We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walking in Paradise”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Taste the excellence in everything!

Feeling like a King is possible in this place, lux is everywhere and the care taken from the personell is perfect.

Any detail is not forgot, you will enjoy really very much.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice, if you plan to stay more than 1 month for work, the residence is excellent. Vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangibleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    382
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
586
1,042
100
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Shangri-La for one week and were amazed by the great staff, the excellent service, the unique and great restaurants - bord eau is supposed to be the best restaurant in Abu Dhabi. We would highly recommend to stay there. However, the lagoon in front of the beach is a hotspot for jet skiers and, as a consequence, there is no relaxation between 3.30pm and 7pm which, given the heat, is unfortunately a rather bad thing. I hope they get this problem resolved - if they will, I consider this to be the best hotel in Abu Dhabi!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAB2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After marrying a month ago, my wife and I came to the Shangri-la on a short two night honeymoon at the beginning of May.

In comparison with the resort hotels I have stayed in the UAE, in RAK and Fujerah, this feels most like a five star resort. The staff were polite and attentive and couldn’t have been more helpful during our stay; the room was well presented and spacious and on the first day housekeeping staff had put rose petals on the bed and provided fresh flowers which was a welcome surprise; we also had a complimentary celebration cake on arrival. As it was a very special occasion, we treated ourselves to a decadent room service breakfast on the first morning and then the normal buffet breakfast on the second day - both of which were excellent; dinner in the buffet restaurant on the first night was also very good. The fitness center had plenty of up-to date equipment and we also treated ourselves to a spa package which was most enjoyable (although I am no expert!).

However, the swimming pool lacked a swim up pool bar (essential in a luxury hotel) and subsequently lost a little atmosphere that is normally found in UAE resort hotels and a major problem is the private beach. That is to say that the beach is private, but the sea is not. Both afternoons, the sea was full of local youngsters riding jet-skis. On the second afternoon I counted 20 at one time and on two occasions I saw them cross the roped off boundary into the hotels swimming area. Staff were powerless to deal with this and it went on for over 90 minutes before the coast guard finally arrived to clear them off; they quickly returned after the coast guard had left. Subsequently we couldn’t go in the sea and it was unpleasant on the beach – many people choosing to leave after a short while.

This is a very nice hotel, we did have a great time and I would really like to come back especially as it is less than an hour from home in Dubai. However, unless the jet-ski issue can be resolved, there are plenty of other hotels in Abu Dhabi that I would try before returning to the Shangri-la.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you Dubaidickie for your review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the jet skis the issue has been brought to our attention and we are currently working with the Local Authorities to ensure the Canal becomes a jet skis free area. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I needed a hotel in this area of Abu Dhabi, and after reading reviews, booked the Horizon Club level based on recommendations here. Had a Mosque-view room on the 6th floor with balcony for a 3 day business stay. My needs were perfectly met with a quiet breakfast (excellent), access by hotel car and cab for local business, and then late meetings back at the hotel. Overall, this was one of the best hotel experiences I've had. Beautiful room in a very quiet area of the hotel. A level of service that needs a word beyond "exceptional": I was often amazed to be greeted by many of the staff by my name. I didn't use the pool, beach, or local restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with Mosque view will have the "feature" of the jet ski noise during part of the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a two night weekend stay at the hotel in order to see the Louvre collection that is currently on display at Sadiyaat Island. The hotel was very good. Very attentive staff. Nice, quiet poolside. Fantastic breakfast buffet , which was like a work of art itself - a feast for the eyes. Had cocktails at the bar - very good and dinner at the Vietnamese restaurant - also very good.The only downside was the poor service in the Horizon lounge (for which we'd paid a premium). The staff there were very friendly but couldn't keep on top of the orders for drinks that they'd taken or replenish the snack buffet - so it was a bit of shambles. We were there on three occasions and the same problems were evident each time. I gave feedback on this after our stay and I expect that management have acted on it now. This was our first stay at a Shangri-La hotel and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you Chris O for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you have found our service at the Horizon Lounge to be disappointing for we serve thousands of satisfied customers. In your case, we seem to have failed and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if someday your travel plan brings you back to Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I love the Shang chain and stay at their various properties. This one lives up to the high standards of the others. The positives on the setting include: proximity to the airport, proximity to other high end hotels like the Fairmont and a commanding view across the water of the Grand Mosque.

As a business hotel, it is ideal. If you are coming for vacation, this is not the best place merely because of the beach on the canal and the noisy bridge near the hotel that crosses the water. Better option is the Emirates Palace or the newer St Regis in my view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently returned from a week's stay with our 1y old baby. The service from the moment our airport transfer arrived at the front door was outstanding. Staff present everywhere, never too busy for a chat or to even take our son from us to allow us to eat in peace with chasing him around! The staff do not know the meaning of the word 'No' - they will make what you ask happen, within reasonable limits of course. The food was outstanding at all meal times and our Premier Room was perfect for us with the little one. Lots of open space - the hotel was almost full but the communal areas somehow never felt busy. By the end of the week we were sad to leave as the staff felt more like family. Example of service and trust: I realised on day 2 that the incompetent immigration staff in the airport had not stamped my passport on arrival and had instead stamped our son's passport twice. When I asked the front desk for the UK embassy address, the staff said they could take care of it as they has a representative at the airport. Sure enough, after giving both our passports to them (of course I felt i could trust them!), they were returned the following morning stamped etc. This is the sort of service that sets the Shangri-La aside from other '5 star' hotels. The only negative point about the location is that all the hotels along this strip of water are subject to noise from 10-20 jetskiers almost every afternoon. This is an ongoing issue which the hotels have reported to the tourist board - the issue is that these kids are form the wealthy Abu Dhabi oil families and so the police and 'coastguard vessel' parked in the water are not at all interested. This isn't a problem if you are out during the afternoon of course!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor garden suite - we were shown one and opted for the cheaper but far better 4th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topdoc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,144 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,212 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing