We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scrumptious & delectable”
Review of Almayass

Almayass
Ranked #40 of 2,285 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Armenian, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "There is no love sincerer than the love of food". Tucked away at the Sheraton Corniche Abu Dhabi, an institution in capital hotels, Al Mayass delivers Old World splendor in a relaxed setting. Though a newly opened venue to Abu Dhabi diners, this veteran restaurant has been setting the standards in traditional Lebanese-Armenian Cuisine in the heart of Lebanon for over a decade. A palate of warm earth tones accented with beautifully crafted tiles and soft lighting, the decor is as welcoming as the knowledgeable and friendly staff. Intimate and inviting, this eatery will make you wish you had an Armenian grandmother serving up memories on a platter.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Planning to dine at Al Mayass becomes an appetizing experience on its own! We go to Al Mayass as a group of friends to dinner all the time; the staff is welcoming, discreet, accommodating, efficient & above all, always smiling. The atmosphere is cozy yet chic, busy yet comfortable. Now, the food is something else: every time we're sitting at the table and expecting the food to arrive, the build-up of excitement almost feels like we're about to be rewarded for a deed well done! The aroma is heavenly, filled with freshness & spice; the taste is mouthwatering & succulent as if it were prepared with dedication & love. With all its diverse flavors, the shisha is great & the coal keeps coming! As a regular this is how I feel & when I invite guests in from abroad, they all keep lusting for it after they've gone! Recommended for any occasion & all visits become occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ahmed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Ahmed,

This was one of the best reviews we have ever had/read. It is exactly what we strive to be and yet we did not have the right words to describe it.... The only thing we could do is perhaps to inspire you :).

We thank you, as owners, management and staff for your time in drafting this unique review, and wish welcoming you more often.

Warm regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

At Al Mayass you can taste some of the best dishes in terms of Armenian/Middle Easter cuisine, some of my favorites are: Sherry Kababs, Basterma (like pastrami) with quail eggs, Armenian salad, Sojouk (Armenian sausages) with tomatoes and Manti ...
In this restaurant I am sure you won't be disappointed neither by the food nor by the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adib M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Adib,

The Restaurnat Management and staff would like to thank you for your feedback, with whom your feedback has been shared. We would like to welcome you anytime you feel like visiting us.

The dishes you have selected are the signature dishes of the restaurant... and i myself go there for the same ones...

Thanking you again, with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Amazing food, amazing service, amazing shisha and wonderful ambiance! The staff is very friendly and professional.

The appetizers generally are delicious, and the cherry kebab from the main dishes is highly recommended.

If you would like a wonderful experience in Abu Dhabi, then certainly this is the right place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zaki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are honoured to be qualified as the best Lebanese/Armenian food in town... we will make sure to stay there, at all times!

Regards,

Sevag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I personally recommend this restaurant to all the people who want to experience a taste a good taste of food and an excellent service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MiTch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you very much for this positive feedback, looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I'm tired of Italian, Sushi, Asian Fusion, Nouvelle Cuisine...at Al Mayass, I was treated to an authentic, full of flavours and fresh ingredients type of cuisine. I kept being surprised by the dishes that were brought to the table...a true culinary experiebce and a real discovery. Having an Armenian meal at Al Mayass is a treat as this is not the type of cooking we will ever be able to reproduce at home !!!!
A lovely, friendly and warm atmosphere, perfect for an evening with good friends.
My only suggestion is: "make sure you arrive with an empty stomach, as you're about to take part in a feast!"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevag A, Owner at Almayass, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Marina for your poetic review. We are delighted to to see you considering us an authentic, full of flavours cuisine! In addition to delicious food, we strive to offer good servic in a positive atmospheree, and that whether you come with an empty stomach or not, it will not change.

Thanks for sharing your recommendation — we would love to welcome you back in the near future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almayass also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Almayass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing