We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Diar Regency Hotel
Ranked #114 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed December 9, 2007

I was booked into this hotel by our local agents, for a period over the national holiday weekend so all other hotels were full.
The room was dirty with stains and cigarette burns on the carpet, broken fittings, mouldy bathroom, and 2 cockroaches in the "kitchenette".
My room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, it was also very noisy, with road traffic and the 2nd floor karaoke bar operating until 2.30 am every night.
Cleaning of the room was perfunctory, and not carried out at all on one day.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank sphanson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2007

The Al Dar Regency was one of the recommended hotels by an exhibition organisor.

As it is only a 20 minute cab fare from the new exhibition center it is in a good location.

On arrival i immediatelly had a feeling of woe. The small reception looked tired and very dated. The front of house staff greated me cordially but looking at the equipment they had to work with i imagine their job is quite a challenge.

I had a room on the fifth floor - My first shock was to see a 2 ring hob and sink in the small entrance to the bedroom.

The bedroom had two large twin beds floor to ceiling net curtains that needed a wash and plastic outer curtains - Yuch. There was a cigarette burn on the carpet and on the bedside cabinet.

bed was comfortable and the sheets clean.

The worst part of this hotel was the bathroom. The false cieling tiles were very old - stained and in some areas broken, the wall mirror was damaged, the bath had no plug, the shower was at best - functional.

This was like a Spanish 3 star hotel 20 years ago!!!!!

The restaurant on the 15th floor has a lovely view, but you wont want to spend long to enjoy it. The buffet consists of second rate products - jars of honey and marmalade have little taste. the hot buffet offerings were inedable.
If all you want is coffe, toast and fruit then this will be OK

At $280 per night this is very bad value for money. No internet axcess in the rooms and a wireless hot spot that wouldn;t work in the reception area

The hotel bar is depressing, the seats are uncomfortable.

I didnt know this but there is a sheraton 10 meters away - pay the extra and stay there

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

All in all this was average. The plus side is definitely the customer service, which was excellent. Good location, close to the Corniche, but rooms (bathrooms in particular), could do with some updating.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank KBIL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

Business travellers, and most others, should avoid this hotel. It is poorly maintained and needs a thorough clean. Staff are civil but completely chaotic. Above all, it is extremely noisy, with a "nightclub" on the ground floor which plays music so loud-- till 2.30AM every night-- that I had to move from a room on the 6th floor to one on the 11th. In one room my shower barely produced any water and in the other room it fell apart in my hand. I was told hot water was available at certain times, but in four nights and three days I never found when. My phone worked only intermittently and both outgoing and incoming calls cut off. A request for a tax to be called results in the guest's being told to take a seat, but only when you go back and ask "how long is the taxi going to take?" do the staff actually call one. The hotel presents itself as a normal international class hotel, but it functions as a hostel for workers from the Asian subcontinent and southeast Asia, many of whom are families with several small children, and Eastern European construction workers with a fondness for drinking in one another's rooms till the small hours of the morning. The "nighclub" --and its hostesses--attached to the hotel have a very bad reputation locally and women guests should avoid lingering alone in the reception area in the evening.

If you are casual about cleanliness, have no fixed schedule and could sleep through a train wreck, it's probably OK for you.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank UKjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Hotel booked for us by s/o's new employer while her flat was being readied. Other poster's bang-on: options for extended stay and midrange hotels in town are extremely limited. Opinions of two-week stay:

Plusses: Hotel is close to Corniche, LuLu Center shopping, Hamdan Street (clothes), Iranian souq (appliances and small knick-knacks) and Sheraton (cabs after dark, dining options and business center). Kitchenettes in most rooms (fridge and electric hobs).

Minuses: Cabs stopping at the hotel often refuse to pick up fares here, especially after dark (few Western guests). Mold on bathroom tiles and on air conditioning vents gave us colds. S/O refused to bathe in rusty tub. Hotel's business center closed. Internet access spotty. Staff nice but useless in recommending tourist activities. Hotel bars are tacky and even the cheapest beers are more expensive here than some 5* hotels in town. Dining options in hotel and in immediate area extremely limited and/or expensive.

Bottom line:

The hotel truly looks like 4* outside but struggles to put together a 2* service inside. Hotel caters mostly to non-Western oilfield crews, temporary housing for expats, airline flight cancellation victims and budget tourists from E. Europe and Asia. I feel sorry for them all.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cincypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

This is not one of the new, fancy hotels you have come to expect in Abu Dhabi and Dubai but, it is an adequate place to stay if you are on a budget.

Abu Dhabi lacks in choices for mid-range hotels. The Regency is still expensive for what you get. This is a three star hotel at best. The rooms are small and are in need of at least a cosmetic renovation. The matresses and linens are cheap quality.

The front desk people are very friendly and helpful. They arranged to get me a rental car brought straight to the hotel with no problem.

The restaurant on the top floor does have some great views of the gulf. The buffett dinner has quite the range of cuisines but, not really worth the 70 dhs price.

Internet is only available in the lobby and the restaurant (although if your room is the 14th floor you may be able to access it still) and you need to use prepaid cards that require you to have a cell phone to get the access code sent to you via sms.

The hotel location is very convient to everything and you can always walk next door to the Sheraton for more dining choices.

Overall, it is an adequate hotel but still expensive for what you are getting.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lolabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlDiarRegencyHotel, Management at Al Diar Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
5.7 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,481 reviews
5.8 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,648 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
5.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#47 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,255 reviews
14.2 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#10 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Diar Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Diar Regency Hotel

Address: Al Diar Regency Hotel Al Meena St | P.O. Box 47600, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $55 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al Diar Regency Hotel is right at the heart of Abu Dhabi's business and leisure district. It is just a short walk away from the Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi Mina port and 35mins away from the Abu Dhabi International Airport The hotel's rooms are decorated in contemporary style, with dark-wood furniture and earthy tones. The attached balconies offer stunning views of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea and the city. The hotel has a host of fine-dining and bar options which includes the Regent's Court that offers a range of international dishes and a breathtaking panoramic view of the Arabian Gulf. Al Johara with its Oriental and Thai fusion cuisine. Shandini which showcases the best of North and South Indian cuisine. And, the Fun Pub which brings together food, drinks and fun for a perfect partying experience. The hotel also offers a host of leisure and business facilities which includes a health club with sauna and steam rooms and a fully-equipped business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Diar Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Abu Dhabi
Regency Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing