We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La, what else..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shangri-La, what else..”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's starts with the welcome when arriving at the hotel. You feel like every single staff is just here for you. customer-centricity must have been invented by Shangri-La. The lobby is gorgeous, luxury in a arabic style but not flashy. The rooms are large and very clean. I love the L'Occitane toiletries they provide in all the Shangri La Hotels. There is always fresh fruits in the room. The breakfast buffet is a killer, huge and of excellent quality. Don't miss it! There is a huge spa with an excellent gym and a rooftop pool, which is acutally a bit far from the main building (you have to go around the building). Next to the Shangri La is a Soukh with excellent restaurants and some shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unterwaex_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    380
    127
    41
    39
See reviews for
581
1,035
99
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights arrived on 12th November 2012 & checked out 14th Nov 2012. The room rate was 1600AED which in excess of 500 USD per day.I do not know the reason for such high rate. Most of the time I stay in Yas island either in Radission or crown plaza. It is definately better than both of them but price wise it is 3 times.
With such high price , expection also increases but in reality it is like other 4/5 star hotel

It is goos but considering the price I paid it is worthless even that price break fast was not included.!!!

Room Tip: You may get lot many better hotels with that price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalyan kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A four day break to unwind at this magnificent hotel sent my bank balance into tail spin but was worth it for the relaxation value alone. The premiere room was spacious, beautifully appointed and close to the foyer. The bed was huge and comfortable, the bath deep and wide. The food was by and large of the highest quality, but expensive in the mediteranian and french restaurants. Small details need to be adressed. We waited for a course that never arrived in 'Pearls and Caviar', the promised 'happy hour' in the bar (between 5 and 7pm :?) occured on one occasion when we were told it had been stopped, but never again. The wine's were in the main bog standard supermarket stuff with a few zero's added onto the price. But other than these minor quibbles our stay was without fault. Our free visit to the Sheik Zayeed Mosque was the only time we left the hotel complex in the four days of our stay, but between the beach and the bar and restaurants we kept ourselves occupied at all times. A great relaxing short break in the cradle of luxury!

Room Tip: Spring the extra for a premiere room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was in the "CHI" SPA in SHANGRI-LA for a Moroccan Hmmam, the SPA was great the receptionist and the therapist..in general the service was great..but the Moroccan Hammam was not as in my imagination...too many things are messing to call it as that name...since I know very well how the Moroccan hammam can be as in my cultures we do it weekly..the Moroccan tissue and the Black soap was avalaible in the treatment, but the GHASSOUL (natural herbs) was absent, as to apply the shower gel or the soap at the end, and washing the hair...witch are very important steps to finish a complet Moroccan Hammam.
The next following day I dont feel any good effect in my body after this experience :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Okay, this one is a bit tricky. Jooloos has been treated to Shangri- La hospitality at some of the group's other hotels ( doesn't know she's born) and we have never been disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights on our way back from the desert to Dubai, having left the amazing ( I will now use that word sparingly as I have, at last, experienced amazing) Qasr al Sarab.

Arrived on Friday evening and it was all a bit manic with loads of ex-pats and their excited kids enjoying the weekend and the availability of alcohol. Jet skis, mentioned elsewhere, are a problem and this needs sorting. Beach not really a beach, it's riverside and didn't see anyone using it. Nearby souk is a bit rubbish too. But read- on, it gets better. 

Jooloos was treated to a horizon club room (still doesnt know shes born) which was very well appointed with a good view of the sunset ( but not the grand mosque) . We were told that the club was new, and it shows. The service is good but a little stilted and OTT although our room was exceptionally well looked after by a young chap who Jooloos took a shine to. Club terrace should overlook the riverside / mosque but instead they' ve stuck it over the main entrance - mmmmmm? Still, evening drinks service very good, staff friendly, especially chap who served drinks and nibbles which were very welcome and beautifully presented. Overall, though it felt like the staff were still finding their way a little.

Unfair, perhaps but up to now Jooloos was a little under awed . What turned it around then?

Well, a big surprise awaits you at the Shangri-La and if you are not careful, you may miss it. Go here and eat at the Hoi An Vietnamese restaurant. In fact, go here just for the experience of eating at the Hoi An. It's a hotel restaurant but the best of its kind, bar- none, full stop, the end. Terrace lovely, service first class ( but friendly with it), and the dinner is the best thing I have eaten since I can't remember when. Amazing value too, but that's not the point as I would happily have paid anything they asked for. Simply amazing. Followers of Jooloos will know now she's a vegetarian and the choice was as fabulous as the meal itself. I'm not a proper veggie and hence will happily kill fish and I can safely say that the fish dish here cooked with lemongrass and chilli in a banana leaf was out of this world. I would quite honestly fly to Abu dhabi and to the shangri la just to have this dish and then go home happy. We booked the caviar and pearls restaurant for our second night and cancelled to have another dose of Hoi An and I can confirm that I was not dreaming and that it was not a one- off. I'm sure caviar & pearls is good but I'm sorry, I can only eat so many pearls and I would have to eat at Hoi An every night for a year before I got sick of it. What a find. 

So then, how do we sum-up? Not the greatest Shangri-La in the world but perhaps that's more about where it is rather than what it is. Doesn't matter, though, you could be made to sleep on the floor and it would be worth it to dine at the Hoi An. A credit to the Group and a true sensation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in October.
We had stayed here once before and were looking forward to it.
Well, it exceeded our expectations! It was even better!!
The staff were so attentive and friendly, the food excellent and now they have introduced
the Horizon Club, where you are given a good room with view, a la carte breakfast,
afternoon tea and drinks and canapes from 1800 to 2000 hrs.
This had only been going for two months but already was proving to be an excellent product.
I have never had a la carte dining for breakfast in a club lounge before only continental breakfast
so this was something new and worth using. The staff in the club lounge were very professional and keen to look after our every need. It was well worth the extra cost for this.
We had room service one night, and not expecting much, ordered a chicken biryani, it was
the best biryani we have ever had! and eating the food on the balcony looking over the water
to the White Mosque was unforgettable.
We will definitely be coming back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Club rooms have the best view over the water as they are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the shangri-la on many occasions to dine, specifically Sofra Bid restaurant which is one of several fine dining places in the hotel and 'souk at Qaryat Al Beri' which belongs to the hotel. Four of us were dining and two decided on the international buffet and two on the A La Carte. The buffet was what you would expect in Abu Dhabi, 1st class. So much to choose from., soups, fish,meats salads, breads cheese, brilliant deserts. The chefs are always on hand to cook specifically to your needs. The A La Carte is steaks, fish or to the other end of the scale Asian cuisine. One of the dishes I can't spell but if you have it make sure you have an empty stomach as its a large portion. (Think its spelt nasi gouran). With a bottle of water and wine total bill with tip was aed800. (Bargain). There is outside dining which you may need to book in advance (don't get confused with poolside dining which is barbecue and separate to Sofra bid) and large dining inside if its too hot outside. The staff are very courteous and smart looking. The stunning views of sheik zayed grand mosque as the sun is setting is truly fantastic. I suggest having a drink early on the balcony of the bar as you walk through the stunning entrance before you go downstairs to Sofra Bid. We haven't done the Friday brunch but it varies in price from aed250 for non alcoholic drinks right up to aed500 for free flowing champagne including all other alcoholic drinks. The waiter told us about the Saturday brunch which is 250 dirhams for house beverages and includes access to a private beach of the shangri-la. Taxi price from near Abu Dhabi mall to the Shangri-la which is between the two bridges and just off the island of Abu Dhabi is aed35 which is cheap considering you will be taken in by the splendour and setting of this fantastic place. This is a must do for any visitor or resident of this cosmopolitan city. I suggest booking and to get there early to take in the souk before or after you dine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,116 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,303 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing