We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable fine dining experience!”
Review of Catalan - CLOSED

Catalan
Price range: $250 - $300
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An evening at Catalan is special. The elegant venue is the first Catalonian restaurant to open in Abu Dhabi and it effortlessly merges traditional and contemporary. The finest produce from Catalonia's tranquil mountains and deep seas are combined with the freshest local produce by the restaurant's team of talented chef. The results are truly awe-inspiring. Vibrant, authentic dishes seduce the senses and bring the colour, traditions and warmth of Barcelona to the capital. To complement the dishes a beverage menu consisting solely of specially selected labels from Spain is available. Impeccable service and outstanding cuisine in a relaxing ambience - a perfect Catalan evening.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and my husband tried this amazing fine dining Spanish restaurant in Rosewood Hotel and was happy to share my experience here. The place was elegantly furnished and decorated. We were sat beside the glass wall which overlooks the view of the water and the city. We tried their anniversary special and was delighted on this gastronomic experience which were served to us. Overall, great food and will come back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank traveat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Traveat,

We highly appreciate your fine comment on Catalan!
Thank you for celebrating our anniversary with us, we do hope to see you back soon and please be informed that Catalan will be closed during Ramadan, so you might want to take the opportunity to enjoy Catalan once more before it closes for the holy season.

Warm Regards,
Filipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Catalan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I have been over a dozen times to Catalan since it opened a year ago and it has consistently been a fabulous experience: exquisite food and impeccable service in a cozy ambience. Gastronomy being an important part of our life, we have been to most top restaurants in Dubai and Abu Dhabi and I would say Catalan definitely stands out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Laurent,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Catalan! It is a pleasure to see you enjoy Chef Antonio's exquisite food and the team's impeccable service!

We can't wait to see you again at Catalan!

Warm Regards,
Filipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My sister and I were fortunate to dine at Catalan in May to. The food was amazing! We were offered an assortment of amuse-bouche all which prepared our taste-buds for the courses to follow. we shared a chicken paella for entrée which was wonderful and for mains, we had the veal cheek and beef tenderloin. The meat was so incredibly tender and full of flavour. For dessert, you simply must try the extra virgin olive oil ice-cream. It is simply stunning.
This restaurant is better than many Michelin starred restaurants we have dined at through Europe and look forward to visiting again when we return to Abu Dhabi later in the year. The service is impeccable and food without hesitation is some of the best we have ever had. Congratulations to the chef and team for what is truly exceptional restaurant. We wish you the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thegirlintheredshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation!
Chef Antonio really appreciates your comment on his authentic dining experiences and of course team.

We hope to see again very soon at Catalan,
Kind Regards,
Filipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my partner had the pleasure of dining at the Catalan, and we were left speechless! The food was absolutely wonderful, and by far some of the best we have been fortunate enough to experience ! This was all accompanied by impeccable service, with the staff making the evening even more spectacular.
For starters we had the Beef Tartar and the Steak of Fois Gras. The seasoning was perfect on both dishes, simply melt in your mouth. For our main we had a Seafood Paella and Beef Tenderloin with creamy gnocchi, our waitress was so sweet she asked the chef to split both the mains and to bring them out one after each other so that both myself and my partner could share the dishes. The seafood paella came out first followed by the beef tenderloin which the chef had cut in half and prepared the dishes beautifully for the both of us. The paella was simply the best we had ever tasted, better than all the ones we had ever tried in Barcelona. The beef tenderloin was definitely the winning dish and we were glad it was served second, the beef needed barely any pressure to be cut, it was cooked medium rare and to perfection, I've never tasted beef so good. We both sat in silence because we were so speechless to how amazing it was cooked.The night was nicely rounded off with two very good desserts. The passion fruit soup and the smoked and caramelised torrija...epic! This was topped off by being perosnally greeted at the table by Antonio, the chef behind all these creations!
We will definitely be visiting this restaurant again , and would like to thank Catalan for a wonderful night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dominickp935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dominick,

Amazing review! Thank you for your visit and taking the time to share this great feedback with us!
Chef Antonio will be preparing an anniversary menu next week starting the 22 of May until the 29 of May so please come on by to enjoy more of his delicious creations!

Hope to see you again soon,
Best Regards,
Filipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited Catalan a couple of months ago.. To start with, they brought us some bread with the most delicious olive oil we've ever had in our life! It was so good that we actually asked them if we could get some more and they were nice enough to get us some. For our starter we tried their pork cold cuts which were very nice.. It's actually one of the very few places that serve pork in Abu Dhabi. We tried a couple of their paella for our main course and they was OK but not great; a bit too salty and the rice was not done, they were more like risotto rather than paella. The dessert we had was good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mayyouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment and feedback, we have shared your comments with Chef Antonio.
Next week from the 22nd to the 29th Catalan will be preparing a special anniversary menu, so please come an d visit us again to out this authentic dining journey.

Warm Regards,
Filipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalan also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing