We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tonel

El Tonel
Ranked #31 of 240 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Price range: $12 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were in Punta del Este for a week in early February. We happened upon El Tonel when out for a walk! We had the best food for the most reasonable cost of all the places in which we dined that week. Fish and beef were carefully prepared and delicious. The staff was more than helpful with my wife's celiac condition. We would have returned except for the fact that we had to go to Montevideo the next day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waldorf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    301
    132
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value - for this town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

So far we've eaten at El Tonel twice and both times we found the service and food very good. Punta del Este is a tourist town and at this time of the year things are just gearing up - restaurants, shops, etc. so there isn't so much choice. We've eaten at other places and found the food and dining experience to be of a lesser quality, at a similar price. El Tonel's portions are very generous. The quality and taste of the dishes are also very good.

We enjoyed the mixed skewer (chicken and beef), tortilla de papas, and grilled fish. If you're Punta del Este, we recommend that you give it a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
554 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“excellent food and very good service and reasonable prices for Punta del Este...!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

It has been a long time since I last visited El Tonel, and it has kept the standards and quality, not a fancy restaurante but very good food and reasonable prices for an expensive destination. I had some fish and it was excellent, we can only say good things about the restaurante, one of the best in Punta del Este, for a good and not overprized meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good meal reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

El tonel became a classic for Punta since the late 90's, great menu with uruguyan meat "parrilla" (pechito de cerdo, my favorite , sea food, pasta , vegan options ( zucca El Tonel, another favorite) and all the uruguayan classics.
Very accurate service, prices have been increased but the relation quality = price its stills good

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank milu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MASSIVE SERVING :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

we ordered salmon and we are two guys with big apetites. we questioned if it would be enough, but when the food came out, we thought GEEEZERS. the portion of salmon was MASSIVE! so massive that with the vegies, we could not finish it.. the owner (i assume) went out of his way to make us happy and the other staff were just as good. a definite thumbs up if like HUGE portions of salmon with good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny_dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tonel also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to El Tonel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing