We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights and thought it would just be like any other other hotel but im really impressed how much they look after their guests. its not close to town center so you either take the hotel's shuttle bus service or taxi to take you for sightseeing and shopping. pearls & caviar outlet was just ok but it can be better. i had a treatment in their spa and i walked away very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank misstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,941 - 1,947 of 2,507 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were lucky to have been recommended this hotel by a friend living in Abu Dhabi. We were not disappointed. This hotel is amazing. It is everything you could want. We arrived in the late afternoon, hungry and hot. We were greeted by every staff member that we we passed and as we went to book in lovely cool towels and coffee were presented to us. Already we were in love. We were then shown to our room which was off an amazing hall way and had a gorgeous inviting door. As we entered we had to say 'wow' (yes, there were lots of wows to this hotel). We had everything explaind to us and then we were left to settle. We were hungry but knew we would be taking advantage of the restaurnats later that evening. So together with our frineds, we sat in the bar and ordered tasting plates. The food was delicious. We did need to wait a bit to order, but once we got the attention of a waitress we were quickly sent our drinks and the food followed shortly after. We chose cocktails - ofcourse whilst the guys had beer.
Our friends from Abu Dhabi were going to join us for dinner and suggested we catch a 'golf cart' to the restaurants and souk. All in the same complex! But we had taken the time to look around the hotel, and had come across the Abra (boat) that will take you there for free. We jumped aboard one and set off to check out the souk before returning to get ready for dinner. We strolled around the gardens and pool area and there is a fantastic view of the Grand Mosque especially at sunset. That evening, we all boarded the Abra again and headed to the restaurant.
We had a great nights sleep. Really comfortable. The room were big and luxurious and we had a balcony with outdoor lounge.
I am sorry we only stayed one night and hope to get back there and stay longer.
The staff are brilliant. Fantastic cusomter service. The hotel is clean, comfortable and very luxurious. You could stay in the complex and not leave for the whole time but still be able to shop, eat, swim (both sea and pool) sit by the outdoor bar etc.
A truly wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderul but if you don't want the view blocked by trees ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed just at the end of Ramadan and Eid. We didn't notice much difference except that at the weekend of Eid a lot more families with young children came to enjoy the holidays. Restaurant in the hotel and neighbouring area are of a good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0llyca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Everybody was very polite, especially at the pool area.

The chef in the restaurant was extremely polite and helpful. We have stayed 3 times in this hotel, and if we will go back to Abudhabi we definately stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Dear Intended Traveler,
I would like to post this advisory on behalf of my Wife and I to advise that we thoroughly enjoyed a recent 10 day stay at the Shangri-la located in Abu Dhabi.
Despite the poor reviews posted which may or may not have been true at that time with regards to the level of service, we can certainly assure you that the service offered during our stay was one of the best we ever experienced from any of the hotels we have been lucky enough to visit worldwide.
Everything about the hotel ouzos quality from the moment you arrive to the unfortunate date of departure. The quality of service, food, attention to detail, well appointed large rooms and friendliness throughout the hotel is second to none.
Before our final decision we considered the The Yas Hotel, located on Yas Island, This is a very modern and impressive building located next to a marina and Ferrari world but to be honest it was too clinical and in our opinion fairly cold, The Fairmont which is actually located on the same road as the Shangri-la, again is a very modern building, impressive inside but more of a place for business/stop overs so with out being disrespectful to the other properties we were really happy to have decided to stay at the Shangri-la.
We also decided to hire a rental car as we didn't wish to stay at Yas Island or the city center so we would certainly recommend this option to anybody. It's both inexpensive and the current petrol price in Abu Dhabi is 34 Cent (€). Driving times by car are as follows: International Airport to Shangri-la: 30 mins, Hotel to the famous Sheikh Zayed Mosque: 7mins, (shuttle service is available but we decided to go first thing), Hotel to Abu Dhabi city center including Marina Mall: Approx. 20/25mins.
I hope you find the review useful and if you decide to plan a visit I'm sure you will be very happy and certainly taken care of upon arrival.
Best wishes

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Shangri-La on our return to Australia, after spending five weeks in Europe.
The hotel was excellent, our room was huge and the staff were very friendly.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VonnieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Been with family on unplanned trip I was amazed by their welcome even though I was,nt having booking they welcomed us and got us three rooms with best available rate.
The hotel is great place in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rashedalyoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,514 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,491 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#24 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $208 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing