We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I am surprised at reading some negative comments on this site.

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Emirates Palace having celebrated my 50th birthday there with my husband. We had a Diamond room overlooking the Gulf. The room was delightful and the service of the staff was impeccable. On the day of my birthday we came back from the pool to find complementary Laurent Perrier champagne, a bouquet of red roses and a beautiful chocolate birthday cake from the Hotel thank you to Maria in the office (who must be a simply superb employee) for making this so special for me. The evening of my birthday the Maitre D' in the Seafood restaurant arranged for a saxophonist to play Happy Birthday to me as they brought out our desserts which he had had specially decorated by the chef. The staff around the pool areas were very polite and helpful. Our room was alway immaculately restored each day and the little touches as the slippers and constantly clean robes in the bathroom were nice. The staff are exceptionally helpful without being servile and the service is discrete and not obtrusive in any way. The only slight issue, if I can call it that, is that we had booked and paid for an evening dinner for 4 nights and arriving at around 10.30pm on the first evening were were offered no dining options or refreshment after travelling for the best part of 24 hours. Also the birthday cake was removed from our room at turn down service although we hadn't had chance to eat all of it but these aren't issues which spoiled our wonderful visit to this stunning hotel.

Deborah Amiss
Norwich, UK

Room Tip: We had a diamond room which had a wonderful view across the beach and gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Deborah,

It was a pleasure to have you celebrate your 50th birthday at Emirates Palace. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. I will share, in particular, your kind words with Maria.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    432
    161
    67
    72
See reviews for
847
1,303
110
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

As name says Its a palace which was turned into a hotel so expect the grandness and elegant arabian style. Prime location and just near by Abu dhabi corniche.
Food is good and hotel is clean. You may see tourists roaming around the lobby who visit to view this beautiful place but there is no disturbance to the hotel guests. Overall a quiet and luxury stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Bharath,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was looking for Gallery 1, Google search said Emirates Palace. I called the direct number but there was no answer. I then called the hotel and asked the operator to transfer me over to Gallery One. No one answered and the line got cut off instead of going back to the operator.

I called back and the operator asked asked to transfer me to shop instead. I spoke to the lady for 10 minutes before she told me that there is no Gallery One in the hotel. Furthermore the operator told me that she cannot do anything about the gallery not picking up which does not exist in the hotel.

Well done at yet another typical UAE moronic interaction

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank erfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for what has happened. I have in the meantime spoken to all concerned and can assure you that we have rectified the situation.

Thank you very much for bringing this matter to my attention so we are able to continuously work on improving our level of service.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

... but I wanted to try anyway. Emirates Palace is advertised as one of the leading hotels of the world, but in fact I am so disappointed being a guest here.

My travel agent told me in advance not to expect an exceptional hospitality and recommend other hotels in Abu Dhabi. But since its my first time in Abu Dhabi I felt it should be the Palace.

My husband and I just arrived yesterday after two beautiful weeks in Thailand. Check In, our room, service in general doesn't live up to the legend in the least. Food is okay, but all in all that's just not enough for a 6 star rating. Although staff is plenty that does not seem to work out in favor of the customer.

This is my first 3 star rating on Tripadvisor ever and I'm wondering where all those exceptional reports come from. It feels like a huge business hotel and guests are just a number.

Since the layout and luxury of the Palace is something of an attraction when visiting Abu Dhabi I'd recommend to visit for a tea time or a dinner or maybe on one of the many group tours that come here every day for sightseeing and lunch.

With this said I'll try to make the best out of our remaining time in this hotel and not to think about the money we pay for this average experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burningmetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Emirates Palace. I am very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, and I do hope that the remaining days improved.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated with such respect and the service was exceptional!!
Food and beverages were reasonably priced and tasted sooooo good, security there made you feel safe and special when you were going back to your rooms, you have a 24hr butler to take care of your every need, and the services there were amazing (like the golf buggy that takes you for a tour around the entire palace).
The room was spectacular!!!! So lavish and luxurious, and had anything and everything you need.
There even was a Bedouin and his camels on the beach!!! I loved this touch!! Made it feel so authentic!!
We had the BBQ al quasr for dinner (BBQ on the beach) and it was spectacular, we had the meat platter, so tasty and amazing that words cannot explain.
There's a gold vending machine and so I couldn't resist buying a pendant.

If we were ever back in Abu Dhabi we would definitely stay here again, but we would have to stay for much longer!!!!!
You'll never want to leave :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the coral room, we enjoyed it here :) but any room would be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloenrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. I am happy to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed our attention to detail.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
523 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

One is easily bowled over by the magnificence of this property. It is vast in size, the rooms are large and luxuriously appointed, wonderful amenities and a private beach. Where this facility went wrong is in how some of the staff treated me. I only stayed one night but on the day of departure, my flight left at 2am so I asked for a late check-out over the phone the day before. Well they could not tell me if that was possible but would put a note in my file and I could ask again when I checked in. At check-in, I asked about the late check-out - the front desk person seemed to know nothing of the request. She asked how late did I want. I replied that my flight left at 2am - how late could they give me? She thought about this for a moment and replied 4pm. I took this as it was still better than noon.

Then I ran into a colleague who was on the same flight with me and he had just been given a midnight check-out. Not sure why I was treated differently and the hotel was far, far from full. The next morning coming back from breakfast at around 10am, one of the roving butlers asked when I would be checking out. I told him that I had been given a 4pm late check-out. "Oh, yes sir" was the response and he went away. Then working in my room around 11:45 am, I get a call from the bell staff - did I need help with my bags for check-out. I replied that I was not checking out which seemed to confuse him. Then later that afternoon, again working in my room, housekeeping came in and said they had to make up the room. Again, I had to explain the late check-out but this gentleman was somewhat surly about the whole thing.

I then discovered that my colleague had had the same experience!

Besides all this, the scale of the property was problematic - much too big - and the signage was not easy to figure out. The prices in the restaurants were very high as well even with not adding gold on top of my latte (gold on a latte? really?). The beach facilities are extensive but they were all shut down so that was somewhat of a disappointment.

All in all, I think there could be some improvements made but maybe the place is just too huge to manage.

Room Tip: Ask for a map at reception so you can find your way to your room and back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I regret to hear about your experience with the late check-out, and I would like to apologize on behalf of my team. This is not reflective of the level of service we are known for, and I will follow this up with my team.

Thank you very much for bringing this matter to my attention so we are able to continuously work on improving our level of service.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I loved this experience from reception to departure. Beautiful? Yes. Outrageously sumptuous? Yes. Fit for a queen? Oh my, yes. If you admire anything in particular in your beautifully appointed room you can buy it. Lovely view overlooking the grounds and Gulf. An excellent choice of restaurants, particularly the Italian and Emerati. Coffee brewed just for you with delicious pastries mid-afternoon where you can enjoy sitting and reading international magazines geared toward polo. The Palace is so large you do need to walk a lot. They offer golf cart drives to the other side of the hotel. Gold everywhere, photo opportunities galore. I never wanted to leave. It's a once in a lifetime experience. I can't rate the spa because we could never find it.

Room Tip: Room with a Gulf view I think would be best. All rooms are quiet, they're built like a fortress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbtbpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had an exceptional experience.

On your next return, please do not hesitate to ask any of our staff members about the directions to the Anantara Spa. The Spa is located on the West Wing, near the Beach Club fitness centre, and is an experience you will definitely not want to miss.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
9.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.6 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
0.5 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Property: Emirates Palace
Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing