We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #14 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel is very nice, service is excellent, we went there to celebrate my husband's birthday and stayed over the night and the staff helped me to do the arrangements and they were too friendly, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sana_10_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    367
    121
    39
    35
See reviews for
554
995
94
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This review is overdue- We stayed at the Shangri La in April 2013 we were luck enough to have flown out with BA first class so had high expectations. When we arrived at the hotel the check in was swift and efficient and we were taken to our room but not the room type i had booked it didn't help that my wife had a heavy cold. I made my point regarding the room and was told that the hotel was fully booked 'outrageous' We were visited by several managers and offered an upgraded room which we moved to the following day due to my wife being ill in bed. The senior staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us after the rocky start but I think more time in training junior check in staff is required. The hotel and food is superb but the gardens look tired and unkept. The worst issue is the constant noise and drone of the jet skies in the late afternoon in front of the beach, definitely an issue as they had called the police over the matter when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Putney69,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and regret the fact that your experience was not as expected. Comments from valued guests is key to assist us in improving our service. May I ask you to email me at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com with more information? Thank you once again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

magnificent buildings,beautiful beaches,well maintained garden, nice ride in a small boat, good service. worth spending. felt like real life in palace. good choice for refreshing holiday. 5pools for different needs.

Room Tip: better not to keep the kettle near to the TV, I saw the steam of the hot boiling water moving over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a short and long overdue comment on our stay at this property in June 2012. It would not be fair to leave out the comment as this is an excellent hotel. From the quick and efficient check-in to the lovely room (standard and ground floor but absolutely perfect) to the service level in all departments we just liked it. Try the Chinese restaurant and dine at Pearls and Caviar on the terrace with a view to the mosque, you will not be disappointed. As others have written, the jet skis do spoil the afternoons on the beach but this is not the hotel's fault. Raise early instead and go for a swim after sunrise. Don't miss the sumptuous breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel has many unproffessional junior staff members who are impolite and unhelpful, they will like to argue and make a fuss. The house keeping take forever to clean a room and they do it in front of the guests which is very un proffessional. The interior looks good for a 5 star hotel in the middle east. The hotel food is very disappointing and unsatisfactory. Do not go looking for gourmet food in this hotel. I really hate staying at this hotel but sometimes you got no choice hence its next to the airport. Management in the hotel are unresponsive and will not solve your problems. If you are a tourist and have conflicts in this hotel please do not hesitate to contact the UAE tourisim police who would be happy to assist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Khalid225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Khalid225,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel's service. We welcome guest feedback as it allows us the opportunity to review areas that needs improvement. Please kindly write to me directly at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com as I would like to know more about the incidents you have shared. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely experience. We were welcomed as if we're VIP. :) We were immediately escorted to our premier room where I completed our check-in.

At the time of booking, I was asked casually of our stay and I informed them that it was our anniversary stay cation so when we entered the room it was elegantly arranged with roses, petals all over in the bath tub has petals, very romantic setting indeed. :)

The staff are very accommodating, attentive and friendly. Very very wonderful happy employees indeed.

The swimming pool service was super. They will immediately provide you with a small bucket with bottled waters. They will not only hand you the towel, they will arrange it for you before you comfortably sit and relax. :) The view while swimming is lovely, from the pool you can clearly see the grand mosque and the beach where jetskiers enjoy the water.

The hotel also offers a boat/abra ride to the souq if you want to go shopping for local stuff or eat in restaurants not available inside the hotel. It was a lovely experience especially it was a 'first' boat ride for my 2 years old daughter.

Prices of the food inside the hotel are quite expensive though and very limited choices though nothing to complain when it comes to the taste. :)

All in all value for money spent is all worth it.
Stayed for 2 nights / 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank behbexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I guess even those who are spoilt by a good service will be satisfied with this hotel. When your sun glasses are cleaned while you are sun bathing, it's quite nice))) everything is just perfect. Amazing view over the mosque across the river. A number of restaurants of various cuisines!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#10 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.1 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing