We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteless & big ticket”
Review of Cactus y Pescados

Cactus y Pescados
Ranked #52 of 246 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasteless & big ticket”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This restaurant was a huge disappointment, location its very nice , the menu its interesting with high prices p/ dish and also beverages as many others located in Manantiales
. The ambience is ok, nothing special except for some tables with great view of the sea, but the are some low points: napkins, where very similar to paper towel that resembles a W.C , not appropriate for that kind of restaurant, plus huge flys near windows and table.
As many other reviews mention, they charged 5 U$ per person for a small basket of bread and a milky sauce, while in other restaurants you get a more elaborate basket.
The dishes were ok, fresh ingredients but tasteless , the Tiradito criollo with red tuna was covered with corn , nothing to remember, the salmon ravioli were insipid , the sea food pot was ok but at that point we weren’t interest in trying anything else. Service is acceptable.

A forgetful experience if it wasn’t for the100 bucks it cost, too expensive for a poor experience

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    137
    54
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The food was not what is expected for the price. You can see the sauce is not freshly made. But oh well, as often in south america its more about the high class people that turn up rather than the food quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have never written a bad review but I feel compelled to do so at this restaurant. This was my worst eating experience in Punta Del Este. I realize it's not a cheap place, but about $23 for a salad that consisted solely of lettuce, 6 or so slices of avocado and dressing?

I somewhat enjoyed my seafood salad, but in both this salad and another shrimp dish (in a spicy soup) - the shrimp not properly cleaned was very offputting - yes those thick black lines in every single shrimp was the "waste matter" - ie the contents of their intenstine. Not offputting enough for me to finish my lunch however, given the expense.

I was unaware of the custom of a cover charge at restaurants - particularly at lunch (100 peso per person in this case), but that maybe a cultural thing I'm unaware of. After I paid with a credit card the waiter "helpfully" pointed out that I needed to write in the tip before he ran the bill. To be fair, that's something I was not aware of, but with a sub-par meal overall and ridiculous expense relative to the quality, and volume of food (esp. once the cover was factored in) I was unhappy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, next to a beautiful beach”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Try their lunch specials. Not cheap, but food is great, and the view... paradisiac. The seafood risotto was outstabding. My only complaint is tbat i did not like the house white wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sergiofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Magdalena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy beach restaurant”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stumbled upon this place that sits perched above bikini beach in La Barra and grabbed a table with a view of the ocean. Seated partially indoor/outdoor with wind guards, we enjoyed a delicious lunch that was prepared by an excellent chef. We focused on a couple of salmon dishes...the ravioli was fresh, with a wine cream sauce that was divine. We also had a filet of salmon which was cooked to perfection, accompanied by a fresh salad of mixed greens with a light balsamic dressing, and potatos with rosemary. Even the bread basket was great offering white and black breads, and large round crackers that tasted like pie crust served with a special herbed butter. The service was awesome too...there when you wanted them to be and invisible when you want privacy. A bit on the spendy side but worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus y Pescados also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Maldonado, Maldonado Department
 
Manantiales, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
La Barra, Maldonado
 

Been to Cactus y Pescados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing