We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El secreto

El secreto
Ranked #28 of 239 Restaurants in Punta del Este
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A classic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have been enjoying El Secreto for many years. The location is excellent , the view is spectacular and the service is always friendly and profesional. The outdoor dining área is perfect for a summer day and it is one of the few restaurants in Punta that serves excellent vegetables. I recommend the Corvina with grilled vegetables and a mustard sauce, you can't go wrong. Great value too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank santiagolasgrutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    413
    192
    63
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Off-Season Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Although many hotels and restaurants are closed, I can still enjoy travelling along the eastern coast of Uruguay in the off-season because of El Secreto and the many days glorious days of fall. When I remember the crowds and traffic of Punta del Este during the summer, it's great to pull into one of El Secreto's middle of the street parking places, walk just a few steps to the entrance, be greeted by the host, and guided to a table by a window with a sea view. The restaurant is not deserted. There are just enough people enjoying lunch to make me feel cozy. We want something light today, so we choose from the sandwich section of the menu: toasted ciabatta with grilled vegetables and fresh mozzarella for me. And a plate of grilled vegetables for my husband. We split a side dish of rice pilaf. We are not vegetarians, but we are trying to cut back on meat. It's getting easier to find meatless options throughout the country. A friend from the US is visiting us. One of the reasons he came is for a chivito (the loaded steak sandwich found throughout the country), and he finds a great one here, served with fries. We're tempted to linger after lunch, but we hear a new arrival in the restaurant say that the sea lions are playing in the water at the marina just down the street. We don't have to jostle for a place to watch them. I love the off-season. Thanks El Secreto for staying open all year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
339 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Nice seafront restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Punta for the third time, we have eaten here once a year for three years and the food is great, the setting lovely and the service outstanding. They try very hard to make us English speaking guests welcome. This year we had a great mixed seafood on a red hot skillet and pasta with salmon that was as good as any pasta in Los Angeles.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, amazing views, excellent food, impeccable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

No other place in Punta del Este can beat this restaurant
The food is excellent no wonder what you choose, we were a party of 10 and had pasta, meat and fish.....everything was tops!!!! And the prices are increadibly reasonable for a place as pricy as Punta del Este. Service is flawless and attentive. Try it! You will definitely thank me later

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danielv1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great drinks, dining on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went here for drinks and for dinner during our stay. We sat on the deck overlooking the water each time, which is actually across the street from the restaurant, but a beautiful place to sit during sunset. Service was very friendly, food was good, and prices reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JRam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El secreto also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to El secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing