We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where we went swimming...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Mansa

Playa Mansa
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Full-Day City Tour of Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
488 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Where we went swimming...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went swimming on this side as the wind and wave were a lot calmer than Playa Brava. Managed to bake my camera in the hot sun... water was a little muddy but over all not bad for Uruguay. Busy day at the beach with lots to see and great cafes and restaurants up and down the beach. Main drag in town also had a lot of cheaper options for food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    1,113
    268
    41
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice beach but the water is awful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I came to Punta del este full of expectations. What a disappointment when I saw the sea... The color is brown between a Lagoa and a swamp.
But if I had to chose a beach I would surely choose this one. On a different side, I found really awful the bikini beach in Barra. rubbish every where (posting some pics to give the idea about the Woodstock nightmare I was involved in), people allowed to come and camp with their own umbrellas and food: all ends in an open air rubbish with Loud music ( loud but at least good).
The prices are really expensive: 55 dollars for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella.
And dirty and screaming neighborhood ... Plus Wifi doesn't work. Very bad place. If I had known how bad it was I would have chosen another place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Massimiliano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Go for a walk and eat at the many restaurants available. Go to the beach and swim in very mild waters

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

calm waters, not too windy. long and with several interest points near different restaurants. Don't bother to go before noon, because days starts late in Punta...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarlosNobre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
971 reviews
483 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Good for families with young kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the right place for kids because sea is calm mostly, wind doesnt bother and sand is thin and white. Good place to play making sand castles!
I prefer big waves so thats why I dont like so much this beach.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank soniawasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Mansa also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Playa Mansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing