We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, you can't ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
Ranked #10 of 37 Punta del Este B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place, you can't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in La Lomita for 4 days. It was the end of our honeymoon, and we couldn't ask for better place to finish our trip.Rodrigo and Alejandra were awesome! They are so fun, and really make you feel like you are staying in the house of old friends. They have funny kid and a cuuuute dog :)
Every night Rodrigo was making wonderful barbeque, putting all guests around the table. The breakfest was really nice, fresh fruits and muffins, serials, juice, coffee - really good way to start a day and is way better than typical Argentina hostel breakfasts.
They also rent bycicles and provided us with a lot of directions, tips and other useful information. They have a great kitchen with everything you need. It's really important since the prices in Punta del este are crazy.
We stayed in an upper room in the main building. The room was very romatnic, big and clean, with a balcony, the best room we have stayed in South America. The atmosphere is very relaxing and you want to stay there forever.
The hostel is about half an hour walking to the center of the city, which is not so close. But it's about 5 minutes walking to the big shopping center, and is really close to many beaches, you can also walk but better to ride to Bikini beach, which is beautiful.
This hostel is definitely decent value for Punta del Este and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you travelling as a couple we would recommend to stay in the upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
43
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Rodrigo and his family are such wonderful folks. When you make a booking here, you're really being invited into their home. You'll get to meet their wonderful friends (Silvia), dog (so well behaved), and young son. There are rooms out back for couples, and a dorm as well with some of the sturdiest bunks that I've seen in all my travels. This is such a hidden gem, and is a close walk to town. Rodrigo rents bicycles as well, and gives great directions for laundry, food, and partying. They didn't mind at all when I went out to visit friends and came home late at night... leaving the back door unlocked and saving breakfast for me until I woke up in the morning. Breakfast was very filling - cereal, muffins, coffee, and cheese sandwiches (made without meat for me). Rodrigo lives for surfing and his family has traveled everywhere including Thailand and up to Peru by road. Just thinking about my time here gives me a warm feeling inside! Honestly, I after a year on the road, this was really a godsend. Dinner is shared family style and there are great conversations to be had every night! I loved my time here and will definitely return!

Don't make the mistake of staying anywhere else. Really, folks will tell you to skip PdE but La Lomita makes it worth the stay! Rodrigo, if you're reading this then don't change a thing!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great place to stay in Punta del Este. Very helpful and friendly people who couldn't do enough for us during our stay.

Nice bikes to rent and a beautful barbecue one night made this a perfect stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at La Lomita for 2 nights and were welcomed like part of the family. La Lomita is a small hostel / homestay located in a nice suburb of Punta del Este. Rodrigo and his wife were very very helpful and their B&B was spotless. Breakfast was delicious and the whole atmosphere was so relaxed. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who is going to Punta del Este.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms. We stayed in a triple room for one night and in a 6 bed dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a nice little hostel in Punta del Este, run by Rodrigo and Alejandra, who are very knowledgeable and helpful. Rodrigo cooked us all a great barbecue one night and helped us find our way to beaches and found things for us to do when the weather was rainy! The breakfast is fairly average but they do make you cheese toasties, which is a bonus. The hostel is perfectly clean, fairly easy to reach and decent value for Punta del Este. My only gripes were that you have to pay in cash, and this isn't made clear when you book, though Rodrigo personally drove us to cash machines to take out the money. And also the twin/triple room out the back is a bit dingy - perfectly clean but small and pokey. Also, the free wifi doesn't stretch to those outdoor rooms.The main hostel is fun though and I would definitely recommend it. It's not cheap, but nothing in Punta del Este is cheap, sadly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhpricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We enjoyed our time here. We stayed in a double with private bath in a cabana out in the backyard, which I would recommend instead of being inside the house. The beach is a nice walk away, and the grocery store as well as other shopping is also accessible. The owners are really friendly, and there are plenty of places to lounge and read. The breakfast is way better than typical Uruguay and Argentina hostel breakfasts, and the owners even had a free barbecue for us and another guest one night where we ate like kings. They also have a really cute dog! The only kind of downside is they are constructing a new condo next door, and in the off-season they started extra early. But we didn't care since we were going to sleep on the beach most of the day. Overall, a lovely retreat in Uruguay.

Room Tip: Ask for a double out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had a great experience at La Lomito del Chingolo! Rodrigo and Alejandra are a warm couple who run this guesthouse.

We arrived very late at night on the Buquebus and Rodrigo met us outside and carried in our bags. He loaned us his bikes for no fee to go to get some dinner nearby and rented us the bikes the next day for a very reasonable fee of $10. The location was great and we easily saw all of Punta Del Este on our bikes. We were also close enough to the beach (Atlantic side) to stroll down there without a bike.

The guest house was very inviting and the host and hostess saw to all of our needs. Alejandra served breakfast without time boundaries every morning and it was fresh and abundant. Our second day the weather turned windy and cold so we lounged on the porch and in the living room during the day, and we were quite comfy and cozy!

A chocolate lab named Hush wanders about the lower level and patio, welcoming attention from hosts and guests alike. Even if you don't like dogs, you'll like Hush.

The first night we were alone in the house, but the place filled up quickly and we had a huge Parilla for the 15 people in the back garden. It was quite a treat and something they do often.

We stayed in the room upstairs. It was a simple, large bedroom with a simple queen bed and ensuite bathroom, and it was quiet and private with a lovely balcony with views of the rest of the property.

Great value for the price for a warm, friendly home!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
2.8 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Capilla
La Capilla
#22 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 64 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel & Suites
2.1 mi away
TAS D VIAJE Hostel - Surfcamp - Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lomita del Chingolo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lomita del Chingolo B&B

Property: La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
Address: Las acacias s/n, Punta del Este 1425, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have 6 private bedrooms with private bathroomkitchen facilities, free wi fi an computer,great breakfastbbq area, lots of space for chill out, cable tv,surfboards,etc,we are just 8 bloks from one of the best beaches, san rafael 12 beach,only 25 minutes away walking from punta city,and just 6 blocks from punta shopping, and 14 from conrad casino,sourranded by mansions, best restourants,gardens and birdsenjoy, relax,have fun and make friends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Lomita del Chingolo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lomita Del Chingolo Bed And Breakfast
La Lomita Del Chingolo Hotel Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing