We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”
Review of Beijing Restaurant

Beijing Restaurant
Ranked #334 of 2,087 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant is well known by many Abu Dhabi old timers such as myself. It's athe type of restaurant that does exactly what you need it do. It serves good Chinese food at affordable non hotel prices in large portions pretty quickly.

Getting to Beijing Restaurant is quite simple. If you are not used to eating outside of the clean crisp sterile hotel environments you will find this area of abaya shops, small grocery shops, launderettes and independent cafes very daunting. In effect it's the old Abu Dhabi which probably won't be there for much longer. Once you locate the restaurant make sure you find an appropriate parking spot. By this I mean don't park in the often empty resident spots and pay our way as you will get an instant ticket. Once you've parked you will enter he restaurant. It's your basic two floors of horrible tacky Chinese furniture as you would expect, and greeted by non Chinese staff.

Once seated at the tables you will be brought a father large menu plastered in pictures which is often needed for Chinese restaurants of this calibre. Dishes are in general delicious. So they have MSG? Probably...should you order water....definitely!

Beijing staff are polite and helpful and grabbing the attention f staff is aided by electronic bells at the table which have 4 buttons. If you can read Chinese you will know what they mean. If like me you're limited to English you just press every available button.

Price is very reasonable when the bill comes and you won't be disappointed with the overall quality of food they serve. I'm sure like me Beijing will be on your list of places to return to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COOPSTheNaughtyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“All a little soggy and not very appetising...”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Having lived in Singapore for the last seven years has probably spoiled me for Chinese food but I needed to try this restaurant...the reviews were not bad. Anyway, to start with, the map of the restaurant page on Trip Advisor showed the location of the restaurant in the wrong place, the place where it really is, is actually far away from the pin on the original map...alas, Chinese food was waiting! Unfortunately the restaurant isn't very good. Every meal was overcooked, soggy and covered in sauce. The atmosphere is utilitarian at best and the Philippine staff is probably trained in a Chinese "don't care about customers" school...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grub was ok, but poor service.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had to wait for the table to be cleared, dripping ac, waitress took half an hour to arrange our order and we were hurried out. Food was good, but place was dirty and poor service!

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worse service ever”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have just had lunch today December 9, 2012 at Beijing Resaurant Salam street branch (same chain as Madinat Zayed). I have to say that the service is the worst ever. food takes forever to come, Calamari was CRAZY salty. fried rice arrived after we have finished 4 dishes and after we were done. Waitress were extremly rude and unprofessional as she was just laghing and kidding with some othet customers and when we called her she just waived her hand like 3 times and she just says (yes, yes). Waitress stares at our food all the time.

Food was not bad. In general their food is good but today there has been something wrong, may be they changed the cheif I don't know. Flat noodles was oily. calamari was very salty none of four of us could even take a bite of it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Craving for Chinese food in Abu Dhabi!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The food and service was very good. Wide variety of choices on the menu. Layed-back atmosphere. Friendly and helpfull staff. Easily located behind Madinat Zayed shopping center.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijing Restaurant also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Beijing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing