We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having stayed at the Shangri La in Shanghai, I had high expectations from this brand and decided to stay here with my best friend for my birthday weekend this year. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like VIPs. Everyone at reception wished me a happy birthday, we were given a private check in desk along with the anticipated and warmly served welcome drinks and dates. Additionally, we were allowed a late check out of 5pm the next day and were given a delicious, enormous (far too much for 2 people!), chocolate mousse birthday cake for free, which we subsequently took with us when we went home. There are three hotels on the site, one is the Traders Hotel, the other is the hotel residences and the third is the largest 'family hotel' where we stayed. We were able to use the pools and beaches of all three complexes which meant that even though the two main pool were always busy, it was very easy to find an empty, quiet pool by one of the residences. It made us feel like an entire beach and pool were ours alone! Naturally the lifeguard provided us with all the towels and cold water (in a coolbox) that we could possibly want. Later in the day we wanted to do some laps so we went over to the lap pool that is attached to the spa and fitness facility. Again there were only two other people in the pool (bearing in mind this was a weekend) so we did our laps and then went into the spa to use the jacuzzi and steam rooms. Everything is immaculate in presentation throughout the hotel. The breakfast is mouth watering and has an extensive variety of foods to choose from. The Souk which is attached to the whole complex is easily reached by Abra should you wish to take the free ride through the canals and there are plenty of great restaurants here to choose from if you don't want to have lunch or dinner in the hotel. We stayed at the Shangri La using the Entertainer Voucher discount and can't wait to go back! Did I mention that the view of the Grand Mosque from the room was breathtaking? We absolutely loved it and sent my mum there for her birthday the following month. Thank you Shangri La!

Room Tip: Pick the ones facing the beach and Mosque and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Shangri La was for me significant of 5 stars or at least upper scale. The doorman was not attentive, the valet parker was disconnected with the doorman. No welcome, it was more like robotic "here is the valet ticket!". Had to ask doorman twice to remove the luggage, and they even forgot one suitcase after specifically asked how many suitcases needed to come out. Room was small for the price, and the view was overlooking the side pool. No turndown ??! What a shock for a "5" stars! The service at the bar was marginal, asked for a mojito and got some sweet drink with brown sugar, sprite, couple leaves of mint and two quarters of lime. The stay was not impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thew0rldwidetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Fabulous stop over from Sydney to Europe. OK it was VERY hot in Abu Dhabi, but everything air conditioned and taxis very inexpensive to get around. This hotel is close to the airport and out of the noisy city centre, but close to the fabulous Grand Mosque. There was a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the mosque and back (highly reccomended). The hotel was just incredible...... We have never stayed anywhere so luxurious. Flight Centre got us a good deal at just $200 a night including full breakfast (buffet was amazing). Great welcome and easy check in. Room - well, amazing, great complimentary toiletries. We loved the little boat that took you (free) from hotel to small shopping mall, and on to the Traders Hotel complex. Also went to mall/Traders on a golf buggy from reception. We hung out around the pool and beach at Shangri la, but could also have used the 2 pools and beach at Traders. All pools were very shallow, but good to cool off in. The pool even had airconditioned tents to sit in if you got too hot! Traders looked like it would be really good for families - play grounds etc. Stayed at Beach Rotunda on return stopover - really no contest - Shangri la - vastly superior.

Room Tip: We asked for quiet, wih Mosqe views. Think this was a "standard" room. Was really really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was my 3rd stay in a Shangri La in the region. It is fantastic with interesting grounds, and a large variety of hotels and shops.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a room overlooking the creek and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 550hashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Abu Dhabi has many mind boggling 5 star hotels; beautiful views, wonderful facilities, fabulous restaurants, great service and what not. I reluctantly took an invitation by a host for a one night stay, buffet dinner and breakfast. The standard room was one of the largest I have seen. The dinner had an amazing array of multicuisine display, specially a great variety of sea food. The mixed sea food soup was prepared in front of me with an exotic delicacy and was the best soup I ever had. I never loved a beef steak more and was feeling helpless that I could not eat any more. Every item I sampled was of great quality. Almost surely the best buffet dinner of my life so far. (Al Hadheerah in Bab al Shams had a larger number of items but the taste was out of the world in Shangri La). Breakfast was equally huge but I practically skipped it.
One of the outstanding features of the hotel was somebody to help you nearly every moment. Excellent grooming of the staff; they made me very feel very wanted and very comfortable.
This place had a grandeur of it's own. I did not pay for my stay but even the rack rate appears excellent value for money. Buffet dinner as a night out for the family is a stiff proposition except for the rich & famous; makes me feel hungry though each time I think of it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdebasisbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lovely rooms and bathrooms - excellent service - 1 negative on a pool feedback form was dealt with swiftly and professionally by the Egyptian F&B manager. Excellent rate on Laterooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in June 2012 - hotel was amazing - friendly staff, great food. Pool service was a little lacking would be my only comment..Everything else was amazing. We found all the staff to be very attentive & very willing to assist. Woildnt recommend this hotel for couples with children though. Loved Abu Dhabi - Ferrari World was amazing as was everything else. Would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshell4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,271 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,421 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,010 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $207 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing