time for connecting flights! Also, the domestic airport in BA, although called Jorge Newberry, goes by "Aeroparque" .So if you are at the airport in Punta you will not see your flight to Buenos Aires and instead see the word Aeroparque. Security wise we felt very safe every where we went. Try La Gabanna across from the marina for dinner and dancing but remember everything is late dinner 11-12 pm, cocktails 1-2am, dancing til sun up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear Johndawn99,
Thanks for your review. After the high season we will be attending the problem about the odor in the bathrooms, since we will be remodeling all the bathrooms in the hotel. Also we will be including new furnitures for the balcony and terraces areas that will improve the appearance of the hotel and give best confort to our guests. We look forward to see you on your next trip to Punta del Este.
Best regard.
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.7 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,266 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
2,061 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
3.6 mi away
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
#21 of 65 in Punta del Este
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Calle 24 esquina calle 29, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range: $98 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Beach Resort & Spa is very well located at the heart of Punta Del Este. It is the largest hotel in the downtown of Punta, really close to "Calle 20" which is known as "the fashion road", one block away from Av. Gorlero, the main street of the city, and also 50 meters from the "Brava Beach" on the Atlantic Ocean which makes the favourite beach for surfers and brave swimmers, and 300 meters away from the "Mansa Beach" on the River Plate which is very paceful and safe for people of all ages. Golden Beach Resorts & Spa counts with 100 comfortable rooms up to 6 people per room. The hotel offers a lot of services which makes it different from other hotels in the area, as the great indoor swimming pool, out side swiimming pools one of them exclusive for children, play room with billiard, table soccer, table tennis, kids club for children from 2 years old, excellent spa with various treatments, safe indoor parking, wi fi in all the rooms, and a great home made breakfast with local pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Resort And Hotel Punta Del Este
Golden Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing