We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic mixture”
Review of Ralli Museum

Ralli Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Ralli Museums is focused on drawing attention to the works of living Latin-American Artists. Additionally, it exhibits works by European 15th through 18th. Century artists, post-impressionism collections as well as paintings and sculptures representing other artistic trends. As a non-profit, private institution we do not accept donations or subsidies fromo either public or private sources. Nor do we engage in any kind of commercial activity; consequently, no dining facilities or museums shops are available in our premises. We hope you will enjoy this proposal as muchs as we have enjoyed preparing it for you.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Eclectic mixture”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This museum contains a large collection of mostly Latin American art - paintings and sculptures - that ranges from sort of kitschy representational sculptures to abstract expressionist paintings and includes a Botero and several Dali sculptures echoing some of his most famous paintings. Among the paintings a certain emphasis seems to be placed on surrealism but otherwise there isn't much of a theme. Because the museum prides itself on being non-commercial there is no gift shop so you can't even buy a catalogue or postcard - certainly non-commercial but also a little bit silly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hamburgguy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    182
    46
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Interesting, self guided, low key”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Lots of modern art that was arranged so it was very personal...you could walk as close as you wanted to. You could interact with the statues in the garden. Very impressive...I want to see the rest of the Ralli museums now.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We really enjoyed this museum. An excellent collection of Latin American art beautifully displayed. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank grouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“When you need an activity indoors”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place is a trip. The artwork is billed as surrealist, and includes a number of works by Salvador Dali, but the collection is mostly notable for being big and (visually) loud. The sculpture courtyard features too many bronzes for the space, and the paintings in the galleries lack any sort of subtlety. But the free museum ostensibly features Latin American artworks that "grabbed" the owners, and you can see how they did that. I did get a kick out of a series by a Brazilian artist who peopled paintings of circus folk with characters resembling Frida Kahlo self-portraits, but that was the cleverest thing I saw.

If you have an hour or so to kill and are rained in or burned out on the natural beauty of this part of Uruguay, this might be a good spot to see something completely different.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful Collection of Sculpture and Paintings”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I had the opportunity to visit the Ralli Museum on a rainy afternoon in January 2014. It was a great way to spend an hour-or-so enjoying paintings and sculpture primarily by Latin American artists, although some European artists are also represented. The facility is situated in a park-like setting in the Beverly Hills neighborhood of Punta del Este. Although it isn't large, it appears quite spacious with high ceilings and open courtyards for the display of sculptures. Entrance is free and unless one is really "into" a particular artist, a visit need not be longer than an hour or so. I would recommend the Ralli Museum to those with an interest in contemporary art - others might not be pleased.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank twowanderers20169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralli Museum also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Ralli Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing