We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing - Banging nights from a hotel under renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Al Jazira
Ranked #89 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
France
1 review
“Dissapointing - Banging nights from a hotel under renovation”
Reviewed November 13, 2009

If you want an 18 - 30's clubbing beach party on Thursday and Friday nights with plenty of room parties to choose from this is the hotel for you.

The hotel is under renovation and should be finished by 2009 but its looking like its a long way off (Mid Nov 09 now), and check if any building work is scheduled for your stay. We had all the new and old furniture in the corridor for the whole week we were here!

The beach front bungalows are in a much quiter location but look like more of a self catering setup with a very basic resteraunt,

There is a free shuttle bus to the beach front bungalows which will get you away from the noise and the watersports are at the bungalows which are pretty good too.

Room service is good and there is a good selection on the menu.

We booked this as a late holiday to relax from the stresses back home in this "quiet family hotel." This should be in an 18-30s clubbing for the weekend catalog.

We were not advised this hotel is under renovation and has a clubing beach bar that runs for 3 nights over the weekend with a bass system that will shake the pictures on your room wall and that alot of the beach party guests enjoy room parties to follow on from when the music stops at 1am.

Not the quiet retreat we had hoped for....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slackali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    22
    15
    21
See reviews for
33
42
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed in one of the beachfront chalets and we couldn't believe such a tranquil place would exist. Only 45 mins from Abu Dhabi and 30 mins from Dubai.
There is free transport to the main hotel, the hotel offers dine around opportunities.
Wakeboarding is great here.

It appears that the management recently changed. I do not recognize any of the negatives in other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nl_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Management of Golden Tulip describes it as a "family hotel". You expect to find a quiet and relaxing environment. Unfortunately this is not the case. On Thursdays and Fridays rave parties are organized by the hotel, starting 4pm ending after midnight. But the noise (disco music) actually starts in the morning and often does not stop till dawn.
During weekdays (and weeknights) it should be quiet, but unfortunately at least once a month delegation of government officials are checking in for a week or so and then they organize parties in their rooms. Then the noise is ensured for all night and again there is nothing you can do. Complaints to the reception are remaining totally unlistened.
Said that, the place is not that bad. Rooms are large although very simple and basic.
Service is basic as well, despite the hotel displays a plate certifying it is 5 starts (!!!!). At the reception the employees are kind but absolutely unable to satisfy any request.
The food at the restaurant is to be avoided. The room service menu is standard but the quality is even lower . In two occasions I had stomach problems and after that I avoided to have dinner in house.
The location is far from everything, although is very particular, alongside a dredged artificial canal connected with the open sea. The water is very transparent and probably clean and swimming is pleasant. The swimming pool is large and pleasant as well. The pool bar is less than basic and unfortunately is adding to the noise. It's broadcasting no stop terrible music played on a terrible sound system. A shame!
I am working for a Dutch company and therefore I am often using hotel of the Golden Tulip chain and normally they are typical business class hotel with no frills but no bad surprises. Honestly I cannot understand how the Golden Tulip can tolerate such a low quality in one of their hotels.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel advertises "The position is perfect for those who want to plunge into peace, tranquility and comfort." and yet after you check in you discover the Beach Club is going to have loud blairing music on Thursday Night that vibrates through your room and then on Friday as you are trying to relax by the pool the music is thumping in the background then suddenly it is blairing and when you complain you are advised that a Beach Party is held evey Friday.

So you decide to check out and are told you must pay 15% of the tariff for the night you are not staying. When vyou wish to discuss this you find there is no one available with authority to discuss the issue and you are asked to wait. Well wait you do until you pay up and leave.

The hotels excuse was that if i had rung to make my booking and not over the Internet I would have been informed of the Beach Party. I rang the next day and was not advised.

The hotel has tired fittings, broken bathroom facilities and broken outdoor furniture.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max270551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Me and my mother decided to end our lovely 3 day midweek break off with a stay at the beautiful and tranquil resort, little did we know what was in store for us...

Upon checking in we were informed that there was a "Plastic Party" on and that this will last till twelve. The blundering music did not bother us that much, but at 03h00 a room party two doors down from us started. This party was held in the room, corridor and balcony. After phoning Front Desk 3 times and obtaining no result we decided to give up. We got used to the noise and fell asleep. Just to be woken up at five. The party then moved next door to us. And that was it we were awake. We decided to make use of this opertunity and have a relaxing morning on the balcony, as finaly the party animals went to bed with a "Do not Disturb" sign on the door. How ironic, isn't it

This was a terrible experience and I wouldn't wish it upon my worst enemies.

  • Liked — The Buffet was excellent
  • Disliked — The noise level
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elsjevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

As long as you dont expect to be staying near Abu Dabi this hotel is great.
It is situated about an hour away from Abu Dhabi airport or alternatively an hour and half from Dubai airport.
Be careful of the taxi drivers, they are not the most clued up of people, our driver took us to completely the wrong hotel, it seemed to be the trend, every taxi driver got lost.
The hotel has a very grand entrance, the staff are very attentive if a bit slow, but are very polite.
We had to change rooms when we first got there as we couldnt open the patio doors and there was no hot water, but once we changed rooms we were very happy. The rooms are spacious and clean, every room has a view of the sea and pool.
It is very quiet there though, we were generally the only one by the pool most days.
The pool is very clean and large, it has a pool bar which serves a range of drinks and bar food, there is also a seafood bbq most days.
The restaurant is a buffet style, the breakfast was ok, due to being middle eastern there was no flash english breakfasts, due to no pork, lol, but you understand that.
Evening dinner was a bit samey, generally fish/curry/vegetables, could be quite greasy, luke warm, not wholly fantastic.
The hotel offers a free shuttle bus from the hotel to Dubai twice a week and Abu Dhabi twice a week, unfortunately we missed out on the Dubai trip, but the trip to Abu Dhabi was good, it saved us a good £40.

  • Liked — The pool was fantastic
  • Disliked — The location was a bit too far out of Abu Dhabi
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank matt303939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Nice hotel to stay at. It is located in between of Dubai and Abu Dhabi. Nice simple rooms, offers swimming pool and beach facilities. Staff not friendly and absolutely useless/

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank FashionPrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
23.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Al Sharia
Tulip Inn Al Sharia
#116 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
35.4 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#26 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
40.0 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.7 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
41.3 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
40.3 mi away
Mafraq Hotel Abu Dhabi
Mafraq Hotel Abu Dhabi
#72 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Al Jazira

Property: Golden Tulip Al Jazira
Address: 11 Ghantoot exit 399 | PO Box 26268, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#47 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#72 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning location on its own island within the clear blue waters of a 7-kilometer long, calm, sea channel at Ghantoot beside the famous Ghantoot Racing and Polo Club. Ideally located 40 minutes drive from Dubai Airport and 40 minutes away from Abu Dhabi Airport and very close to Jebel Ali, Ibn Battuta Mall and Dubai Marina. A 4 star hotel Golden Tulip Al Jazira sits in picturesque, tranquil surroundings within the marina offering panoramic views over the waters of the Arabian Gulf from every part of the resort. A private resort, where all 84 rooms and suites are equipped with balcony providing a choice of views over the pool or garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Al Jazira Hotel Abu Dhabi
Golden Tulip Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing