We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Shashimi”

Wasabi Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #768 of 2,087 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Shashimi”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is by far the best shashimi that I had in UAE. Although a bit pricey, the freshness of the food is worth paying for. Reservation is require especially over weekend. If you are driving, finding a car park lot will be a bit troublesome though.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jtan1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Once was enough.”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Being big sushi and Japanese cuisine lover, I was pretty excited when I heard many high recommendations for Wasabi. So I went and I was trying hard to find out what people really enjoy about this place.

Pros:
- nice Japanese seating style and decorations
- friendly waitress

Cons:
- miso soup of almost watery consistency missing its flavor
- fish quality so so
- sushi rice was over-boiled
- in one of the salmon rolls I found a piece of bone (that never happened to me before in any sushi restaurant all over the world!!!)
- poor vegetarian choices and sadly limited desert option

I left with empty wallet for very average to poor quality of food which has very far to the real Japanese.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageEstAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The only Japanese restaurant in Abu Dhabi that you can see Japanese expats dining. Authentic and great service. The only problem here is the parking and the constructions here and there, but that wll not put us off from having dinner here. Its a must should you be craving for Japanese meal! :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Japanese Gem”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Okay, the hotel that Wasabi is in looks like it hasn't been renovated in 30 years, and I wonder who stays there, but this little restaurant is great. Traditional Japanese fare made by poeple who know what they're doing, great selection of sake, and the set lunches are a bargain. Extensive library of Manga comics too...some in English.

Helpful?
Thank Dorian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shabby but brilliant.”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The place feels a little worn around the edges but the design is authentic the service is good and the food is wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank skimanic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Wasabi Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing