We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Nearby Hotels
$197
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Seasons Al Hamara Hotel(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
$185
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Al Raha Beach Hotel(Abu Dhabi)
$150
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
$65
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emirates Palace(Abu Dhabi)
$1,273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Rose Hotel(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
$72
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,653)
Filter reviews
2,653 results
Traveler rating
2,006
423
139
43
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,006
423
139
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubgrand mosquevietnamese restaurantbord eausofra bldchi spapearls caviarinfinity poolpremier roomchocolate fountainjet skinearby soukcool boxsheikh zayed mosquebeautiful hotelthe main hotelbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 2,653 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel wasn't quite as spectacular as some others in the UAE (such as the Jumeirah hotels or Bab Al Shams) but it was decent nevertheless. Huge bath, good sized room. Staff were helpful on the front desk. The things that let it down - service was quite slow on the beach as there was just one man serving everyone, so once he had gone to the kitchen, it left nobody on the beach covering and you had to wait 10 mins for him to return. We ate at Hoi An in the evening which was good, although it was very busy (we luckily booked a few days in advance) and it took far too long for them to bring the bill. We took an Abra trip to the souk next door which was very disappointing. Most things were closed down completely or just shut (it was late on a Friday afternoon and you'd think more places would be open). On the beach, you can't get much peace due to the incessant jet skis which zoom up and down the canal. Highly annoying but unfortunately nothing really to do with the hotel. And finally, the very comfortable sun loungers on the beach get taken by ignorant guests very early who 'claim' them with a towel, but don't actually use them until later in the day. That meant we were forced to use the super-uncomfortable ones. There should be a rule that if you don't use the sun lounger for 2 hours, your towel will be removed and another guest can use it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you Louise92 for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you have found some aspects of your stay to be disappointing for we serve thousands of satisfied customers. In your case, we seem to have failed and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if someday your travel plan brings you back to Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

All the good things are true mentioned by others but the bad things are true plus something I cannot find mentioned elsewhere. The Jet skiers have driven us insane and completely destroy the serenity. On top of that the hotel is UNDER THE FLIGHT PATH! We have planes going right over us every 20 minutes. I truly cannot say which is worse - the jet skiers in the early evening or the fact the planes are overhead all day! Take note - worth having ear plugs if staying here!

Room Tip: View over the water and you can watch the sunset.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zakarydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you zakarydoodah for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you have found your stay to be disappointing because of the noise brought about by the increased flight activities during your stay and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if someday your travel plan brings you back to Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a mini-break at this hotel. From the moment we arrived until the time they asked if they may start our car a few minutes early in order to cool it down everything was superb! Check-in was a breaze and everyone was extremely welcoming. The premier room was exactly as it is described on their site. Beautiful. Large bathroom, nice separate dressing room, excellent separate large shower. The room is very spacious and very well appointed. Everything one needs is there and is of very good quality. The view of the Grand Mosque over the creek from the balcony is just great! Room service is always fast, friendly and efficient. All the food we tried was great. The alcohol prices are amazing for a hotel of this standard...25AED for a beer! I doubt if I have ever had cheaper in the UAE.The free wi-fi internet throughout is great. Really good connection. I was able to download at more than 1MB/s. The pools and beaches are excellent as are the dining facilities. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Thanks to the management team and all the service staff we had a really wonderful break and can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: The premier rooms have an excellent view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I checked in on new years day. I was at the Sheraton (Abu dhabi)for new years Eve.
Great hotel overall. Very welcoming check in and very nice room overlooking the gardens and lagoon. The rooms have very nice showers and are more spacious than i had imagined.
I tried the Vietnamese restaurant one night which was very good.
Good food served on the beach. Helpful bar staff.
The hotel provides a buggy to the nearby souk, gym and spa, with all its restaurants.
The spa is good, but would say on the expensive side.
On a serious note;
The hotel needs to do something about the jet skiers that buzz along every afternoon off the beach, They go on and on, and the sound booms and resonates really disturbing the peace. It does not seem fair or equate that 2 or 3 jet skiers can ruin it for all those guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is human nature to write and complain of bad service but all too often we are shy or reserved to highlight good service. In part it is just expected, especially for the price we pay.

In this instance I was happily delighted with the service of everyone at the Shangri-la in Abu Dhabi.

The hotel was lovely and clean. Very beautiful.
As we got pulled up the concierge were on hand to valet our car and take luggage directly to our room.
We were greeted at reception with complimentary drinks and then politely checked in at reception.
We were personally led to our room by a friendly member of staff and were shown how all the facilities of the room worked (unlike our last trip a few weeks previously, where we had to carry our own bags, and find our way to a room with faults)
We had breakfast in the sofa bld, it was nice and the 1 criticism we had was the noise of the jet ski's which isn't the responsibility of the hotel.

Staff were very well trained and opened doors and greeted us with a warm, genuine smile.

We had dinner in the souk beside the hotel so we had even more choices of restaurants and bars.

The gym was nice but no natural sun light but pretty well equipped for a hotel gym.
The changing rooms and spa are (steam, sauna, jaquzzi) were REALLY good and clean.

We really enjoyed our weekend away from Dubai and would definitely visit again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nads1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews