We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best choice in Abu Dhabi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best choice in Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed there for the first time and am absolutely impressed by both the hotel property as well as the outstanding service. The room was large and we enjoyed the wonderful view over the pool and beach.
Special thanks goes to Hicham for the wonderful service at breakfast and Rafiq for taking care of us at the pool.

I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

Your compliments are really encouraging for us to keep delivering heartfelt hospitality, both in products and services to our guests. As a Ritz-Carlton hotel, it is our passion that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing experience, and reading your review we can only hope that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you again for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    306
    130
    53
    40
See reviews for
472
559
56
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Just arrived back from a staycation weekend at the RC. Had a very good time and would recommend the hotel. The various reviews previously made have much to commend them in their accuracy.

We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the pool and the channel and the views were very pleasant, the room was a good size and to the main was well kept. Few examples are bad housekeeping was in the spare WC the sink was dirty around the top because the silicon sealant was not applied correctly. A few dirty brown marks on the wall by the WC and the odd pubic hair was not what one would expect from a 5 star hotel. The amount of mould on the bottom of the shower glass is unreal for a newish hotel.

Buffet breakfast and egg station comments previously made were valid, hate to see how it would look when the hotel is in season. There is lifting on the floor area by the cold buffet.

The pool is very big and in the kids area a number of mosaic tiles have now lifted. Around the whole of the pool area there are many broken path slabs and steps. A number of electric wires are exposed. Whilst having lived here for 7 years now , it is not unexpected with the speed and quality of construction but this is a 5 star location with children running around in bare feet. The maintenance team need to do the snagging.

The gardens are scruffy and could do with better management of the sub contractors.

the pool had lots of children at play which is not an inconvenience but if you expect a peaceful pool time then not here I am afraid during the weekend. The jetskis are an issue but then where in the rich arab world aren't they,

The boat service beginning at 18:00 hours is a great way to get to the restaurants at the other side of the channel.

Had a great break and would stay there again but to be a more worthy status of the Ritz Carlton brand more attention to detail is required. Oh almost forgot WIFI at 50 AED and hour or 100 AED per day is taking the Michael in this day and age. As a result did not use but might have done if the rate was more realistic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlightyinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback shared through Trip Advisor. I am greatly disappointed to read about your recent stay with The Ritz-Carlton.

Please accept my sincere apologies for failing to deliver the facilities one can expect from The Ritz-Carlton Hotel. Rest assured that I will personally look into points you have mentioned with the Engineering department and will take possible measures to avoid such occurrences in the future.

I hope that you will consider giving us another chance to demonstrate to you true Ritz-Carlton hospitality and we will make sure that your next stay goes beyond your expectations.

In the meantime, with my reiterated apologies and assuring you of my continued care and concern in these matters, I remain at your entire disposal.

Kind Regards,
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

I just had the best hotel experience ,Friendly staff , great facilities ,Good food , the entrance of the hotel is just so glorious and amazing . Would highly recommended it . No matter the kind of trip u have (business, vacation....etc) the hotel will be a choice u won't regret

It was just awesome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nahel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
On behalf of The Ritz-Carlton team, please allow me to say 'thank you' for the very nice review that you have kindly wrote about our resort.

It was a true pleasure to know how the resort and the associates exceeded your expectations.

Again, thank you most especially for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you once more in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

When you walk into the hotel it's really a grand entrance. We had a wedding there and the staff and team were very polite and helpful. The rooms are a good size and the overall layout is spacious. Food for all functions were catered from the hotel and it was all very good. The breakfast buffet also has some live stations which are great. The property is huge with a large outdoor pool. It's also located near the mosque which is well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harrycopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for the brief however very lovely review about your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi.

Your kind words about the facilities and offerings being very good make us feel appreciated. These great comments will give us encouragement to always do the extra mile in taking care of our guests.

Please do return and we will happily ensure that you will have an amazing stay at our resort.

Kind Regards,
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a great property, we are visiting for the second time, first time we booked a 2 bedroom villa and this time around we opted for deluxe room.

Starting with the good:
- check-in was smooth
- staff are all smiles and happy to help
- room is spacious and well decorated
- amenities are of very high quality
- great view at the swimming pool and canal
- food at the breakfast buffet was fantastic

Now with the bad:
- been at the pool for 2 hours with no one offering us towels or water
- pool is filled with screaming kids (could use a smaller adult pool)
- pool floor is filled with mould (or something)
- breakfast buffet egg station is so crowded, was in line for 15-20 min (why not ask the guest to be seated and bring the omelette to the table)
- breakfast buffet, they handed me the bill before I even started to eat
- upon checkout I had to ask for a bellboy 4 times, he showed up 45 min later

Take the bad with a grain of salt as it might be just my experience, I love this hotel (specially from my first visit) and I would stay here again, just hoping to see some improvements.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ahmed2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your candid review about your recent stay.

Your feedback is very valuable and we truly appreciate sharing it with us. My team and I extends to your our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and for not being able to wow you in some aspects of your visit most especially the pool and pool service. Indeed, it is not what The Ritz-Carlton is proud of. Please be assured that all possible measure are being taken to avoid such unpleasant experience in the future. We are busy looking into a 2nd private pool option.

Apart from the points you have mentioned, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed some other aspects of your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again and ensure that your next stay goes beyond your expectation.

Kind Regards,
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

with hotel brand you will expect high class service but as soon you reach the hotel the Moroccan staff handle the reception with poor hospitality knowledge, also the hotel provide two reception staff only to do the check in as well the check out from 12 noon till 3 pm. the food was nice but the quantity of food is so poor at room dinning, they don't have such complementary word at Ritz carton abudhabi.

Room Tip: buy you grocery before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binsulaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback, I am very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and we couldn’t deliver an exceptional service and product.
I would appreciate if you give me the opportunity to be in touch with you, if you could afford the time please send me your contact details at rc.auhrz.exec.office@ritzcarlton.com

Warm Regards
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Probably the mist luxurious hotel I gave ever stayed in. The place us just a fortress and the activities on offer from the hotel concierge was mind blowing. There us so much to do so little time. I checked out the gym facilities and again was stunned by how nice everything was. Breakfast by the poolside was also amazing. Definitely staying here again 5 Star

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YoungCesaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the brief however very lovely review about your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton.

Your kind words about the place being are appreciated by us all. These wonderful comments will give us encouragement to always go the extra mile in taking care of our guests and providing them with the best product.

Please do return and we will happily ensure that you will have an amazing stay at our desert resort.

Kind Regards,
Pep Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,212 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#19 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,259 reviews
8.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
906 reviews
9.6 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Number of rooms: 532
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing