We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived to a calm and well service lobby. Our room was upgraded and all in all was fabulous. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and a very large room with a grand bathroom. Fruits and water were provided. I had requested extra pillows and a quiet location in the hotel because I was pregnant. All these requests were honoured without reminder.

The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to accommodate. I would recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    383
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
588
1,050
101
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

it where an amazing trip I enjoyed the staying over there, the view of sheikh Zayed mousqe and the sea is unbelievable , I would like to visit this hotel again for sure . the boat inside the hotel was a good experiance

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Firas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place to get away from everything within the UAE. Very comfortable and the service is excellent, personally I like it because it is not over bearing and gets into your way. Book early or you will have to walk a long way to your rooms!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

As a professional and well traveled couple from the UK we booked a week at this beautiful location and were impressed on all levels !! All to often brochures have stated 5* however the hotels fall well below standard. This can't be said for the Shangri-la as this truly is a full 5* location that was very well priced.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and polite and always went that extra step to ensure our comfort.
Lindon at concierge was amazing at his job and deserves special mention as was Icy one of the staff at the Chinese restaurant. We took a gondola ride with Victor and he gave us a good insight into the locality.
I fully endorse this location and would recommend to anyone !! Top Tip - the pool at the Spa is always very quiet.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Andy4162, thank you for the great review! It was indeed our pleasure to take good care of you and rest assured your kind comments will be shared with our colleagues who made sure your stay was memorable and excellent. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

As the title suggests the room size was much smaller than what I was expecting considering the price paid and the standard size of hotel rooms in the same class. Aside from this everything else about the hotel was to a very high standard.

Room - I stayed in a club room (443) for one night. This room had one of the best views in the hotel - it was centrally faced towards the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque and, at night & sunrise, was a beautiful sight. As stated above, the bedroom and bathroom felt small. The Occitone products were a nice touch but was to be expected from the Shangri-La brand. The balcony was much bigger than the other hotel rooms, had a sun lounger and a little balcony table and 2 chairs.

Check in/Check Out - This was extremely smooth. After giving the car for valet, the staff ushered me to the 5th floor (the Horizon Club floor) for private check in service. The check in process was quick and efficient with a friendly smile. I requested late check out (until 5pm) and this was added to the room notes and was accepted with ease. Check out was similarly efficient and pain free. Luggage was already sat in my car right outside the hotel.

Horizon Club - this was a great benefit and feature of the stay. Afternoon Tea is served between 2-4pm and there was about 4 different choices of sandwiches, fresh olives, crackers and then a good selection of exquisite desserts. Honestly the creme brulee was one of the best i have ever had. Following this there was Happy Hour which is between 6-8pm and again serves light snacks (e.g. chicken satay) and unlimited alcoholic drinks such as beer, wine and spirits and mixers. The service was always quick and friendly in the Horizon Club Lounge.

Breakfast (main buffet downstairs) - one of the largest choices for breakfast I have seen. Key features included: egg station, chocolate fountain, dim sum area, Arabic area, fresh sruit, pancake and waffle station, smoothie and fresh juice station - the list goes on. All food was tasty and fresh. Service was great - I was at breakfast from 8-9.30am so got busier towards the end.

Beach/Swimming Pool area - there are 2 swimming pools. The first swimming pool does not receive much sunshine so not good for sunbathers like myself. The 2nd swimming pool was an infinity pool which overlooked the mosque. I actually went straight to the beach and was greeted by fantastic staff who helped set me up on a lounger, gave me a coolbox full of cold water and a cocktail menu. About 10 minutes later someone came over to clean my sunglasses. Every 2 hours my coolbox was filled up with complimentary cold water. Fantastic touch and unique. Only problem (as others have mentioned) was the continued noise from the jet skis - was rather irritating after a while.

Dinner at Hoi An - went for the Sunset Menu (only between 6-7pm) and the food was pretty good and again service was excellent. As I was a hotel guest i also received a complimentary glass of champagne (good tip !).

Overall a fantastic hotel with virtually nothing to complain about except that I expected a larger room and bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sakura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Sakura F, thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we thank you for your kind compliments on our hotel service and facilities. Rest assured your feedback as well as my thanks will be shared with all the team members. Your comment about the room size is also duly noted. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lives up to the Shangri-La name. Great hotel with impeccable service. The standard for the entire town as far as I am concerned. Souq has lots to do and taxis are cheap and easy to get. Great to relax in the desert. The view is amazing on the water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijchen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Every time as we went to Abu Dhabi for vacation is Shangri La our Hotel.
When we come into our room, its feels like home-comming. The people there
are lovely,so frindly, and the all mean it! By the beach or pool or club or housekeeping and the intrance, the all are fantastic. The restaurants in this hotel are verry nice. Our favorite is Shang Palace,the peking duck!! Outside is it a little noisy, planes and waterscooters, but, you can not have it all.THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,176 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,349 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,095 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing