We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small glimpse of their past”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Village

Heritage Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Abu Dhabi All-Day Tour
Ranked #27 of 141 things to do in Abu Dhabi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A living exhibition of the lifestyle and traditions of Bedouin and other cultures.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A small glimpse of their past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

There are only hints in the small museum and static displays of what Abu Dhabi was like before 1960. or thereabouts .It's only when you look across the bay at the City of today that you get a feeling for the enormous changes that have taken place over the last 50 or so years, and the tremendous impact that these changes must have had on the people. Their success deserves more recognition.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    520
    583
    204
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heritage village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

An interesting visit if you are in the vicinity. Perhaps visiting Marina Mall or the Emirates Palace.
We don't think it is worth the journey just to see it.
If you go just bear in mind it is not the picture you see in a lot of brochures. That is the old one we presume. It is right at the end of that road however.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank uptripped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quite good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited this village as part of a package deal. The day we visited it was about 40c so was quite warm. I suggest bringing plenty of water, hats and sun screen and money. There are quite a few souvenir stalls with a reasonable range of good. The museum, tho' small had many interesting artefacts, including many old photographs. The artisan section is well worth a visit especially the glass and leather, but it is not cheap. Some exhibits were not open the day we were there, but I could see into the rooms and there is also a Bedouin tent on display. It appears to be an actual display of an early village and I can recommend the site to the traveller.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you need a first impression, how the People lived, how they starter with agriculture, ... it's a reconstruction of lot of things, but it gives a good idea what is was, in the past.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kamiet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Great Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

While visiting Abu Dhabi I would recommend visiting here. It is great to look at how the local people used to live before the oil. It is not the biggest of attractions but gives you great views of the city. Also would recommend to get souvenirs from here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronanbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Village also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Heritage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing