We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva la paella!!”
Review of La Fondita de Mar

La Fondita de Mar
Ranked #103 of 299 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Price range: $15 - $45
Description: We are a seafood restaurant with take away service. We offer Paellas Catering for events. We invite you to visit our seafood store.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a seafood restaurant with take away service. We offer Paellas Catering for events. We invite you to visit our seafood store.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

Very nice paella experience!! Best paella in a long time.

Cozy place, very fresh sea food. Good prices.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Sandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

After a week in Punta Del Este and going to the top pics of TripAdvisor and ,in some cases ,wondering how they got there we stumbled upon La Fondita de Mar. They specialise in fresh just off the boat seafood. We started with sharing a huge plate of perfectly cooked melt-in-your- mouth squid and sautéed onions. After that we wallowed in a delicious piping hot plate of steaming Paella washed down with a scrumptious Melbec. This is the quintessential “greasy spoon” mama’s cooked for you experience that you came to Uruguay for. Treat yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 465grantb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Great surprise! The restaurant is at the peninsula,, few blocks from the port.
Gonçalo, the chef came to introduce himself and he was very kind and friendly.

The squid was absolutely delicious!
After thar, the paella and the fish of the day completed a great meal!
Very nice atmosphere!
Don’t miss it!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Klaus I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Fresh fish, tasty on Sicilian lemon, cozy place, reasonable priced. I recommend to fresh fish lovers cooked w/o moisture. Just the real taste.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank MauroJ94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

Our favourite meal of the holiday - the most incredble seafood paella, cooked in front of you. Really friendly staff made us very welcome. We were asked if we wanted anymore. The beer was also good. Sadly we were the only ones in there on a Wednesday night. GO THERE!!!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank deanothebaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fondita de Mar also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to La Fondita de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing