We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry to say...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sisai Hotel Boutique
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sorry to say...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Like the last reviewer, please consider the source of this review, North Americans apparently have different expectations of hotels than South Americans. They are not better or worse, just different. The stars given are according to my North American expectations.

Let me begin with the good. Service was excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff, both at the desk and the room. The decor was minimalistic, modern, sleek and attractive. The room was a good size for two, and they have very nice curtains that block out light, which is greatly appreciated and something N. American hotels could learn from. Location was good for us, as we don't need to be right on the beach. However, if you do want to go, it isn't difficult to get there in a short period, especially if you drive or take a cab. The nearby shopping mall was a plus for needed items and quick meals.

Now for the regrettable. The prices in the restaurant were out of line even for Punta del Este. There are too many other restaurants to select from, they just should bring their prices downs because in three days I never saw anyone eating in their dining room. The free breakfast was just okay. Several of the morning pastries were stale, the fruit mostly tasteless, and the coffee pot frequently empty. There were a variety of cold cereals which I didn't sample, but those were mainly for the kids. Overall, not awful, not really good.

The real issues came with the room. While bright and spacious, there are no dressers, and maybe this is intentional but space for your clothing seemed lacking. As usual not enough hangers for your clothes but they did have shelves in the closet for whatever. For us, it was not inviting and went mostly unused.

They have a nice computer desk, but no office like chair, only a very low bench which made any laptop use a joke. It was nearly impossible to type with your handa at eye level. Why offer a desk without an appropriate chair? Also for new hotel, there were not enough electric outlets.

The bathroom had a non functional bidet, no kleenex dispenser, and no washcloths. The latter might be a SA thing, we found the same thing in a different hotel. But for the price, one would think they could offer you at least one washcloth? I do have to disagree with other reviewers on the cleanliness of the room. There was residue on the sink counter I could scrape off with my fingernail, the grout in the bath was discolored, bordering on moldy. The pretty bath fixtures were nice buy hard to figure out, esp. on the bidet. The shower had a half glass enclosure which no matter how we tried ended up flooding the entire bathroom. Therefore after every shower I ended up mopping the floor with one of the limited towels that you are offered. One fresh towel we were given had lipstick on it.

The most disturbing issues we found were the occasional smells that seemed to be coming from the air ducts. On several occasions we could smell "electrical burn" and other times something that bordered on raw sewage. I have no idea what it was. This would come and go.

I was impressed with their consideration for the environment, and the careful use of electricity and keeping laundry to a minimum. Overall, this was a very mixed bag.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank technovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Sir,
We really appreciate your first clarification. Perceptions are often different depending on the destination of tourists. However, we will consider all your feedback to improve our services. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    328
    83
    18
    12
See reviews for
276
426
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on its high ranking on trip advisor and the lack of "brand name" hotels in the area. I did not see any American reviewers which worried me from the beginning. I have to say....the hotel is clean... It actually smells like lemon pine sol so strong it's a little overbearing. We paid over $500 a night very last minute. For that I would expect a washcloth, iron and bottle/wine opener in the room. We ordered 4 beers from room service and they arrived without an opener. We asked th to bring...they never did. The next day, I wanted a wine opener to bring a bottle of wine to the beach...they wanted $20 to open the bottle....really??? For a boutique hotel for this price I was disappointed. Very small room with very few amenities. The location is odd. I was suprised to aee very few hotels are on the beach. This is about a 1/2 mile away. Not a taxi town...you need a car. No views. Tonight we move to a suite in the Conrad. I hope that's more in line of what we like. We just left the W in santiago which was awesome. It looks like they are building a Hyatt and trump tower here....I'm not surprised. Great place!! Malibu meets Miami!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank java23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada,
Gracias por dejarnos su crítica. Si bien son opiniones de punta del este en general, lo que respecta a nosotros es valioso para mejorar. En primer lugar, debería aclarar que somos un hotel de 4 estrellas no 5, aunque intentemos llegar a ello a través de nuestra calidad de servicios. Respecto a las habitaciones, tienen una media de 32m2 y la suite 46m2, una medida amplia pero entiendo que no todos lo lleguen a considerar amplio y menos a comparación de hoteles de cinco estrellas del primer mundo. Es una tristeza que nuestro bello balneario no haya colmado sus expectativas, espero que algun día lo pueda conocer mejor y estoy segura que se irá con una sonrisa en su rostro. Sin más, espero que haya tenido un sereno regreso a EEUU. Saludos de todo el equipo de Sisai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

very nice hotel located 4 blocks from the beach. Close to shopping mall. Great location if you have a car. the staff was very helpful. the rooms were bright and clean. great breakfast. nice pool and spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank co18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sisai Hotel Boutique for your stay in Punta del Este.
Its was a pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location and great service. We didn't have a flight home as we live in Uruguay and the staff allowed us to checkout at 5pm!

Room was a nice size and very clean, probably not quite worth what we paid but I'm sure you can get better deals if you book early!

Breakfast had a good selection of breaks, pastries, fruit and cereals!

Restaurant was quite expensive but the food was of top quality!

Room Tip: If possible go for a room facing the back of the hotel. Neither view is fantastic but it's bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Google Translation
Tom,
Gracias por tomarte tu tiempo de opinar sobre nuestras instalaciones. Tal como aclaras, si reservas con antelación de seguro conseguirás mejor precio. Espero que ya guardes nuestro contacto para que no vuelva a suceder. Los demás halagos engrandecen nuestro autestima, muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel muito bom, serviço de primeira qualidade, boa localização perto do shopping. Os quartos e o resto do hotel são novos e modernos e bem cuidados. O elevador estava com pequenos problemas mas me disseram que a manutenção ja tinha sido chamada. Unico ponto fraco de verdade é que falta um boxe na banheira, apos o banho o chão do banheiro fica muito molhado. Ja estou na lista de espera por um quarto no reveillon, quero voltar a me hospedar neste hotel.

Very nice Hotel, welcoming staff, good location near the mall. The rooms and the rest of the hotel are new and modern and also well maintained. The elevator had small problems but I was told that maintenance had already been called. The only real weak point is that the bathroom floor gets soaked after a shower. I'm already on the waiting list for a room in the New Year, really wants to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CauanZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Google Translation
Muito obrigada pelo facto de ter eleito o Sisai Hotel Boutique para a sua recente estadia em Punta del Este, bem como pelo facto de ter partilhado a sua experiência.
Alegra-me dar-lhe a notícia de que pusemos boxes na bañera.
Esperamos poder recebe-lo em breve novamente no Sisai Hotel Boutique.

Melhores cumprimentos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

good location, about 800 mts from Cassino Conrad, 02 blocks from shoping, at the Design District large rooms,(the premium has 32 square meters, and suite 46 sq mts ) super clean and nice; a gastro restaurant, a nice spa, etc...everything super new, clean and soft colors!!
I do recomend it !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandramarcarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sisai Hotel Boutique for your stay in Punta del Este. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
Its was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
2.1 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
#5 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisai Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisai Hotel Boutique

Property: Sisai Hotel Boutique
Address: Av. Pedragosa Sierra y Av. Roosevelt, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sisai Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SISAI Boutique Hotel is located on Pedragosa Sierra Avenue, just steps away from Roosevelt Avenue and in the heart of Punta del Este's Design District, an area with design boutiques, decoration shops and restaurants known for their author's cuisine.This spot connects you to everything Punta del Este has to offer: the rough sea of the Brava beach (0.7 Km), the calm waters of the Mansa beach (1.1 Km), and the many downtown attractions like Gorlero Avenue (1.9 Km ), including the Conrad Casino (1km) and Punta Shopping Mall (0.2 Km).Spacious lobby - Library and reading lounge - Business Center - Wi-Fi Internet access - Brio Wellness Area: outdoor pool and solarium, indoor pool with hydromassage, Scotch hose, relaxation area, massage room and gym - Indoor parking with valet service - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sisai Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing