We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UK 3*, Friendly waiting staff but not great room standard”
Review of Oryx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oryx Hotel
Ranked #82 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“UK 3*, Friendly waiting staff but not great room standard”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel was not clean, bathroom very old and in need of repair.

Good side was the rooms were large, desk was useful and room service food was to a fair standard and the hotel waiters were always with a smile.

Internet was quite expensive and the location was not great for single travellers, there were lots of parties late at night- however it was Ramandan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahladyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlDiarOryxHotel, General Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Oryx Hotel, Abu Dhabi.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you found our hotel staff to be up to the mark. However it is regretful to note your displeasure with regards to the hotel’s upkeep.

Please accept our apologies for this. We assure you that we are looking into the points you raised and will address these issues in the best possible manner.

Once again thank you for your comments. It would be a pleasure to be able to offer you a better stay experience in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
21
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Molokai, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

And those issues were: No hot water for my morning shower, an office staff that couldn’t/wouldn’t print my boarding passes for my flights from a PDF file and supreme difficulty in sending a single-page fax to the U.S. The food was slightly less than average in the buffet and check-in was very friendly and very inefficient. An example with the food: The Arabic bread was kept from drying out with a more-than-damp cold wet rag. This place is in a good location and has nice sized rooms; its services need improvement.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlDiarOryxHotel, General Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Oryx Hotel, Abu Dhabi.
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Oryx Hotel during your recent visit to the city and for sharing your views about us here on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to know that you found the location and rooms to your satisfaction. However it is disappointing to note that you were let down on account of the service related issues you have pointed out.
Please accept our apologies, on behalf of the team, for the inconvenience caused. We are personally looking in to this matter and firmly assure you that corrective steps will be taken promptly to prevent such lapses in the future. In the meantime, it would be nice to discuss this with you in further detail, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.
Once again thank you for your feedback and for identifying areas of our service that need improvement. Please give us an opportunity to make amends for these shortcomings and to foster a long-standing relationship with you.

Warm Regards,
Oryx Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Kampala, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I stayed for three nights and found the hotel excellent value for money, plus a very convenient location. I was a bit worried having read some reviews prior to my booking, but found all the facilities, including bathroom and shower, in perfectly good order. Service was much better than in the Grand Millennium where I stayed shortly afterwards (because the Oryx was fully booked). Magnificent view from the rooftop bar and pool cafe!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jduester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Older Hotel in need of some TLC
In a nut shell…

Pros.
Breakfast was good.
Staff was polite.
Beds and linins where good.

Cons.
Bathroom tile is old and dirty, tub tile is moldy, shower leaks all over the floor.
Construction in the area will be going on for at least another year and possible more. Taxi’s can be hard to get, you have to walk up to the main road and take your chances.
Restaurants where very slow and the one time we did eat there the food was not very good. You can find a couple small restaurants a couple blocks away where the food is really good and ¼ the price.
Next trip I’ll look around for a nicer place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricochet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMORYX, Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear Ricochet1,

Greetings from Oryx Hotel, Abu Dhabi.

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Oryx Hotel for your recent stay in Abu Dhabi and really do appreciate your constructive comment posted on TripAdvisor.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the Pros and the Cons as well, apologizing for the inconvenience occurred during your dining experience and wish to have further info in case you wish to share.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback which for sure will help the team to improve, looking forward to having the chance to welcoming you once again on Oryx Hotel to show our eagerness to improve to meet your expectations and having you our loyal guest.

My email address is: edouard.reizian@adnh.com

Wishing you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My partner's company booked this hotel for one of his business trips that I tagged along on, needless to say I was less than impressed beforehand as I wanted to stay at one of the flashier, branded hotels and lets face it, Abu Dhabi has plenty of them.
Anyway, it wasn't to be, we were booked into the Oryx and so be it.
I was amazed by the hotel on arrival, firstly we were booked into their Executive Rooms which was basically a suite as large as any one-bedroom apartment. We had a spacious, fully equipped kitchen, guest bathroom, large living-dining room fully furnished with a full size table and chairs, this led down a corridor to a large bathroom with bath and seperate shower area and a good size bedroom. The bed was really comfortable and as we had so much space you just couldn't complain. The entire suite was spotlessly clean also.
I would possibly have to agree that the bars/restaurants and lobby area are definitely not swish but the location in AD is great, you are just off the Corniche so its not as though you are in the middle of nowhere with no other bars or restaurants around you.
I would agree with another reviewer that the construction noise is constant however two nights I was so tired I didn't notice and another night I just couldn't sleep but it wasn't due to the noise. All in all, I thought this was a gem of a hotel and enjoyed my stay there, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9oakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Book here only if your stay in Abu Dhabi will be shorter than a week!
The hotel is not a 5 stars hotel. It doesn't offer anything to its guests except a doggy restaurant and an awful bar at the roof level. The swimming pool is tiny, definitely much smaller than the one I have at home. The quality of breakfast is very low, moreover they ask you extramoney for an espresso... It was also impossible to sleep at night because the hotel was surrounded by buildings under construction where workers were working 24 hours a day!
Last but not least the taxi service: there are no taxis out of the hotel and the hotel offers only 2 limousine to the guests. Have you ever tried to look for a taxi in the middle of the main road with 45 degrees celsius?!?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Emil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Rooms are big and nice, but the common zones and structures are almost disappointing.
Roof swimming pool is little but nice (just 6-7 long chairs and 7-8 chairs).
There's a last floor Bar, but, despite of the city- view, it's not by far like other leading hotels in town: you won't go there, surely.
Bathroom is almost big, but details are poor (it's impossible to have a shower without flooding the floor)
The biggest disappointment is the breakfast.
Service is not that bad, even if sometime the room make-up is 'on demand'
Currently there are 9 building under construction/demolition: the constant noise it's like the cave of Mordor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zio_Aldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#84 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard World Trade Center, Abu Dhabi
7.1 mi away
Capital Centre Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Eclipse Boutique Suites
The Eclipse Boutique Suites
#76 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#10 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,534 reviews
1.7 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Property: Oryx Hotel
Address: Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oryx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oryx Hotel is located in the up-market district of Abu Dhabi. The hotel is in close proximity to the city's key business and leisure attractions as well as Corniche (the local beach) where you can immerse yourself in the tranquility of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea. Each room is fully equipped with all modern-day amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and is ideal for holiday-makers and executive travelers alike. There are plenty of ways to relax and stay in shape at the Oryx Hotel. The Curve, the hotel's Health Club comprises of a contemporary gymnasium, roof-top swimming pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi. In terms of cuisine and entertainment, there are plenty of options to choose from such as the Horizon Restaurant which offers an a-la-carte and buffet menu and stunning panoramic view; the Blue Line restaurant where you can indulge in classy cocktails and live music; and Horizon Terrace, ideal for laid-back chit-chat with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing