We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tori No Su

Tori No Su
Ranked #55 of 2,039 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nothing excites the taste buds more than the subtleties employed in the arrangement of fresh seasonal produce to create Japanese cuisine. Like fine Japanese calligraphy, where the strokes can be bold and emphatic, and then delicate and refined, Chef Ando applies decades of mastery and skill as a kaiseki - trained chef, and takes all who visit on a culinary journey in Tori No Su. With a mood setting bar, teppan yaki counter and a dim lit lounge style set up, Tori No Su's atmospherics perfectly suit the cuisine and Japanese beverages on offer.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a great dinner in this restaurant which has a nice, tasteful, modern design. We ordered sashimi, some sushi rolls, and some donburi rice bowls. All of the dishes were well presented and very tasty. Overall, a great experience and even better than Nobu in The Atlantis Hotel in Dubai which we visited earlier on this trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dionon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Tori No Su, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for these compliments! We are thrilled that you enjoyed a great dinner at Tori No Su. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    68
    21
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Don' t make it too expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I was there yesterday and the diner was good also the service was good.
What i don' t like is the pressure of waiter to take more expensive food and wine in stead of beer. I paid more than € 200 so don't push me to take more. Tomorrow we are going to the Bice restaurant from the same hotel and i hope that yesterday was an incident .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sjef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited twice, for lunch and dinner. For lunch the chef came out to meet us and spoke with our host. He then presented us with a bento of miso soup, salad, tempura, sushi, sashimi, and teriyaki salmon. It was adequate, but nothing exciting. The miso soup could have been more miso-ed, as it were. The sushi had mayonnaise.

Our second experience was dinner. We had tempura, sushi, udon. We noted that the sushi was not wrapped tight enough. It also wasn't made with Japanese rice. Tempura was good enough, and the batter light as it should be. However, given the prices demanded, this restaurant should doing a lot better. And also, there is no pork dishes or the use of any pork ingredient at this restaurant. Do not expect authenticity. In fact lower your expectation but expect to pay through the nose.

There is too much of an emphasis on atmosphere, and not enough on food quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zolyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Tori No Su, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are saddened to learn that you did not enjoy dining at Tori No Su and that the dishes were not to your liking. We understand that some dishes might not suit every taste however only authentic ingredients are being used by the Chefs. The mayonnaise used is the QP mayonnaise which is made in Japan and commonly used in Japanese restaurants. To prepare the sushi, we use a premium short grain rice called Yume Nishiki.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
439 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great Meal and A La Carte Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Simply no complaints and only praise for this dinner. The a la carte selection is very attractive, taste authentic and presentation second to none. There are plenty of items on the menu that do not blow your budget and add up to a plenty a meal that will make you happy. Try the crab salad (kani salad) and the vegetable tempura, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Tori No Su, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your compliments and recommendations! We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at Tori No Su and that you specifically liked the crab salad and the vegetable tempura! We are looking forward to serving you next time.
Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, high quality's service and beautifull location! If you want finish in the best of the ways your dinner try the dessert selection to share at table! You must come here!

Helpful?
Thank Staff_DaCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Tori No Su, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments! We are pleased that you enjoyed the dinner and that you particularly liked our desserts to share. We are looking forward to serving you again!
Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tori No Su also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Tori No Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing