We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily one of the best places in Abu Dhabi to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lives up to the Shangri-La name. Great hotel with impeccable service. The standard for the entire town as far as I am concerned. Souq has lots to do and taxis are cheap and easy to get. Great to relax in the desert. The view is amazing on the water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,505 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Every time as we went to Abu Dhabi for vacation is Shangri La our Hotel.
When we come into our room, its feels like home-comming. The people there
are lovely,so frindly, and the all mean it! By the beach or pool or club or housekeeping and the intrance, the all are fantastic. The restaurants in this hotel are verry nice. Our favorite is Shang Palace,the peking duck!! Outside is it a little noisy, planes and waterscooters, but, you can not have it all.THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Excellent hotel with all the amenities the demanding hotel guest has come to expect.
The front desk staff is incredibly helpful, rooms are of a very high standard and the restaurants and bars offers exquisite food and beverages at reasonable prices. Whats not to like?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

First the good:

Cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in including Emirates Palace and The Residence and Spa.

First class service in terms of speed, accuracy and definitely the friendliest.

Check in was excellent despite the fact we arrived at 9.30 am we had a room by 10.00 am and in the meantime had a courtesy breakfast and 15 minutes in the glorious sunshine.

Check out was equally efficient.

Second OK:

Food varied from good to awful with breakfast being the most consistent.

The Bad:

Beach or "sandpit" man-made, very small and what is there is very gritty and for some reason they decided to cut an already small beach in two for a pool and bar.

Beach sunbeds were cheap, hard, very low and without a mattress, we couldn't use them and as we love a beach holiday not for us.

Flight path to the commercial, military and helicopter landing strips worse some days with very loud old rotary engined military craft being the worst offenders all based just the opposite side of the creek.

Jet skis were a permanent nuisance why do these prats think it is cool to show off in front of the hotel when all they are doing is annoying everyone.

Main pool was very noisy with lots of children under school age who seem able to make a noise disproportionate to their size.

Lack of ambiance due to the fact you only walked down corridors for all amenities, no joined up feel.

Would I go back - certainly not but will try their hotel currently being built on Saadyat Island as it has a fantastic beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gettingitspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Gettingitspent, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that overall, you have enjoyed your stay. We also would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the various elements that hampered you from a fully excellent experience. May I request you to get in touch with us through my email arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com in order to get more details? Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in June 2013. The hotel is a 20 minutes drive from the airport, located near to the Souk and close to the Grand Mosque.

We cannot describe how great the staff and the rooms were. A very quick check-in and we were offered an Arabian coffee, The rooms are absolutely amazig, very spacious, cleaned and well decorated. From our balcony we had a view to the Mosque, which is great when it is dark outside.

Breakfast is fantastic. A lot of choice, bread, meat, eggs, name it and they've got it. Lunch was also great, a lot of choice and good priced for a 5-star hotel. We did not used the restaurants for dinner. Try the Pearls & Caviar bar to have some nice drinks in the evening. Check the calender for Ladies Night!

The beach is also a nice place to relax and lay down. You get towells + a cooling box to keep your water cold. They made up our sunbeds so we did not have to do anything, just relax and enjoying the sun.

The hotel is located near to the Souk, where you have some great restaurants (try the Lebanese one). The city center and the Marina Mall is a 20 minutes drive by taxi, but please note that taxi's are very cheap.

Overall we can absolutely recommend this hotel. The service is amazing, what you expect from a Shangri-La property. Rooms are spacious and clean. The whole property is really wonderful and it was a pleasure to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Willem W, thank you for your great review and for giving us the opportunity to be of service. It was our pleasure to look after you and hope that in the near future we will once again welcome you back to your "home away from home, " at Shangri-La Hotel Qaryat Al Beri Abu Dhabi! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

With so many high grade hotels in Dubai, it was difficult to choose the right one. In the end I went with the Shangri La and it was a good choice.

Positives
# nice environment and architecture. A lot of the hotels nearby are high rise buildings lacking character and feel more orientated for business customers. This hotel felt like it catered more for leisure customers.
# the staff were great and generally gave a consistent service.
# close to the airport and the Sheikh Zayed Grande mosque, which is well worth a see. Tours are at 10, 11am and 5 pm. Truly beautiful building akin to the Taj Mahal.
# the hotel provides a shuttle bus to the mosque, malls and Ferrari world.
# good choice of restaurants and excellent breakfast buffet.
# next to the Traders and Fairmont Hotej. We went to see the Fairmont which is uber modern in design but lacks the buzz and warmth of the Shangri la. Although good restaurants.. Marco Pierre White Steak House.
# we stayed in a Horizon club room which was lovely and gave us access to the club lounge. Thanks to Ibrahim for his fantastic service during our stay. The high tea from 3-5 and happy hour from 6-8 was well worth it.
# there is also a Souk with restaurants. We tried Ashna Indian which was ok and there are some coffee shops, a supermarket and two bar/clubs and a very buzzing meat company, all a walk or abra boat ride away.
# it was my birthday and the hotel organised a cake and flowers which was very touching.

Areas for development
# Having a flight at 2am meant we were in need of a late check out. My experience in nearly all the hotels we have stayed in is that they try to accommodate you as best as they can. Unfortunately, this hotel would not accommodate us apart from a 2 hour extension,which was a bit disappointing particularly as we had arrived at nearly 11pm on our first night. It would engender a lot of goodwill if the hotel could do more to accommodate its customers.
# we visited the Marina mall, but to Be honest for tourists from London it's just like visiting Westfields but in most cases more expensive. We ate at the Fuddrockers burger place which was good but there weren't any other decent eating places there.
# the beach was not a real beach but was good enough and clean water.
# it's about 30 mins from the Centre of town but cheap to travel by taxi. £10.


Overall a good experience it's good for a short break but if you are used to Dubai it's definitely not like that in Abu Dhabi. Less built up and more intimate. See the mosque it's a must!




Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank RKBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear RKBLondon, thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us through TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your kind compliments about the hotel's service and facilities especially the exceptional service of our colleague Ibrahim from Horizon Lounge. On a different note, we would like to know more about your request for late check out and hope you can get in touch with me at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com. In the meantime, we hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel Qaryat Al Beri abu Dhabi in the near future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed earlier this year. Hotel is great, but for hours every day the locals with their jet skis come out and they sit 20 meters off the beach and just rev their engines, hoping to get your attention, so you will think they are cool dudes. Just annoying. Twice during our stay they ventured across the ropes which separate the bathing area from the lagoon - not safe. I have visited Abu Dhabi 4 times since and would have stayed at the Shangri La every time had it not been for the jet skis. A real shame as the management are powerless but if you want peace and tranquillity stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Anywhere where you cant hear the jet skis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spence1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Spence1999, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that overall you enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities, however at the same time we are concerned that your vacation was marred by the jet skies. Please do send me an email at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com with more details about these incidents. In spite of this we hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,510 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,487 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#24 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $206 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing