We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite experience from start to finish”
Review of Bord Eau

Bord Eau
Ranked #140 of 2,061 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $250
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bord Eau is the ultimate restaurant for French fine dining in Abu Dhabi. In the setting of a chic dining room that boasts opulent fabrics and furniture, the chef de cuisine prepares seasonal fresh produce flown in from France and serves each dish as an artistic expression. Bord Eau offers a superb a la carte menu and for the ultimate Bord Eau experience, the blind tasting menu is a must. Quiet instrumentals and a warm ambiance complement the rich gastronomy to create an intimate dining experience. To maintain a peaceful environment, children under 12 years old are not permitted in the restaurant.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An exquisite experience from start to finish”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First impressions count! The vibrant Formula One themed display in the foyer, warm welcome and complementary champagne set the tone for a wonderful and memorable evening. We were immediately transfixed by the glorious view, from our balcony table, of the Sheikh Zayed grand mosque across the sea and lamplit boats bobbing on the waves.

Service was outstanding from the start, unobtrusively efficient, not rushed and refreshingly bereft of any "fussing" or sycophancy. We chose the special (Formula One themed!) tasting menu and allowed the sommelier to guide us with his wine pairings, something original and different with each of the six outstanding courses.

Chef Alexander Pernetta came to meet us personally and patiently explained how he has authentic French produce flown in daily including the renowned and delicious wafer thin Poelane bread with which one of our party was already familiar (to chef's delight)!. Every course was an absolute triumph and delight to both eye and palette. Our well-travelled guests delighted us when they exclaimed this to be the best meal they had ever enjoyed.

The Bord Eau is something special and unique. It is well worth saving up for the experience which will be something to remember for the rest of your life.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    28
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A special treat”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Where to start? Impossible to miss the Formula 1 related decorations in the hotel foyer. Also the links in the tasting menu to the forthcoming Grand Prix.
We had a table on the balcony with a stunning view across to the river and the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.
Everything was excellent from the welcome and the glass of champagne through to the coffee and Benedictine at the end. And then a brief chat with the chef, who was happy to pose for a photo with us.
Outstanding and thanks to my brother and sister in law for taking us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deekay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
249 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Supreme blown out!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is, with no doubt, the very best restaurant in Abu Dhabi by far: On top of the overall Shangri-La experience (premium service and ambiance), you can also expect the best of French cuisine and you won't be disapointed!
Our only big regret was to have waited three years before trying the "Bord Eau" ... what a waste of time...
Forget anything else in the Capital, just trust the Chef and, in doubt, pick the "blind set menu"; you will then be in a position to measure the true scale of his talent :-)
Top value for money in the category in our opinion

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMG780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding from start to finish”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited Bord Eau to celebrate my partner's birthday, revelling in the fact that to celebrate the hotel's own birthday month, the restaurants in the Shangri-La were offering a deal for those with their birthdays in October too. We were greeted warmly and shown to a window table overlooking the mosque.

We received a glass of champagne each to celebrate, and a delicious amuse-bouche of pumpkin soup, accompanied by fresh bread. The manager Seigfried made sure that we had everything we needed and both he and our hostess Theint were very knowledgable about the menu and recommended the specials for us, both of which my partner chose.

The king crab ravioli was a first for him as he doesn't usually eat seafood, but he pronounced it delicious, with a rich lobster sauce. I had the asparagus veloute which had a fresh flavour and was beautifully served in a glass bowl. We both had the organic Irish Angus beef, which came served with foie gras and was cooked perfectly for both our tastes. Seigfried recommended a wine to accompany our mains, which was a difficult task as I cannot drink red wine, but he managed to match a lovely Chablis with our meat.

We weren't going to have dessert until Thient recommended the creme brulee and the chocolate extravaganza, both of which were delicious. The chocolate dish didn't look much until the warm sauce was poured over it and it all melted into a sublime mess of chocolate and strawberry mousse. We needn't have ordered dessert though, as we were then presented with a birthday cake from the manager.

The decor and general ambience of the restaurant is perfect for a romantic meal, and the service is exemplary. This is first class dining in a lovely venue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pocketangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

nice setting, frendly staff, perfect service, elegant cheff greeting us at the table while presenting his dishes in artistic way as well as the complementary side dish in addition to offering us free delicious cake when they knew that it was our anniversary.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Basil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord Eau also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Bord Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing