We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”
Review of Sofra BLD

Sofra BLD
Ranked #73 of 2,087 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

One of the best buffet restaurants I have ever experienced.
Been there several times and both the times were for dinner. Food is fresh and delicious and variety is great.
Service needs improvement.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheikhah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    76
    22
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not really impressed”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been there twice, once as a guest and once as invite from the restaurant itself.

to say the truth, theme and decor wise, it was nice, the place was cozy and comfortable, suitable lighting, nice furniture and an organised buffet.

there was one problem though, the service, in both times i was seated in the same place, a corner where no waiters actually pays attention to several times i had to wait for some time to get served, earlier, i have made some notes to the F&B AM (Fadi), generously, he invited me to a brunch in order to get red of my bad experience, but unfortunately, the service element (the remaining one) did not change.

food wise, good mix of food, you will enjoy it.

extended thanks to Fadi and Manish for there hospitality,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firasaco1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulevard, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The breakfast buffet is wonderful. Great food and attentive service. I loved eating here. There wasn't anything I ate that wasn't great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mustangangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had dinner here on the 25th of August excellent food and service. great variety, loved the live stations, sushi, live char coal grill the list goes on. worth a try

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chef didn't know the difference between Lamb and Chicken (Overcharged)”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went here after having some good reviews of the place from friends. But i really can not see why the place gets many good reviews.

The restaurant overall was ok, but having stayed at many of the 5 star hotels in Abu Dhabi this does not live up to the high standards set at others.

We went as a family of 6 (2 adults +4 Children). The selection of food was ok, but you had to guess what was in each dish as there were no labels/signs on anything. Even when you asked the chef/server what the food was he got it wrong. We ordered 3 of the different chicken dishes from the live station the dishes were all ok, but we got 2x chicken kabobs and a lamb kebab. Our order was to try one of each type they had offered. When we raised this it was argued that the lamb dish was actually a chicken dish.

At then end of the meal we ended up being overcharged for bottled water, when we questioned this were were made to look so small from the waitress staff that it was easier to pay up and get out. Even the supervisor manager didnt really care when complained about being overcharged.

For the money paid here it offers very poor value for money and the quality of the food does not match that offered by other hotel chains in Abu Dhabi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevieb14324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra BLD also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sofra BLD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing