We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Beach vacant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to have a weekend break and selected this hotel. As it was coming up to the weekend I selected on impulse and having not stayed at this group before thought I would give it a go. As we drove from Dubai to Abu Dhabi the lack of signage directing you here is breathtakingly sparse so much so that we found the hotel more by luck than judgement.
When we checked in on Thursday evening it would have been good if we had been told that the French Restaurant would be unavailable on the Friday night due to a Gala dinner as we would have selected that, however as we were unaware we went for the Chinese which it transpired was fully booked so instead went for the Vietnamese which was very good, but tonight we are stuck as its Vietnamese again or a buffet.The rooms are very good although getting to them can be a bit of a walk and going down instead of up in the elevator was a new experience. The breakfast is very poor and the selection minimal and asking staff 5 times for tea and coffee in a very empty breakfast room wore a little thin. The beach is very small however the constant drone of jet ski's and speed boats can get very irritating. The Hotel may well say this is beyond there control but when you want to relax its impossible to do. Getting a drink or food can also be a pain as there is no one around. The sun beds are also very uncomfortable. So in summing up its ok not great. I would'nt come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottageDubai_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you cottageDubai_UAE for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you have found your stay to be disappointing for we serve thousands of satisfied customers. In your case, we seem to have failed and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if you plan to visit us once again in Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,743 of 2,505 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel really is something else. We booked a six night stay in a Horizon club room to take advantage of the afternoon tea and cocktail hour. We arrived late on the first evening and were met at the airport and taken straight to our room for check in which was seamless.
The next day we went to breakfast in the Horizon Club lounge and were greeted by the friendliest, happy, people we have ever met, they all showed a genuine interest in both of us and knew our names as soon as we got there. The service was outstanding for the whole six days.
We have stayed in several Shangri La Hotels around the world and the staff at this one went above and beyond the call of duty nearly every day, going out of their way to help us enjoy our stay.
The afternoon tea is great out on the balcony with a selection of sandwiches, canapés and cakes bought to you on a cake stand with coffee / tea.
Cocktail hour 6 - 8pm is the same, some great canapés cold and hot and a wide selection of alcoholic beverages. Special mention must go to Ibrahim, Princess, Theint, Cherry, Tuan, Raman and the Horizon Manager Kopila for their fantastic level of service.
We spent the days lounging around the pool being looked after by the excellent recreation team. Thank you to Thor and Fatima they truly go out of their way to make you feel valued and special, I am already missing having my sunglasses cleaned with a smile from Thor.
We ate in the Indonesian restaurant one night and the food was lovely. Other nights we went to the nearby souk (golf cart ride is available if you need it but it's not far). If you like Indian food a trip to Ushna is a must. The Meat Co do the best burgers I have ever eaten.
The disabled access is very good, all pools have hand rails with gently reclining steps, there are ramps at all entrances and as already mentioned if you have problems walking golf cars are available to take you round the hotel grounds.
Our flight was leaving early in the morning, we were given a late check out 6pm but were still able to use the Horizon lounge until 10.30 when we were being collected by taxi. The Horizon staff member on duty helped us down to reception and ensured that we left without any hiccups.
We will definitely be going back sooner rather than later.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only a short stay unfortunately (just an overnight) but I loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful when I checked in and out and the process was as painless as possible. The room was very comfortable and I had a great sleep. An amazing view of the mosque from the room. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJSINV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed in some wonderful hotel around the world, but without doubt this experience topped every other. The hotel was spotless and had a calm elegance about it. Service was amazing and the staff really cared about the guests and their experience. We stayed in an executive suite and were able to use the horizon club facilities, which were relaxed and impressive. Restaurants were good but expensive. Great 5 night break in a wonderful hotel, we will be back!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a 5 night break to this sumptious 5 Star Hotel staying in a club room 6th floor , which gave us breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails in the evening.

The Good : Easy check in where we received arabic coffee and dates, The room and great view across to the Mosque. We enjoyed the pools from the infinity, to the garden pool and the rooftop health club pool. We were given a cool box containing water, cold towel service and fruit skewers. The haman in the health club was excellent along with good changing rooms.

We had breakfast downstairs and what a feast it was it would have been 5 stars if only they served pork bacon, but that is being picky as there was a abundance of cuisines available. I enjoyed the trolley cart that served us fresh smoothies and dates along with fresh juices. There was the chocolate fountain and desserts.

The afternoon tea was lovely with a great selection and variety of leaf teas, sandwiches and desserts.

The Cocktail time in the evening was lovely with canapes and then the restaurants on site would come up each evening offering bite size portions to try and entice you to their entrances

We enjoyed the boat ride through the hotels canal complex to the end where there is Traders Hotel complex and in between there are Apartments for rent ? will look at this if we go again and then the Souk itself with its high end boutiques, mini supermarket and restaurants.

The Bad : The bed and pillows were very hard but that is a personal prefference and they gave us down pillows as we stated we had not slept well. A lot of low flying aircraft landing and taking off from nearby military base! They can be a distraction at first with the formation flying and spreading of the colours of the flag of UAE then becoming an annoyance later on.

The Ugly : Thursday/friday and saturday the noise from the hotels own Pearls and Caviar Nightclub. Noise permiated our room until 02.30 hours when the club closes. However you still had the noise from the leaving revellers. The rooms need to be triple glazed. This was not impressive.

Overall enjoyed our first stay and if we were to go again I would look at the apartments for rent option.

Room Tip: High Floor to the RHS away from the Night Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Shangi-La in Abu Dhabi has all the luxury one expects from a Shangri-La property, together with a dash of the exotic Middle East in its design, furnishings and finishes.

I stayed for a week for a residential training course. The staff at the breakfast buffet on the first morning were polite and welcoming, but by day 3 were welcoming me back like an old and valued friend; housekeeping staff similarly recognised me and greated me warmly after a day or two. Conference facilities were terrific and, again, the staff provided exceptional service. The gym fell a little short of expectations, with not all of the cardio equipment being in working order. The location was excellent, as were the several inhouse restaurants that we sampled, as well as the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: The layout means that some rooms are a good long way from the elevators. Therefore, some guests mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentStayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel in Abu Dhabi from the 8th of March until the 14th of March with my family. The service at this hotel was exceptional and the staff there could not do enough for you apart from the pool bar staff who were exceptional slow at taking your order and bringing it to you. However the pool recreation team, in particular Thor and lifeguards were brilliant.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and the room cleaners did a wonderful job of keeping the room clean and tidy, turn down was also good too.

The breakfasts were fantastic and the best meal we had was in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. We ate in other restaurants in the hotel and in the souk and they were also excellent. The bar staff were also brilliant and really couldn't do enough for you like all the staff there.The only slight downside was the cost as everywhere was very expensive.

The Chi spa was incredible and was a very tranquil place to go to and if you were to go I would recommend the Hamman.

Finally I would like to say when we got to the airport there was a man waiting for us to help us with our luggage from the Shangri-La and he stayed with us until we reached the check in. Quite incredible !

Well done to the Shangri-La.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pools and sea. We had a premier room which was like a mini suite. Just perfect. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,513 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,358 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,488 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#25 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $206 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing