We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home”
Review of Almayass

Almayass
Ranked #39 of 2,121 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Armenian, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "There is no love sincerer than the love of food". Tucked away at the Sheraton Corniche Abu Dhabi, an institution in capital hotels, Al Mayass delivers Old World splendor in a relaxed setting. Though a newly opened venue to Abu Dhabi diners, this veteran restaurant has been setting the standards in traditional Lebanese-Armenian Cuisine in the heart of Lebanon for over a decade. A palate of warm earth tones accented with beautifully crafted tiles and soft lighting, the decor is as welcoming as the knowledgeable and friendly staff. Intimate and inviting, this eatery will make you wish you had an Armenian grandmother serving up memories on a platter.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We are regular guests in al mayass since one year , we came me and my husband then later we bring all the family here .
We feel like we are home , the food always fresh and delicious .
We always sit in the nonsmoking area with a calm sea view .
Every part of my family like to choose his favorite dish and my mother always wait tony to surprise her with a new sweet .
The staff is so professional,gentle and polite to keep us coming always , the healthy fresh made dishes is the secret to fall in love with al mayass restaurant .

Thank Mariamaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Mariam,

Thank you for your review... the title of your review is perhaps the best compliment we have ever had... It says exactly what we want to be... a second home. We will share your review with our staff and thank you on their behalf too, in advance.

Looking forward to see you again and again with your family of course.

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had one day in Abu Dhabi and chose al Mayass based on rave reviews here and on Time Out. The raves are justified. We sat at a table with a view of the beach and immediately were given delicious hot bread and a salad.

We made a meal of the mezze. The hummus had ideal texture and flavor, with a dollop of olive oil and was showered with huge, addictive toasted pine nuts. We also had the walnut and red-pepper paste called Mouhamarra, tangy with a bold heat, and Dalma, roasted eggplant stuffed with rice and topped with garlicky homemade yogurt. The crushed wheat salad called Itch was herbaceous and fresh, and feta baked with tomatoes and onions was spicy-salty and tart. Dessert was Ossamalieh, crisp vermicelli and baked sweet cheese topped with cotton-candy like floss halva. Hard to pick a favorite, but the Itch, the mouhamarra and the eggplant dish were particularly good, and the dessert was unlike anything we've had and is worth ordering.

I also want to cite the service--George made us feel as if we were guests in his home. A truly memorable meal and we're certain any visitor to or resident of Abu Dhabi will leave al Mayass happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank znitud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

We first would like to thank you for your email sent few days back to the restaurant's email id. It has been already shared with the crew and George! We also are very appreciative on what you wrote on tripadvisor... being a talened writer, after reading you, it made us, kind of hungry :)!

We unfortunately do not have a branch in Boston, but other than Abu Dhabi, we are present in 6 other locations, Beirut, Qatar, Riyadh, Jeddah, Kuwait and New York. When viisiting your family in NY and if you wish of course, you can visit us there. We already forwarded your mail to our NY branch and will make sure to take special care of you.

You can visit our website on www.almayassnyc.com and it is located on 24 East 21st Street (between Broadway & Park Ave.).

Thank you again and looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having lived in Germany for 4 years I have to admit that we took advantage of the American chains while in the Emirates for 5 days. They got old quickly and I was glad we found al Mayass. we made a reservation for 5 and decided to split a mixture of 7 hot and cold mezze dishes and two grilled meat main dishes. The waiter offered to make a selection for us but we made our own selections, not an easy task. He did talk us into a few extras but I am glad that he did. Our menu was more than enough food for 5 people and based on prior dining experiences in Abu Dhabi I thought the check was going to be pretty expensive. To my surprise the check ended up being about $25 per person including service (water only)...one of the best dining deals we found on our trip. One tip, make sure you inform your taxi driver that the restaurant is in the Sheraton Corniche, there are two Sheraton's in the city. We made it the first time with a little bit of guesswork. The restaurants website looks great, but there is no menu, which I selfishly want to view now so I can remember the dishes we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mgarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your positive review, we highly appreciate the comments and will share it with the staff.

Thank you for the tip about the location, we will make sure we mention that on our website and on tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I judge the quality of any middle eastern restaurant by its Tabouli. Al Mayass' Tabouli soars above all the rest. The main ingredients (tomato and parsley) are super fresh and elegantly minced and mixed together; the lemon juice and olive oil are well balanced with just the perfect amount of salt, pepper, onion and burghul. A mouth watering and appetizing start to any meal. And it's just a start. The Armenian dishes that followed were obviously prepared with careful attention to preserve the authenticity of the cuisine. It immediately shows in taste and presentation. The Basterma, Soujouk and Kibbe Saj were among my favorites. For dessert, we sampled Osmalieh (a pile of soft sugar candy and pastry dough hiding some milk Kashta all sweetened with a sugary orange blossom syrup). Wasn't much to look at but packed a sweet punch with its unique texture and flavor. The food was complemented by efficient and friendly servers with hawk's eyes attention to promptly satisfy our needs and pleasure. The place itself is warmly lit, its sections are well divided, roomy, cozy with a long balcony. To top it all of, the place offers one of the best (if not the best) shisha in Abu Dhabi. Al Mayass has two things going for it, the popularity of the Lebanese cuisine and the authenticity and quality of its Armenian food. If you are a fan of any these cuisines, the place is unmatched.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bassam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you Bassam for this wonderful review. These reviews make real sense to us when they are written by connaisseurs of this Oriental/Armenian cuisine, and when they come to judge very simple dishes, like Tabbouleh or Moutabbal, which are mostly based on the quality of the ingredients and their proportions....

I proudly can say that most, if not all, of the ingredients are imported daily from Lebanon/Syria/Armenia to make sure the dishes keep the authenticity of the taste.

We are looking forward to have you on board again and again...

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my friends a month back. Food and Service is Top Notch. I had never tried Armenian food before I came to al Mayass. In love with it now.

Thank noel701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Noel,

Thanks for your review, highly appreciated by all of us, Mangement, staff and owners...We are happy that we made you discover a nouvelle cuisine and will warmly welcome you next time you visit us.

Best regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almayass also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Almayass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing