We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

The Wine Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.99*
and up
Small Group Tour: Sunset Wine Tour from Punta del Este
More Info
$249.99*
and up
Small Group Tour: Gourmet Wine Experience from Punta del Este with 3-Course...
More Info
$169.99*
and up
Jose Ignacio Sunset Wine Experience from Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wine Experience will be offering Wine Tours in Punta del Este & Jose Ignacio that includes: All Transfers, Private Expert Guide & Sommelier, Gourmet Lunches, Romantic Sunset Dinners, Visit to 2 Wineries with and without lunch, Horse Riding, Sunset Tastings at Playa Vik guided by your very own sommelier and tasting wines from his private collection, opportunity to meet the Owner & Winemakers face to face. Even if you don't like wine, you will see breathtaking scenery, unrivalled beaches and the very best of Punta del Este in 1 day. You will be guided by a "wine expert", who will welcome you like an "old friend". Please click on the website for further details, or contact Ryan via the email form. We know you work hard - some come and join us - you deserve it!
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Took this tour last month and have to say it was superb. Ryan is a brilliant guide and the value is amazing! The Hotel Vik is beautiful, the food and wine. In between we were able to see the sights with Ryan's enthusiastic commentary. Overall this is one of the best day trips I can remember taking anywhere and like everyone else on here would recommend it to anyone. Cheers Ryan, it was a great and memorable day!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine7Guy7, Owner at The Wine Experience, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear P

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Adventure together. It was so much fun catching up with my mate from Down Under. Ozzies in general are very warm and fun to be around. I trust you are settled in London. Send abrazos to your future wife, and next time you are in Brazil please make a special trip to Uruguay.

Gracias totales !!!

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personal, insightful and most importantgly: fun!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The late afternoon and sunset in the Ballena winery was the high point. The boutique winery is located at prime real estate with a breathtaking view. The wines were very good and we got to know learn a little about the whole process - from grape to bottle and, of course, a lot of tasting.
Estancia Vik is also a wonderful place for dinner, a very exclusive property with excellent food and wonderful wines. Overall a great day in Punta, I higly recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine7Guy7, Owner at The Wine Experience, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Adventure together. It was an Unforgettable Experience that I would love to repeat in the near future. Please send abrazos to everyone.

Gracias totales !!!

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked the Sunset Experience which consisted of a tour of the Alto de la Ballena winery and a tasting and a sunset dinner at Hotel Vik in Jose Ignacio. Initially, I was a bit reluctant as the tour seemed expensive, but the overwhelmingly positive reviews on this site convinced me to try it. It was wonderful!

Ryan picked us up at our hotel and we headed to Alto de la Ballena, where we met Paula, one of the owners. She was lovely, and we tasted several of her wonderful wines, and ended up buying 3 bottles! We walked around the vineyard, and saw Syrah grapes that were almost ready for harvesting. The winery sits atop a hill and has a gorgeous view of the countryside.

We then left the winery, headed for Hotel Vik. When we arrived, we were greeted with cocktails. A table had been set for us by the pool. We enjoyed a wonderful 5-course tasting menu paired with other incredible Uruguayan wines. The setting for the dinner is incredible. You feel that you are having a private dinner.

Ryan was an excellent, knowledgeable guide and we thoroughly enjoyed spending the evening with him.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemini2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine7Guy7, Owner at The Wine Experience, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Adventure together. It was an Unforgettable Experience that I would love to repeat in the near future. Please keep in touch.

Gracias totales !!!

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a fabulous day”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We booked a wine tour in the area of Punta Del Este Uruguay, we contacted the wine_experience based on a review from Trip Advisor Forum. So glad we did. Ryan Hamilton our guide is great. He picked us up at our rental property and took us to Bodega Ballena where we spent several hours with one of the owners and winemakers, a real delight. We then drove to Hotel Vik for a tasting lunch that was right off the pages of Gourmet or Travel and Leisure. Our group thought it was one of the best days of our vacation. Ryan know the wine and the area and is a great people person.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RNTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine7Guy7, Owner at The Wine Experience, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear C

This was such a fun day enjoyed by everyone. It was lovely getting to know the group, and thank you for sharing your thoughts, so other travelers have an idea of what to expect from an Adventure with The Wine Experience. Please keep in touch :)

Gracias totales !

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome way to spend a day/ night in Punta del Este”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Ryan was great- we booked at the last minute and he was very accommodating. We did the sunset wine experience and could not have been happier. The wines were great, we were able to spend time with the owner and winemaker for a private tour and wine tasting. The dinner at Playa Vik was worth the price of the tour alone, it was amazing. I would definitely recommend this tour or others with Ryan. You will not be disappointed!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank battles2a5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine7Guy7, Owner at The Wine Experience, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear R&S

Thank you for a wonderful day. It was very memorable, and I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our Adventure together. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Gracias totales !

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Experience also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to The Wine Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing