We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic seafood”
Review of La Mer Seafood - CLOSED

La Mer Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UAE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic seafood”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I went for dinner to this restaurant for the first time and although we ordered the most expensive fish platter in the menu (of course it was for two people), we were not disappointed and this was perhaps due to using very fresh ingredients.The food was cooked to the perfection (a big complement to the chef as we enjoyed it so much). The desert was also beautifully presented and tasted heavenly. We were offered some very nice bread with nori butter. I would have preferred if they could have offered a choice of other types of butter as well to cater for those who do not like nori taste. The staff were quite pleasant and made us feel very welcome. Mr Amine who served us our meal, and also Myla and Elena were all very pleasant and made our visit to this restaurant a nice experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Farzane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, impeccable service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A must visit for seafood lovers.. The food was great and so was the service. The ambiance was fabulous too and portions served r just right..pricey place though, good for an occasion.. Meal for 2 is not less than dhs. 600/- (without alcohol)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nazia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone Uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food - small wine”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went on the last night with some colleagues - I had the mango juice which was divine and my friend had the tiniest glass of wine - considering the price it was outrageous - she complained and luckily it was topped up. The food was good - service OK - we ate by the pool which was very pretty but hard to read the menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FabDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious food, attractive presentation and great service!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I were invited to a meal at La Mer Seafood, after having a show-around the hotel. The place is quite new in Abu Dhabi, a city crowded with so many good restaurants, so we were not sure what to expect. The ambience is quiet and the decor quite pleasant, although the furniture was perhaps not the most comfortable for eating, as we had to move our extremely heavy table in and out every time we wanted to go to the toilet. Sofas are not usually my favourite place to enjoy fine dining from.

The staff were very attentive and brought us some lovely amuse bouche and a selection of freshly baked bread. The mini baguettes were to die for, especially served with the nori butter, a delightful taste of the sea to get our mouths salivating for more.

We ordered the prawn night deal, which offered a prawn starter and then a main where you could choose how your prawns were cooked, side dishes and accompanying sauces. I ordered the prawn Caesar salad, which had succulent prawns, crispy lettuce and just the right amount of dressing, followed by grilled prawns (perfectly cooked) with truffle mash and the Japanese inspired ponzu sauce. My husband had the prawn sushi to start, which was delicious according to him, and the grilled prawns with a saffron aioli, a rich sauce with another great combination of flavours.

Overall it was a great meal, served and presented well. The main menu seems slightly confused between Asian and Mediterranean flavours, but it somehow works, as the focus here is not on a specific cuisine, but the fabulous range of seafood available in Abu Dhabi. The restaurant also offers a fish market section, where you can chose the catch of the day and get it cooked in a particular way, with your choice of sauces and sides.

If you love seafood, you will love La Mer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MiliPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

. If you are a seafood lover you must try La Mer restaurant, they have even a fish market (not a big variety) but the quality of food is excellent. The staff offer you a high level of hospitality and attention and make you feel special, starting with the hostess of restaurant from the moment you pass in. We recommend the seafood platter-is a must!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mer Seafood also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing