We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere & Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Mela - CLOSED

Spice Mela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $130
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: From the moment guests enter Spice Mela, they are presented with delicate Indian colors and flavors that intrigue the senses. Here, the team of dynamic chefs select the best recipes from India and combine them with modern food trends and ingredients to create a classical Pan-Indian menu. To complement the meal, beverages of all varieties to suit every taste are offered. Parties, or occasions calling for a more intimate environment, can take place in the bijou private dining area where guests can relax and enjoy their meal while taking in the unspoiled views of the Abu Dhabi waterfront and the skyscrapers in the distance. Discreet lounge-inspired music is the perfect backdrop to the restaurant that pays homage to the varied tastes and history of traditional India, while saluting the country's inspirational and exciting future.
UAE
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been there with my friends on my birthday, I enjoyed the terrace, taste of food, friendly staff.
I rated this to be one of the best Indian cuisines restaurant in Abu Dhabi

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank WAFA_ALBESHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Spice Mela, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Wafa,

Thank you, for your kind feedback and for choosing Spice Mela to celebrate your birthday.

See you back again for many celebrations!
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
290 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Besta Veal in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I went last night with my girlfriends to Spice-Mela.
We have a girl night once a week, and since my school gave me a 400 Dirham coupon for this hotel, we decided to enjoy the restaurant.

Classy, beautiful scenery, I guess quite romantic if you go with your loved one.
We did not order alcohol, so I cannot comment on that, and no appetizers.

I had a WONDERFUL Veal cooked 5 hours in greek yoghurt, cinnamon and spices... it was divine. One of the beast veal I ever eaten. With the bone, so the best part of the meat. I did not need a fork to cut it, it was that soft.
One of my friends had a chicken curry that was delicious, and another one had a tikka also really good. All accompanied by butter naan.

After we decided to go for dessert and listened to the advice of our waiter... we got 4 dessert, 2 of each type, and shared. Super good. Especially theit signature chocolate and coccunat one.

The appearance of the plates is great and appealing.

In total we spent 1000 dirham, and we took out 400 from that for my coupon.
It's a very expensive place, but you pay for what you get, It's really delicious and you HAVE TO GO once if you live in Abu Dhabi.

One of these nights I'll try their other new restaurant: Catalan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie1990nau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Spice Mela, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you so much for taking your time to send your review about your experiences in Spice Mela.

We aim to continue serving our guests with the same enthusiasm and dedication in our menus. We have an offer going on this month in Catalan 22nd until 29th of May. Our Catalonian Chef Antonio has prepared a special menu for those days for 501++ per couples.

Looking forward to see you there.
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An explosion of flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We started our evening in 'La Cava' wine cellar on the lower ground floor. The sommelier recommended a Chillean Viognier from the UAEs largest cellar. Definitely a place to return to to try out another wine with some tapas. The restaurant on the 2nd floor has beautiful views of the city across the water. The staff were brilliant, polite and very attentive. We decided on the taster menu with the recommended accompanying wine. Each course was beautifully presented but best of all was the eating! Each mouthful was an explosion of flavour. The fish cooked to perfection, the meat melted in the mouth. Just delicious. The selection of wine was perfectly matched. This contemporary Indian restaurant is a must for any foodie.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Spice Mela, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you Fiona for your elegant review about the quality of grapes and service you had received during your visit in La Cava and Spice Mela.

Impressive feedback and we can’t wait to see you back again!

Kind Regards,
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not worth the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Food waz good but not worth the price at all. For one person it was more than 500 AED. Only for celebrations but not for regular visits.

Helpful?
3 Thank swati m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Spice Mela, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Swati,

Thank you for taking your time to send us your feedback. As we are currently celebrating the First Anniversary of Rosewood Abu Dhabi, we would like to see you dine with us again.
We have now a special offer for couples in Spice Mela starting on May 15th till 22nd of May featuring our Kings & Queens Menu.

Looking forward to see on those days!
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Price to be compromised for Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were eight (4 adults + 4 children) visited on 17/1/2014.
I have to go with all others who have given a very good feedback.
We were accommodated well and treated well with all those tasty preparations.
As others told here, one has to compromise on the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Subramanyam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Spice Mela, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Subramanyam,

Thank you for your review, Spice Mela is currently serving a 11 course Kings & Queens menu for AED365++ per 2 people so please take this opportunity to come and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Mela also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing