We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide range of wholesome Lebanese food with twist of Armenia”
Review of Almayass

Almayass
Ranked #35 of 2,111 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Armenian, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "There is no love sincerer than the love of food". Tucked away at the Sheraton Corniche Abu Dhabi, an institution in capital hotels, Al Mayass delivers Old World splendor in a relaxed setting. Though a newly opened venue to Abu Dhabi diners, this veteran restaurant has been setting the standards in traditional Lebanese-Armenian Cuisine in the heart of Lebanon for over a decade. A palate of warm earth tones accented with beautifully crafted tiles and soft lighting, the decor is as welcoming as the knowledgeable and friendly staff. Intimate and inviting, this eatery will make you wish you had an Armenian grandmother serving up memories on a platter.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a wholesome meal in this restaurant which is so unlike any restaurant you expect to find in a Sheraton. More like a family establishment than a restaurant for an international hotel chain. Excellent portions and all food arrives hot. Service was attentive and helpful. We enjoyed our mezzo and main courses.

Thank Andrewintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you Andrew for your positive feedbak. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food and the "family" ambiance.

You being a senior contributor, your opinion really matters to us.

Looking forward to see you again.

Regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Almayass
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

If you haven't tried Armenian food, then this is the best place for it. The location is nice with the city on the beach, with the incredible taste of Armenia. The place is nice and quite atmosphere on the beach.

Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you Ahmed for your review. Apreciated.

We look forward to seing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We are regular guests in al mayass since one year , we came me and my husband then later we bring all the family here .
We feel like we are home , the food always fresh and delicious .
We always sit in the nonsmoking area with a calm sea view .
Every part of my family like to choose his favorite dish and my mother always wait tony to surprise her with a new sweet .
The staff is so professional,gentle and polite to keep us coming always , the healthy fresh made dishes is the secret to fall in love with al mayass restaurant .

Thank Mariamaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Mariam,

Thank you for your review... the title of your review is perhaps the best compliment we have ever had... It says exactly what we want to be... a second home. We will share your review with our staff and thank you on their behalf too, in advance.

Looking forward to see you again and again with your family of course.

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had one day in Abu Dhabi and chose al Mayass based on rave reviews here and on Time Out. The raves are justified. We sat at a table with a view of the beach and immediately were given delicious hot bread and a salad.

We made a meal of the mezze. The hummus had ideal texture and flavor, with a dollop of olive oil and was showered with huge, addictive toasted pine nuts. We also had the walnut and red-pepper paste called Mouhamarra, tangy with a bold heat, and Dalma, roasted eggplant stuffed with rice and topped with garlicky homemade yogurt. The crushed wheat salad called Itch was herbaceous and fresh, and feta baked with tomatoes and onions was spicy-salty and tart. Dessert was Ossamalieh, crisp vermicelli and baked sweet cheese topped with cotton-candy like floss halva. Hard to pick a favorite, but the Itch, the mouhamarra and the eggplant dish were particularly good, and the dessert was unlike anything we've had and is worth ordering.

I also want to cite the service--George made us feel as if we were guests in his home. A truly memorable meal and we're certain any visitor to or resident of Abu Dhabi will leave al Mayass happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank znitud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

We first would like to thank you for your email sent few days back to the restaurant's email id. It has been already shared with the crew and George! We also are very appreciative on what you wrote on tripadvisor... being a talened writer, after reading you, it made us, kind of hungry :)!

We unfortunately do not have a branch in Boston, but other than Abu Dhabi, we are present in 6 other locations, Beirut, Qatar, Riyadh, Jeddah, Kuwait and New York. When viisiting your family in NY and if you wish of course, you can visit us there. We already forwarded your mail to our NY branch and will make sure to take special care of you.

You can visit our website on www.almayassnyc.com and it is located on 24 East 21st Street (between Broadway & Park Ave.).

Thank you again and looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having lived in Germany for 4 years I have to admit that we took advantage of the American chains while in the Emirates for 5 days. They got old quickly and I was glad we found al Mayass. we made a reservation for 5 and decided to split a mixture of 7 hot and cold mezze dishes and two grilled meat main dishes. The waiter offered to make a selection for us but we made our own selections, not an easy task. He did talk us into a few extras but I am glad that he did. Our menu was more than enough food for 5 people and based on prior dining experiences in Abu Dhabi I thought the check was going to be pretty expensive. To my surprise the check ended up being about $25 per person including service (water only)...one of the best dining deals we found on our trip. One tip, make sure you inform your taxi driver that the restaurant is in the Sheraton Corniche, there are two Sheraton's in the city. We made it the first time with a little bit of guesswork. The restaurants website looks great, but there is no menu, which I selfishly want to view now so I can remember the dishes we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mgarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your positive review, we highly appreciate the comments and will share it with the staff.

Thank you for the tip about the location, we will make sure we mention that on our website and on tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almayass also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Almayass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing