We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Oryx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oryx Hotel
Ranked #78 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My partner's company booked this hotel for one of his business trips that I tagged along on, needless to say I was less than impressed beforehand as I wanted to stay at one of the flashier, branded hotels and lets face it, Abu Dhabi has plenty of them.
Anyway, it wasn't to be, we were booked into the Oryx and so be it.
I was amazed by the hotel on arrival, firstly we were booked into their Executive Rooms which was basically a suite as large as any one-bedroom apartment. We had a spacious, fully equipped kitchen, guest bathroom, large living-dining room fully furnished with a full size table and chairs, this led down a corridor to a large bathroom with bath and seperate shower area and a good size bedroom. The bed was really comfortable and as we had so much space you just couldn't complain. The entire suite was spotlessly clean also.
I would possibly have to agree that the bars/restaurants and lobby area are definitely not swish but the location in AD is great, you are just off the Corniche so its not as though you are in the middle of nowhere with no other bars or restaurants around you.
I would agree with another reviewer that the construction noise is constant however two nights I was so tired I didn't notice and another night I just couldn't sleep but it wasn't due to the noise. All in all, I thought this was a gem of a hotel and enjoyed my stay there, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9oakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 116 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2010

Book here only if your stay in Abu Dhabi will be shorter than a week!
The hotel is not a 5 stars hotel. It doesn't offer anything to its guests except a doggy restaurant and an awful bar at the roof level. The swimming pool is tiny, definitely much smaller than the one I have at home. The quality of breakfast is very low, moreover they ask you extramoney for an espresso... It was also impossible to sleep at night because the hotel was surrounded by buildings under construction where workers were working 24 hours a day!
Last but not least the taxi service: there are no taxis out of the hotel and the hotel offers only 2 limousine to the guests. Have you ever tried to look for a taxi in the middle of the main road with 45 degrees celsius?!?

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Emil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Rooms are big and nice, but the common zones and structures are almost disappointing.
Roof swimming pool is little but nice (just 6-7 long chairs and 7-8 chairs).
There's a last floor Bar, but, despite of the city- view, it's not by far like other leading hotels in town: you won't go there, surely.
Bathroom is almost big, but details are poor (it's impossible to have a shower without flooding the floor)
The biggest disappointment is the breakfast.
Service is not that bad, even if sometime the room make-up is 'on demand'
Currently there are 9 building under construction/demolition: the constant noise it's like the cave of Mordor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zio_Aldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Good hotel located not far from the Corniche in Abu Dhabi. The hotel is flanked on 2 sides by building sites but you must realise that Abu Dhabi must be constructing 50+ sky scrapers across the city at the moment so this is always going to be a risk (what worldwide financial crisis!?).

Very friendly staff, just don't forget your earplugs - building sites in Abu Dhabi operate up to 24 hours a day!

The bathroom in my room could have done with having a mould blitz around the shower and the air con wasn't particularly powerful (then again it was 45C outside and the height of summer).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Please take my advice and give this one a miss. There is construction going on all around this hotel 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. You will not sleep, pneumatic drills all night long.
The manger also plays a game trying to get the best prices for the rooms, it doesn't seem to matter if you book, he will say that he can't find the booking and only has more expensive rooms available. There are many other hotels in the same area, which are mich nicer. I would recommend the Hilton and Le Meridian, which you can get for the same mony and are much, much better!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotel_Inspector15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludovica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank benny555122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#87 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
384 reviews
3 mi away
One to One Hotel - The Village
1.8 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#11 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott World Trade Center, Abu Dhabi
4.4 mi away
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Al Diar Capital Hotel
#82 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
127 reviews
2 mi away
Centro Al Manhal Abu Dhabi by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Address: Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $71 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oryx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oryx Hotel is located in the up-market district of Abu Dhabi. The hotel is in close proximity to the city's key business and leisure attractions as well as Corniche (the local beach) where you can immerse yourself in the tranquility of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea. Each room is fully equipped with all modern-day amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and is ideal for holiday-makers and executive travelers alike. There are plenty of ways to relax and stay in shape at the Oryx Hotel. The Curve, the hotel's Health Club comprises of a contemporary gymnasium, roof-top swimming pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi. In terms of cuisine and entertainment, there are plenty of options to choose from such as the Horizon Restaurant which offers an a-la-carte and buffet menu and stunning panoramic view; the Blue Line restaurant where you can indulge in classy cocktails and live music; and Horizon Terrace, ideal for laid-back chit-chat with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing