We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Can't wait to go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it! Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We REALLY enjoyed ourselves (husband, me, and our 3 boys ages 7, 5, and 3)....just drove from Dubai for the weekend to Abu Dhabi. Service was above and beyond our expectations (everyone was acommodating....even if we wanted something that wasn't on the menu, they would try their best to oblige, etc). Staff VERY friendly, and we really notice and appreciate good service when we see it.
The rooms were FANTASTIC (big and beautifully decored...the bathrooms were super nice, too), and we had a wonderful view of the mosque. We had 2 adjoining rooms, although it was basically one entrance with 2 proper room doors, So as long as you close the main door, you could have both room doors open to eachother, or close them for added privacy, if you like. We loved that feature.
The kids loved the boat ride through the canal to the other parts of the hotel, and the Traders had a great play park that even us parents got to play around in!
The beach was so nice and crystaline, and some of the loungers are on the grass close to the water, which was really pretty and very practical. The weather (early Feb) was too cool for swimming, but we still enjoyed ourselves very much in the breeze and sunshine.
One thing that bothered us a bit was the loud music at night coming from the nightclub...we could here it even with the balcony door shut (did I mention the balcony was so charming?!), but it was probably because we were close to the disco, or because it was the weekend. Not loud enough to put us off from the hotel!! Oh no!
Breakfast buffet had everything under the sun....and everything was delicious. Our kids especially loved the waffles and pancakes with all their yummy toppings :)
We thought the hotel was quiet and peaceful...didn't even notice the highway (as the other reader said), and only heard/saw one army plane. We are very much looking forward to staying there again next time we go to Abu Dhabi :) Really, it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama3UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    373
    123
    39
    36
See reviews for
569
1,003
94
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

*****We stayed in the "Residences" so our room experience does not reflect the main hotel*****

We stayed for two weeks in a Studio Residence, which was perfect for us. Other reviewers have noted that these rooms are dark, which is definitely the case, but as we had to be up during the nights for international conference calls having it darker during the day was not a problem.

The room was comfortable, although it would have been great to have a desk or table in the room. The kitchen had four barstools, but they were too high in relation to the counter, so they weren't really useable. These rooms do not have tubs, so families with small children may want to avoid them.

Having access to all the amenities of the Shangri-La was great - we spent a lot of time at the pool and fitness center. The location is outside of Abu Dhabi, which again, was perfect for us, but be sure to check the map before you book!

We did not actually eat in the hotel restaurants, although the dining options in the adjacent souk were FANTASTIC. Definitely try "The Meat Co".

Our biggest obstacle was the staff - check in was rough, the security guards who are supposed to raise the arms to the parking lot were frequently (ie, twice daily) across the street having a smoke, pool staff does not know their menu and cannot get orders correct, and housekeeping thinks "Do Not Disturb" means "Ring Doorbell, Then Call To Ask To Be Let In To Make Up Room".

As the location is great for our business needs, we will probably stay at this resort again, although next time we will try the Traders Hotel to see if the staff is better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tebfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Physically this is a very nice hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable, there are plenty of good dining options etc but it is let down by the staff. At check in we were told that they had cancelled our 2nd reserved room because we could share our room with our teenaged son. We had to point out to them that we had specifically reserved 2 rooms because we didn't want to share a room with him.
We don't like duvets so we asked for sheets and a blanket instead.When the sheets and blanket eventually turned up they were just handed to us. We asked the member of the housekeeping staff if he was going to make the bed and he said no and left it to us to do. At breakfast they would wander around trying to find you a table that was actually set up. Not really what you expect in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel was beautiful, located across the water from the Shaikh Zayed Bin Sultan Mosque, beautiful views and sounds coming across the water to your bed. We went in a quite period in January and wish we could have stayed for much longer than 3 days. The service was the best I have experienced, the staff were poliet, helpful and very friendly. Upon arrival we recieved a tour of our room by the hotel manager who also provided plenty of tips for first time travellers to Abu Dhabi. The hotel has an exquisit pool area and spa. Attached to the hotel is a shopping mall which you can access using the free gondalas provided by the hotel which take you through the small man made river that flows through the hotel. The restaurant is fanastic and have a great all you can eat buffet featuring all different kinds of cuisines. You can also smoke a Hookah by the pool after dinner.

Abu Dhabi itself was very clean and safe. There are not many souks as yet but there are large shopping malls.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunski_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Fabulous hotel - lovely rooms, great restaurants, pleasant and efficient staff BUT sited next to a ten-lane highway. This hotel is great for a business stay, and definitely not for a vacation. Will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Abu Dhabi for Christmas and New Year. We'd previously been to Dubai and wanted to try somewhere new and also we just couldn't believe how much cheaper it was for a better rate hotel in Abu Dhabi.

We loved our stay at the Shangri La. It was particularly special as my boyfriend got down on one knee (eventually two - ha!) and asked me to marry him!!! Hooray!

So the Shangri La.......

ROOM
Fabulous big room which was laid out really well - we stayed in the a premier room. Huge walk in wardrobe and lovely terrace. As some of the reviews mention the location does initially feel a little weird and I think this is because you're in a city. There is the view from the beach out to the beautiful mosque and then being the UAE where there is loads of construction you can see cranes and on the left hand side there is a a very busy road / dual carriageway in the distance. Have to say upon first seeing it I thought it was odd but the whole experience soon made me forget about it! I guess you have to bear in mind this is Abu Dhabi not a deserted beach in Thailand.

POOL
There are some lovely pools at this hotel; a great peaceful rooftop lap pool as part of the spa, an infinity pool and then a slightly smaller one just back from the beach. We used all of the pools but mainly the lap pool for an afternoon swim. The great thing about the time of year we went is that the temperature was perfect, hot and sunny but you could sit in it all day without feeling you had to get in and out the pool every 5 minutes. We chose to sunbathe on the beach as the sunbed area was a little crowded.

SERVICE
The service overall was great and as you'd expect from a hotel in the Middle East. The pool bar as a few people have mentioned didn't have it together like the rest of the hotel and service was a little slow. The water is complimentary and you immediately receive this when you set up your sunbed which was a nice touch particularly when we've often paid through the nose just to have water whilst we sunbathe before.

RESTAURANTS
The buffet in this hotel was amazing. Everything and anything you could ever want to eat including 3 chocolate fountains!!! We had the buffet a couple of times and whilst it's fabulous go when you've missed lunch and are very hungry to make it good value. We also had two fantastic meals in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel as well. We didn't try the other restaurants as we went to the nearby Souk however we did go to Pearls & Caviar for plenty of cocktails the night we got engaged - great music and great fun! You can access The Souk through a gate from the hotel or get a golf buggy to drive you there if you don't fancy the walk. The restaurants there were brilliant and great value for money. There was a fantastic Lebanese for lunch / dinner, The Meat Co. and Noodle House were both great for lunch and then our favourite was a restaurant called Ushna which did fantastic top quality Indian cuisine. We actually went there for New Year's Eve and it was brilliant fun.

SHOPPING
The big malls were a little distance away but worth a visit when the sun goes in! The Souk also had some nice shops for jewellery, pashminas etc.

We had a fantastic holiday in Abu Dhabi and if you're looking for somewhere to go in The Middle East that offers the opportunity to relax, sunbathe and eat excellent food this is it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Whats good:
Many hotels claim to be 5*, this one genuinely is! From the chilled water swimming pools to the superb 'Bordeau' restaurant, this place ticks pretty much all the boxes. The breakfast buffet is second to none (and I really do mean none!). Service is impeccable, all the key members of staff know your name by day 2. Ten or more restaurants within easy walking distance at The Souk

Whats not so good: It doesnt come cheap - accommodation is fairly priced, but dinners and drinks are a little OTT to say the least. Great gym (but could be open earlier) and that is about it - an excellent hotel equally suited to both the business and leisure traveller

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,013 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,214 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#9 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.1 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing