We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more than the famous waffles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Auberge

L'Auberge
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $90
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: From our exclusive continental breakfast, at L'Auberge you enjoy our wish to offer a more refined service. For lunch, at the barbecue or inside the hotel, you can try the famous uruguayan meats, fresh fish and a variety of delicious home made pasta, or carefully prepared fresh salads. We invite you to enjoy dinner in the quiet of the night, while our chefs prepare your main dishes and desserts and you find the perfect excuse to open a bottle of an exquisite wine.
São José dos Campos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Much more than the famous waffles!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The famous brunch with waffles, great coffee (or chocolate) and dulce de leche certainly worse the visit and so many positive reactions. But I must say that the dinner itself is a much better experience!
Try the soup of the day (mine was a superb carrots soup) and if you enjoy some meat forget everything else and go for the medalions with spice and potatoes (with a great wine and blueberry sauce).
The place atmosphere, the lovely staff and great food worth the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    151
    36
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is just what you want for a short get away with your spouse. Elegant, cosy, comfortable, excellent service, in the woods of La Brava in Punta del Este's classic "golf quarter". Fine breakfast and in the afternoon famous Belgian goffres. Worth its cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Omar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was looking for”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Charm
That's the definition for it
The atmosphere is perfect
We can tell the same about the lunch we had and also the waffles
Thanks!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Henrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“"Excellent" says it all!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights in Mid-April, 2013. We were not excited about eating at the hotel as it appeared the prices were a bit steep. However, we decided on lunch our first day, and it was excellent!

Dinner that evening followed, and it was also great! Breakfasts were included with our room, and they were simple yet good. The service was outstanding!

We ate two more lunches at the restaurant, and both were great.

On the price thing, while it appears to be expensive, EVERYTHING in Punta del Este is expensive. The prices for lunch and dinner appear to be in line with other restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank 82-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice but too expensive”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel/restaurant is located in a very beautiful and sophisticated area of Punta, surrounded by amazing houses and villas. If you get there, you should ask for the waffle, expectable.One is enough for a couple, and it comes with one sauce. We asked for a waffle with chocolate sauce and ordered an extra strawberry sauce. I had a mineral water and my girlfriend had a cup of tea. We payed around U$ 50!!!! A place to attend just once!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NandoVellutini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing