We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Catalan - CLOSED

Catalan
Price range: $250 - $300
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An evening at Catalan is special. The elegant venue is the first Catalonian restaurant to open in Abu Dhabi and it effortlessly merges traditional and contemporary. The finest produce from Catalonia's tranquil mountains and deep seas are combined with the freshest local produce by the restaurant's team of talented chef. The results are truly awe-inspiring. Vibrant, authentic dishes seduce the senses and bring the colour, traditions and warmth of Barcelona to the capital. To complement the dishes a beverage menu consisting solely of specially selected labels from Spain is available. Impeccable service and outstanding cuisine in a relaxing ambience - a perfect Catalan evening.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were ecstatic when this new hotel opened in Abu Dhabi and especially being a Catalan restaurant . For those who have visited Catalonia the sea food was very delicious .
Unfortunately this wasn't the case . It turned out to be a failed attempt at Catalonian "nouvelle cuisine" . The food was below average in both quality and quantity . The fish was inedible so was the paella . The service , although they were trying very hard , was also pretty bad . You can tell the staff wasn't well trained . Actually this is a problem with the whole hotel . They have a communication problem and their English is pretty weak(last night i tried Sambousek the Lebanese restaurant ) . I'm not sure where the staff is from but they need a lot of work for a predominantly English speaking industry .
Finally and worst of all are the acoustics . You literately can't hear the person next to you speak . They have to urgently do something about that .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank WMFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Wassim,

First of all I would like to apologize for the experience you had with us on that evening, this is clearly not the type of service our guests receive at Rosewood. Thank you for your constructive feedback, we have reviewed all the details you mentioned with our Team and we believe this have now improved drastically and are up to our Rosewood standards.

I do hope to see you again at Catalan or Sambusek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2015
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 123,456,969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2015
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank HOCHELAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2014
Google Translation

Thank michelevariale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Miguelito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Catalan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalan also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing